We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, bit hard to find at first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
south coast australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Handy location, bit hard to find at first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hosts were nice, old building (historic) so not a typical feel to accommodation (contemporary/modern decor). Narrow stairs so don't take much luggage. Stayed in a "family" room & balcony which equated to a queen bed with a single shoved in corner, and the balcony opened on to the freeway, so not quiet &relaxing as I hoped. Also balcony is only just big enough for two chairs! The breakfast was ok...only offered either hot or cold, don't think they were pleased my daughter had cereal then wanted a hot meal....we had pancakes which had obviously been made some previous time and frozen, then heated for us to eat, so basically just tasted stale! Bacon & eggs were cooked to order, so would suggest that to others instead. The outdoor garden area had a nice feel. The price is what brought us there, and would possibly stay again, though would search other options first.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tez p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear tez p

Many thanks for taking time to review Sydney Harbour Bed and breakfast and we are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast. Hot and Cold breakfast has been the standard for everyone since inception, not either hot or cold. Guests are welcome to eat as much as they would like of the complimentary breakfast on offer.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best regards
James & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    197
    39
    23
    22
See reviews for
136
306
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in April 2014, firstly I must say that my main reason for choosing this accomodation was value for money and location, following my stay i believe both of these items were true, I have been gob smacked by other places around the rock with the amounts of money asked.
The Sydney Harbour bed and breakfast hotel is a lovely small place with easy access to the rock and harbour, the rooms are well sized and spotless and clean, coffee and tea making facilities are provided.
What can I say about the cooked breakfast.. Wow... give the chef a medal, beacon, eggs and tomatoes cooked to perfection and of a very good quality, aside from this a traditional continental breakfast is provided.
The managers could not have been more helpful and friendly with directions of where to go and booking trips with other tour operators.
We had a fabulous time in Sydney and loved our stay in this hotel, I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recomending the Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbout hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Trevor

Many thanks for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B and apologies for taking time to reply. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the chef thanks you for your kind words. We are always too happy to help guests out with booking extra activities whist they stay with us. We look forward to your return one day.
Best Regards

James & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This B&B is well located within walking distance of The Rocks, Sydney Harbour, restaurants and transport. It is in an old building with stairs and no lift so if you have mobility problems a lower floor room would be more suitable. We stayed in the Phillip room with the as promised, view of the Opera House from our window. The en-suite was large with a shower and wash basin but no bath. An extra touch was the iron and ironing board we found in the cupboard. While the decor is not 5 star luxury it is charming and what you would expect from a B&B. The website represents the rooms accurately. We found the owners to be friendly and accommodating, breakfast was delicious with hot and cold options. We found the room to be very quiet with no noise from the expressway. The garden is an added bonus in this part of the city and breakfast was served here or in the dining room. We enjoyed our stay and would happily return.l

Room Tip: The Phillip room does have a good view from a smallish window and you can see the Opera House if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jools315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Jools
Many thanks for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. We couldn't have put it better ourselves and it is with delight when we read such reviews by people who have enjoyed themselves in Sydney.
All the best and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
James & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Yes, the location is good – right in the center of the Rocks, albeit right up against the busy Cahill Expressway leading to the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Yes the building is old, and comes with the charm and detriments expected from such an old building.

Unfortunately, our stay was marred by an unexpected, outrageous fee for unlocking a room door after the key was accidentally locked in the room - $75!! Granted this is an inconvenience for the owners (this occurred at about 7:30PM on a Friday), but they live adjacent to the property and arrived a minute or two after they were contacted.

This didn’t even happen to us, but to our traveling companion, and it left a very bad taste. The owners were argumentative and unwilling to budge on this. The fee was disclosed on the 2-page list of rules in each room (which, contrary to the owners’ assertion, was not pointed out to us), but that doesn’t justify it. If this is an ongoing issue (and apparently it is), the owners should modify the old locks so that it’s not so easy to lock oneself out rather than making a quick profit off of their customers, who already pay good money to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerbr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Roger

Thank you for taking time to review Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast. We are apologetic that the 'outside of hours' fee soured your stay. We do not sleep on site all the time and implement this policy for very good reason ( people regularly returning after evenings out up to 5 am and ringing the doorbell due to forgotten keys thusly affecting other guest's stay).The policy is explained on check-in and people understand that this is common practice. We do not have similar situations where it was the fault of the locks. Once again we regret that this left a bad taste and understand the 3 star rating reflects this. We do hope that everything else during your stay in Sydney with us was pleasant and hope that you may return one day.
Warmest regards
James and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton IL, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Lovely, comfortable heritage building conveniently located in the historic Rocks area close to restaurants, tourist attractions, entertainment and transportation facilities. Nice breakfast is included that can be enjoyed in the dining room or in the private patio area where you can socialize with guests from all over the world. Hosts James and Linda are very friendly and helpful and made their home feel like our home during our 5 day stay. This is a heritage building, the eccentricities that come with its age are what make it unique and interesting. Very good value for the Rocks which is the ideal area to stay when visiting Sydney. This was our 2nd stay at B&B Sydney Harbour and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Doss Family

Great to hear from you. It was a pleasure hosting you all again and really enjoyed our long chats. Your names still come up frequently in conversations between myself and Linda and we look back on your stay with great fondness. Please do keep in touch and let us know when next time in town. Maybe for the Aussie Open 2015!
Warmest regards
James & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stay at this B&B for 5 nights in February and could not have picked a better location (well unless we wanted to pay the skyhigh prices of the 5 star hotels in this vicinity and room only), it was excellent value for money. It is literally 5 - 10 minutes from the Harbour which is a pleasant walk through the Rocks. Bedroom and bathroom were adequate for our needs as we were out and about most of the time. The breakfast, however, is superb and really sets you up for the day. Choice of cereals, toast, juice, tea and coffee and a cooked breakfast, cooked to order! James and Linda sure do work hard to ensure their guests are comfortable. Lovely!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackyp955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jacky
Thank you for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having such pleasant guests stay with us during your trip and hope that you return in the future.

Warmest regards
James & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Location within the Rocks excellent.Easy walking distance to Opera house and Sydney Harbour Bridge. Large room[Lachlan] on second floor with separate exclusive bathroom.General appearance of being tired and in need of refurbishment. Stair carpet in need of good hoover. The room was dusty and the bedcovers were stained. Bathroom was adequate but the website does not state the bathroom is not cleaned during your stay.Only the bed is made in the bedroom,no cleaning.
Breakfast was satisfactory with tinned fruit and cereals and a choice of 2 cooked options.
I would not describe it as a serene garden but a back yard,noisy with the traffic.
Full payment is taken on arrival,but as there was no one to greet us I had expected to be informed when payment had been taken.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikersPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theonlyjames, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Julia
Thank you for taking time to review Sydney Harbour B&B. It is with sadness and disappointment that we learn of your 'disappointing' stay with us but we understand that some guests prefer the cloak of the internet to hear their voice even when all questions about your stay were answered with positivity and a gleaming smile.
Let us first apologize for not being able to personally greet you. As previously explained on this rare occasion we had an after hours check in procedure which by all accounts went 'seamlessly' and 'worked well'. It is also worth pointing out that when you booked via your chosen channel, you did agree to all terms and conditions regarding payment. This does ensure that guests who have an early checkout can leave knowing that the busy breakfast time is not interrupted. This practice works very well.
Regarding the cleaning of the rooms, our 'mini service' is fully explained on the 'Guest Information' laminate contained in every room that people are encouraged to read. During your 2 night stay a mini service will include making your bed, emptying the rubbish bins and ensuring the in room tea and coffee are replenished. We do not delve into guests personal belongings strewn all over the room. Being a B&B and not a 5 star hotel, the majority of guests have have expressed this to us implicitly so we cannot please everyone here. In relation to the bathroom, they are cleaned and refreshed upon longer stays. During your 2 night stay we made sure the toilet paper and guest amenities were replenished daily. Again we give guests their privacy and do not touch personal belongings. To reiterate, this policy is explained on the laminate in each room and not on a website as is fairly standard practice. Vacuuming is done daily in all common areas especially stairs however given the volume of traffic (up to 30 people at a time) it is conceivable that carpets may look different at 9pm than at 11 am. We would prefer to service our guests rather than vacuuming 4 times a day.
In response to the 'satisfactory' breakfast I think it is important to note we cook up to 30 made to order servings on a daily basis. We are a hard working husband and wife B&B team that services up to 30 people 7 days a week 365 days year not 5 or 6 people every other day so whilst we cannot please everyone we do our absolute best to cater a variety of items. I also note we were given 5 stars for location but your description describes the garden's the noisy traffic - somewhat contradictory I believe and somewhat lost on the fact that we are so centrally located on the same street as the Harbour Bridge in the middle of the Rocks area and not in a secluded rainforest which most guests realize.
Once again we regret your disappointing stay with us and hope we can reach the lofty height of your bar hopefully starting with an 'above satisfactory' breakfast next time around.
Best regards
James & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#36 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 140-142 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney N.S.W., Sydney, New South Wales 2000 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast offers visitors an opportunity to experience world class hospitality and unique accommodation in the heart of Australia's birthplace, The Rocks.Upon entering our fully restored heritage mansion our guests become our main focus with no request too big or small. Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast offers boutique rooms each named after figures synonymous with Australian history. All rooms have been furnished in hand crafted colonial furniture and offer all the comforts of home.Finally as our name suggests, a stay at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast would not be complete without a delicious hot or cold breakfast served in either our dining room or our serene courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Sydney Harbour
Bed And Breakfast Sydney Harbour Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing