We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Medusa
Ranked #81 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quirky and awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A beautiful quirky hotel in a great location. Close enough to walk to the city and harbour. Plenty of restaurants and cafes on the next street but still provides a quiet location to relax with a wonderful "reflection pool". Definitely for those that want something a little different but special for a city break. The staff are really helpful and gave some great recommendations for restaurants that we wouldn't have found.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    49
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
76
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our new benchmark for somewhere to stay in Sydney. I almost don't want to tell anyone. Impeccable, laid-back service. Beautiful 1930s-LA-meets-Mallorcan-courtyard house. Super cool location. It will be hard to book anywhere else in Sydney again. You'd be hard pushed to find a very average business hotel for this price and seriously, if you have an ounce of style and design sensibility in you, why would you?

Room Tip: We stayed in 201, a 'Grand' courtyard room. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TW11ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We may not be cool enough to stay at Medusa. We're talking bohemian, inner city, modernist design cool. From our buff, black t-shirted hosts, to the emerald green leather chaise longue and the two meter bolster pillow, this is avant-garde, exciting Sydney.

Medusa is a renovated town house in inner suburban Darlinghurst. Our top floor Grand Room a riot of colour, tempered by the antique fireplace, original plaster ceilings, and the view down to the inner courtyard and reflection pool. After working late the night before, and missing breakfast, we savage the minibar, inhale ice cold beers and promptly fall asleep!

Rockpool Bar and Grill is our destination for the evening; champagne, seafood and delicious steaks. A round of martinis at the Four Seasons is followed by, another round of martinis, and then its time to retire. After a visit to the ritzy side of Sydney nightlife, Medusa feels more like part of the neighbourhood, comfortable, welcoming. The king size bed beckons once again. Lights out.

Breakfast at local Sydney institution Bill’s is a mandatory sweetcorn fritter for her and a reviving plate of ricotta pancakes for him. A glass of Bill’s ‘greens’ must surely offset any detrimental effects of the night before, and a solid caffeine fix does the rest.

Revitalised, we head to Kings Cross and the Saturday Organic Food Market. A borek or a slow cooked shoulder of pork sandwich would do a more than sufficient job as second breakfast if only the pancakes allowed. Still, tempted by the proffered samples we grab supplies for a late lunch. You say you can’t get here on a Saturday to stock up on saucisson and camembert? Drop in instead to Bottega del Vino or Fratelli Fresh on Macleay Street, for artisan bread, seasonal produce, and delicatessan delights.

An afternoon in the boutiques of central Sydney has the credit cards crying surrender. We acquiesce, grab luggage from Medusa and head back to the airport, exhausted, but oh so slightly cooler than we were a mere 24 hours before.

Like
Escape from the city heat, and prepare for a night on the town, with an afternoon nap to the sound of the gently falling water of the reflection pool outside your window.

Dislike
Three flights of stairs, and no lift. The gents on the front desk will help with your luggage, but after a night out in the city the rest is up to you.

H.J.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HieronymusJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Medusa is a lovely, cosy hotel, where guests feel at home as soon as they arrive. Staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful, just ask them if you need good tips for a night out in the Darlinghurst area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucaAsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

There isn't one thing that I would change in this Hotel. The service was warm, understated yet ever present. The design of the room was beautiful, everything looked liked a well maintained private home.The staff answered "yes" to every request we had and really listened to what we were asking for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Medusa for 3 nights at the end of January. The hotel is perfectly located to explore Sydney city centre (20mins walk) and other areas including Kings Cross and Surrey Hills.

We had a room on the 3rd floor which was quiet. The room was reasonably spacious with a large bathroom. Whislt the room was fine and very clean the decore was slightly basic.

Whilst there are no amenities in the hotel (no bar, pool, place to eat etc) the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The location makes easy walking to a lot of places to eat in Darlinghurst and Victoria Road. The bar opposite the hotel is pretty good.

The personal touches given during our stay were appreciated and the hotel is very clean.

I would recommend this hotel for people wanting a well located, clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffithsthomas1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very welcoming staff, handy location (but of course inner city so a little noise) - we had a great time and would go back for sure. Walked everywhere! Free pastries, apples and papers in the morning a nice touch.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't share a wall - nice and quiet this way. Also don't expect a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
The Old Clare Hotel
#31 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#92 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#126 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Property: Medusa
Address: 267 Darlinghurst Road | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing