We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circular Quay

Circular Quay
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.92*
and up
Sydney Harbour High Tea Cruise
Ranked #21 of 469 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Circular Quay is a colorful port where ferries and cruise ships board and depart, and boat watching can be as good a pastime as people watching. While street performers entertain outside, those wanting a more cultural experience can head into the Museum of Contemporary Art where a sculpture garden on the roof is as much a view as the waterways below.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hustle and bustle of Sydney continues at circular Quay where one is rushing to catch a ferry, train or a tour. I remember visiting this area many years ago as a teenager and it hasn't changed a lot. The water in the area was very dirty with rubbish - very disappointing. Circular Quay on the whole just seems a little tired to me. Needs a good hose down perhaps. Not as nice as the newer Darling Harbour area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mal and Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,456
    1,001
    221
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Impressive Active Quay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My overseas visitor thoroughly enjoyed her walk around the Quay during the day and at night. We were fortunate to see the Opera House lit up and then fireworks. Was great just sitting on a bench watching the ferries/boats coming and going.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joydeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Plenty to do & see easily filling in a day or 2 if needed. Great restaurants & cafe's along the walkways providing many varieties of food & beverages to suit everyone

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the place to go to feel the hustle and bustle of this harbour city. Street performers, tourists, business people all mingle here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lazy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
372 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The Transport Heart of Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a great plave to experience Sydney life, people watch, see the signature sights and enjoy the harbour views.

We visited Circular Quay many times during our stay in Sydney as we used the ferries as our main mode of transport.

The back of the quay is dominated by the raised railway and highway but in every other direction you are reaching for your camera at every turn. Walk away from the wharfs along either side of the water and you are in for a treat with the opera house on one side and The Rocks on the other.

Our hotel room overlooked the Quay and the constant comings and goings of the ferries and tour boats was fascinating as they performed their manouvers against tge back drop of the opera house.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circular Quay also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing