We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but very friendly!”
Review of O'Malley's Hotel

O'Malley's Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O'Malley's Hotel
Ranked #132 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Adequate but very friendly!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at O'Malley's located in the King's Cross area of Sydney. Despite the obvious drawbacks I would strongly recommend O'Malley's to the budget conscious traveler. The Hotel O'Malley's is located above the lively Irish bar also named O'Malley's and consequently there was a great deal of noise into the wee hours of the morning. The King's Cross location certainly has more than its share of weirdos but that added to the charm. Huge plus was the subway station conveniently located near O'Malley's. During our stay the hot water heater was broken so the showers were ice cold but our rate was reduced as compensation. We took two side trips (Katoomba and Tasmania) and left the majority of our luggage which was stored safely for us. Our room key was available to us from the bar when we returned late from Tasmania. Major plus was the convenient subway location from which we could reach all areas of Sydney. No restaurants I would recommend nearby!

Room Tip: Strictly a budget hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPL33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

this looks like a friendly, cheeky chappy type of place, but if they deem you to have had one glass of wine more than sober then the door staff will take it upon themselves to slap women round the face. one realised this had gone too far but the others stocked up and settled in, unrepentant. classy and professional. friendly irish it is not.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Small,older, in need of updating. We stayed in 2 differemt rooms for 5 days and the air comditioner didn't work in either of them. Because we had to open the windows, the noise from the pub was very noticable. (Pub is open until 5am!) We didn't notice any problems with Kings Cross location and the train was very convenient. Fast food, shops, free internet cafe all near by. Rooms were serviced every day and Jess and her staff were helpful and pleasant! Breakfast was minimal, no elevator, not for families.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shetangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at O Malleys on the 11 th of November 2011 for several nights and were charmed with this hotel. It is in a very handy location and we were able to use the train system with great ease, very good, free entertainment every night in a bar with a great atmosphere.There is a supermarket over the road which was useful. Our room was clean and had some character with original tiled bathroom, it was cleaned and serviced every day which we had not expected, the breakfast that is part of your stay was friendly and helpful. We had a room on the second floor and had no noise issues.The staff are very friendly and helpful and Jess is pleasure to deal with. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are back in Sydney for 3 days and have re booked at O Malleys. All around a great value and fun place to stay.

Room Tip: second floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at O'Malleys over the Christmas and New year period and had a wonderfull experience. There is a mixture of people of all ages and cultural backgrounds that stay at the hotal and visit the bar. What they all have in common is the brilliant atmosphere you find when entering the bar. The pub is clean, affordable and has live music on every evening as well as darts competion, karaoke and other themed nights The staff are efficient, very friendly and always greet you with a smile. The local's are quick to make you feel welcome. The hotel is well run, very clean and comfortable, My room had a good sized bathroom a spacious bedroom, fridge, tv and tea making facility in fact everything I wanted to make my stay very enjoyable. Its ideally located in the middle of Kings Cross near to the city and the reliable train & bus services. I was lucky to find some very special friends and I will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This review is for the pub not the hotel. This may seem strange to review a pub just for drinking in but it shaped our experience of Sydney so much it is worth a mention. The staff are incredibly friendly and make you feel at home. The prices are the best I've seen in Oz an put UK pub prices to shame. $10 for a 2 and a half pint jug of VB or Carlton Draught, that's amazing!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here after encountering total horror at both Woodduck hostels and it did the job. It was a little pricey, but as we were staying in Kings Cross (a VERY unsavoury part of Sydney) we needed somewhere quiet and safe and it did the job. Its above a pub but you can't hear any noise. It felt a little bit like The Shining as the corridors are kind of dark and quiet, but thats really down to how easily scared you are! The rooms came with a fridge and tea/coffee and tv too and were comfy and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor - no noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#115 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#103 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#127 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Quest Potts Point
#72 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Malley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Malley's Hotel

Property: O'Malley's Hotel
Address: 228 William St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated, O’Malley’s Hotel is an oasis in the heart of Kings Cross – Australia’s world famous playground on the edge of Sydney’s central business district.Built in 1907, O’Malley’s accommodation has been faithfully restored in keeping with its boutique heritage creating a stylish ‘bed and breakfast’ retreat that will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o Malleys Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing