We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why am I still surprised it was loud?!”
Review of O'Malley's Hotel

O'Malley's Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O'Malley's Hotel
Ranked #136 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Went on the recommendation of Lonely Planet, thinking it would be fun to stay above a pub (have done it in past, good times). This was so not the case.
"Surprisingly quiet" read my tourbook. Err, was more bordering surprisingly loud- since it seemed to come from the walls and not the windows or floors. Thankfully, I had earplugs.
Very tiny room, but you get what you pay for.
Clean.
Small.
Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank everitt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2008

I spent 5 nights in Sydney from April 18 thru 23 and I was looking forward to it.
As I was on a NZ trip I thought that I could indulge myself in a small side trip to OZ so i booked well in advance that "cheap" B&B. Ok the area is nice and lively in the midst of Kings X but the place is really average. The room was OK with ensuite but pretty small. I had a room on the 2nd floor so quite away form the noise downstairs. have I forgeotten to say there was an Irish bar donwstairs? oops.
The satff was extremely , let's say....unhelpful....When I asked if there was a laundry in the area..she said she didn't know...and that was it. I found out there was one down the street on Victoria.
Then I was told if I paid Amex that would be an additional 5%...ughhhh Breakfast was extremely BASIC...cheap white bread, butter and jam. Cereal and that's it!!! Well, I miss the Wattle House B&B in Glebe...Oh yes I do?

Don't book there..there are many other options but for 79 AUD a night...it's pretty good value but don't expect anything else...

PascalPierre from France, Europe;

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pascalpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

I stayed at O'Malley's for one night prior to my flight back to the UK. I had my 14 year old son with me who was definately not impressed. We had a horrendous climb up 3 floors with heavy suitcases, and the stairs were quite dark and winding. Our room was dingy and my son's sheet was ripped from top to bottom, they were also very grey looking and did not seem at all clean to me. I know it was supposed to be a budget hotel but I do not think there is any excuse for unclean beds and dodgy sheets. It was our last night in Sydney and it was a disappointment. I had to leave very early the next morning for our flight so I could not see any staff to leave a complaint with and when I returned to the UK the experience faded as I started to remember all the other wonderful things about Oz, but I do not recommend you stay there unless the hygene drasically improves.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank disgruntled55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

Wouldn't really recommend this one unless you are desperate!

Bathroom awful, in desperate need of a facelift, stained floor etc and cracking paintwork.

Didn't really find them that friendly.

In a good location though.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank abs1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at O'Malley's for 3 nights in March 2007. When we checked in we were a bit worried about noise from the bars located below, and our worry was confirmed when we went to our room and could hear music from the bar already in the middle of the afternoon! We notified the front desk right away, and they moved us to a room on a higher floor. After we moved to the higher floor, we had no more problems with noise.

Our room was clean and nice, and housekeeping every day was great.

The "breakfast included" with our stay turned out to be nothing but cereal and milk, and a few pieces of white toast, served by a not-so-friendly member of the housekeeping staff. Disappointing. If you're choosing this hotel on the basis of the breakfast included, don't bother!

During our stay, neither the phone nor the air conditioner in our room functioned.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Good value for money. Sydney is an expensive place to stay. O'Malleys wasn't a luxury hotel but was clean and functional.

It is only a 2 min walk to the train station so is handy for getting in out out of the city centre or to the beaches.

It can get a bit noisy in the bar downstairs so If you are planning an early night take your ear plugs!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lsnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2006

This cute little guest house was the perfect place to stay in Sydney. The rooms are small but beautifully decorated and clean. The breakfast is simple cereal, coffee, and toast. But the location is superb. It is so easy to get to the subway, downtown, good restaurants etc... And compared to other accommodations in town, the price can't be beat! Very cute little hideaway.

One warning - the music from the bar downstairs can be heard in your room. If you are a light sleeper this could be a problem.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank advtrsrmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
523 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 181 in Sydney
4,703 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,445 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Malley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Malley's Hotel

Address: 228 William St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $71 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated, O’Malley’s Hotel is an oasis in the heart of Kings Cross – Australia’s world famous playground on the edge of Sydney’s central business district.Built in 1907, O’Malley’s accommodation has been faithfully restored in keeping with its boutique heritage creating a stylish ‘bed and breakfast’ retreat that will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o Malleys Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing