We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Rooms, Nothing Fancy”
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #11 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tiny Rooms, Nothing Fancy”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I only booked this because it was the only hotel under $200/night during Mardi Gras. The 2 women at the desk were super friendly. They force a 10AM checkout (otherwise you have to pay $25 to stay until noon)....an advantage of this is I was able to check-in relatively early after a long international flight. Several of the bulbs in my room were burned out, and the general maintenance of the room was rather poor. The maid staff did not vacuum or change the bed sheets...I had to go to the front desk and ask for my own replacement sheets and toilet paper. The desk closes at 11pm, so you are out of luck if you need anything beyond that time. The sink is ridiculously small. There was an annoying bird outside my window that chirped all morning long. The hotel is very close to McDonald's and other stuff on Kings Cross. I'd only recommend staying here if you can get it dirt cheap. Otherwise, there are much nicer places to stay. This is not a place to stay if you want to impress someone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
An annoying bird chirping? Really? Ohhhh dear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    372
    141
    32
    33
See reviews for
68
307
137
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed five nights in a single room - big enough and included desk, chair, fridge, storage, kettle. The ensuite is tiny and I doubt larger body types would fit. Love the location close to King's Cross subway and just off backpacker alley; do walk around the 'hood and you'll find some cool and interesting restaurants and a library on Darlinghurst with free wifi. The onsite resto Petrol is very good but a tad pricy. Front desk very helpful. Definitely would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website!

We're so pleased to hear you found Springfield Lodge comfortable and conveniently located.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good location. Fairly quiet and only stones throw from Darlinghurst Rd and Kings Cross Station. Rooms quite small and double bed just a double. Could do with a bit of a spruce up inside, fittings just need fixing but was clean.
Excellent if you just want a bed for a quick stay in Sydney and don't plan on spending much time in the room.
Balcony cafe nice for a late evening coffee or drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website, the easiest way to book.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Sorry to hear there were a few maintenance issues in your room. I've passed this comment on to the manager to have a look at.

We look forward to seeing you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days in feb 2013, great location, loads of nice resturants close by, only 15-20 min walk to downtown, very close to subway aswell! Very friendly and helpfull staff! Didnt use the shared kitchen but looked nice, also nice to be able to do laundry

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larsalindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We're really pleased to hear you had a great stay and found the location convenient, as well as the staff pleasant.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Inner studio room (no view) - clean and comfortable but a couple of niggles. The sink is a very narrow, shallow basin on account of the bathroom's lack of width but the spout (which swivels) is far too large and it was impossible to use without getting water everywhere. Couple this with the mirrored cabinet over the basin, not enough room to bend over and not enough room to get your head over, let alone into, the sink meant that using the bathroom sink was an exercise that left me soggy and frustrated.
TV was analogue (no digital channels) and poorly tuned on some channels - this is not really acceptable in the age of digital television.
There was a fair bit of noise intrusion from the floor above at all hours (mainly thumping from heavy walking/running) which was annoying as I was trying to sleep.
Staff were friendly and the location was convenient but I would probably not return on account of the issues above.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFoxhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge.

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do advertise the en suite bathrooms as small, because they just that. Sorry if they were a little too small for your liking. We are having the TV's changed very soon, sorry that you did not get to experience the newer ones we have coming.

We hope you will change your mind and give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

A great comfy hotel that is economical and close to all of Kings Cross activities and lifestyle.
Not sure of where the line is between Kings Cross and Potts Point. It appears to be a social divider rather than a geographical one. The rooms are comfortable and even big enough for a comfortable King bed. The TV is dated and small. The renovated ensuite is modern and small. OK for me at 80kgs, but if you are near the 100kg mark, you had better not move too quickly or you will end up with bruises. Springfield Lodge is great for convenience. Supermarket, Kings Cross Railway Station, great restuarants and cafe experience all at arms length.

Room Tip: If you dont like the night noise, ask for a quiet back room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website!

Thank you for taking the time to review us. You're quite right about the Kings Cross / Potts Point situation. Potts Point is the technical geographic suburb whereas Kings Cross is just a name for the area, it doesn't exist as its own postcode. The bathrooms definitely are small, but we're glad to hear you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the king bed in one of our King Rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clunes, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location with good access but away from the main business area, pleasant ambience, good facilities and good staff assistance. However, noise levels within the hotel can be excessive on weekends after midnight, and bed mattress comfort can be improved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

It's great to hear you found the location convenient and the lodge comfortable. We do pride ourselves on exceptional customer service, so we're happy to read you experienced this during your stay. We've already passed your comments about the mattress to the hotel manager so that he can check your specific mattress as this is the first complaint we've had in 7 years about the comfort of them.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to accommodating you again on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
1,770 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
4,089 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 178 in Sydney
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,812 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
825 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 61 in Sydney
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Property: Springfield Lodge
Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well. With modern facilities such as Free wireless broadband internet access. Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price. A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing