We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #11 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and in such a great central location. Only a short walk from the train station which is handy when your carrying lugagge! Our room was exactly as described. Was a bit weird not having a view out the window but for a one night stopover didnt bother me at all. Great value for money, will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalikaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hi Malika,

Thanks for your kind comments about Springfield Lodge. We're very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Even though you mentioned you didn't mind the lack of view, I can't help but mention to you that we do have King Rooms that look out the back of the building which have a view of a tree lined street and are very light and airy. If you do choose to stay with us again I would thoroughly recommend booking a King Room, they really are great value and will give you an outlook from the window.

Thank you again for your kind feedback. We hope to see you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    366
    141
    32
    33
See reviews for
65
299
137
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Me and my bf stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to Sydney and the weather was just cooling and sunny. The hotel location may be along the red distrinct area whereby we were quite afraid at the first place but it was really save to walk along the area and no issues at all, and it's just 2 minutes walking distance to King Cross train station.

Hotel staff are quite helpful. I love the room and the king size bed & pillows were comfortable too. Washroom is clean but was abit small but i dont really mind as i'm not spending my time in it and shower is pretty strong. There are complimentary toiletries and towels are provided. Though located in the red light distrinct, you cant really hear any noise from the hotel and we had a good sleep every night. There are also decent restaurants nearby and a supermarket just in front of the hotel. It was overall a very good stay =)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melodyjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thanks for your comments.

It's always great to hear when a guest really enjoyed everything Springfield Lodge has to offer. At Sydney Lodges we are very proud of our high standard of customer service, we're glad you experienced this, it really sets us apart from other hotels in the area.

We look forward to seeing you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Clean, comfortable, close to the city and attractions. Lots of pubs & clubs close by, but easy public transport links - 250 metres from the CityRail station & bus stops. it's the ideal place for a city visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyfarrell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for posting your kind comments about Springfield Lodge.

It's so good to hear you enjoyed the location, it really is a very central spot to stay while visiting this fabulous city.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Also, we hope you remembered to grab a Guests with Benefits card on the way out for some great benefits the next time you stay with us, such as 5% off your rate, free Wifi and late check-out.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

When the exterminator shows up on the first day, it's not a good sign. Big, medium and small roaches everyday during my stay. Thin walls, creaky floors, noisy plumbing make for a restless night. Bathroom is no luxury here, closet size for the twin bed room. Shower was awkward, designed for a midget and a corner protruding out within the shower didn't help the comfort level either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rg0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We value all feedback about Springfield Lodge, it's how we continually make improvements to the overall experience.

I'm very surprised to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Most people love Springfield Lodge and I'm frustrated to hear we have failed to provide a great experience with you. We, like every hotel, have regular visits from pest control, to continually ensure the cleanliness and high hygiene standards of the property. The exterminator you saw was simply making one of these monthly routine visits. We have never had complaints about bugs or cockroaches in the rooms, I have further investigated this and cannot see how this could have occurred. This may have been as a result of where you previously stayed, especially if you used the same luggage to transport your belongings to our property.

As Springfield Lodge is a heritage style building, although renovated, the size of the bathrooms is smaller than modern buildings built in more recent times. I'm sorry if you found this uncomfortable.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights over Easter and thought the hotel was clean, friendly and well located. We took a family room, and it was well sized for two people, and located at the front of the building. Big windows and plenty of light. i loved the ambience of the area, it is certainly noisy with inner city action all hours, but for me that just added to the atmosphere - we still slept with the windows open regardless of the noisy neighbourhood. The bathroom is really small - strictly one person at a time and if you are tall or large, you'll need flexibility. There are some great places to eat within walking distance. Dov in Victoria Street was buzzy, friendly and tasty, and plenty of places up Darlinghurst Road (on the other side towards Oxford Street), and heading in the other direction towards Potts Point, so lots of alternatives to the food in the immediate area and only 5 -15 mins walk. Directly across is Harris Farm Market, which has all the fresh food you need to pick up as well as a terrific fish and chip shop attached to eat in or take away. i've read some of the negative reviews and i think when it comes down to it, you get what you pay for. This is really well done budget accommodation. Average chain hotels in this area charge between $180 - $250, 4 and 5 start hotels go beyond. If you are used to travelling, inner city locations, open minded, can handle noise and like to get out and about, this will do you well for a short visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hi Lozski,

Thank you for your kind comments on Springfield Lodge. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

'Lively' is probably the understatement of the century but this hotel lies back slightly and is therefore in a surprisingly quiet road. It's fairly basic and the one major critical quibble would have to be the lack of aircon, which made things pretty uncomfortable in January. There is a fan, which helps a little but is of course recycling warm air and although the windows open widely you're then immediately on mozzie watch.

However, the price, location, cafe-bar, laundry facilities and superb supermarket opposite would persuade me to stay here again.

The SCG is also walkable if you're keen..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearVillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback and comments. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Springfield Lodge, your feedback is so important for us to continually improve the Springfield Lodge experience.

You'll be happy to hear we are installing air-conditioning in each and every room for the next summer season which should make things a bit more comfortable. Thanks for letting us know about this.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel was simply awful from start to finish.

The female staff member on Reception tried to be helpful but seemed hamstrung and there was a male staff member who turned away from me because I could not understand his accent - I am also hard of hearing, which I explained, but he did not care. They then tried to charge me extra for wireless internet which I refused to pay.

The room was worn and tatty, with long black hairs in the bed. There were cracks in the plaster and it needed painting. It was carpeted in a worn brown colour. The room was noisy and hot - there was a creaky ceiling fan but no airconditioning. Strangely the bathroom was in good condition though. The whole place had the air of a backpackers hostel with pretensions.

The area is full of strip joints, greasy spoons and gambling dens, and there appear to be a lot of drug dealers and prostitutes around. It was not a pleasant area to be in and I felt very unsafe. I had gotten a taxi from the Opera House to here and when I told the taxi driver where I was staying he laughed and shook his head - he said that there were much nicer places for the same money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to outdo ourselves and your comments help us to achieve this.

At Sydney Lodges we pride ourselves on a very high standard of quality customer service. As I was so shocked to hear you did not experience this, I investigated the issue further and found that the reason the male receptionist turned away was because he was upset at how it was communicated to him that his accent could not be understood. As we have guests from all over the world we like to have a front office team from different corners of the world to create a very multicultural experience, which as you would know from travelling involves an element of tolerance. The WiFi is an additional charge due to our low cost structure to keep room rates low for our guests, therefore we leave the option up to you of spending on extras rather than building it into higher room rates.

I apologise for the maintenance issues in your room, we were unaware of these at the time and have passed these on to the maintenance manager to be fixed and amended. We are also improving the comfort of the rooms for summer by installing air conditioning in each room.

The area is very safe, however it can be too vibrant and exciting for some. But of course, there are more conventional areas to stay such as Darling Harbour where it has more of an older more mature feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Property: Springfield Lodge
Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well.With modern facilities such as wireless broadband internet access and cable television channels, Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price.A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. At night, our own Pink lounge opens close to the lobby where you can enjoy award winning wines to soft background music.Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing