We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - shame about the staff attitude”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #76 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights leading up to New Year so prices everywhere were steep. The hotel is brilliantly located for Darling Harbour, and the room was very nice - big bedroom, big living room complete with goldfish, good sized kitchen and dining area and large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. The room also had a washing machine and tumble dryer.

However, when we arrived the door to the room did not work such that you could not open the door from the inside. We called reception and it took them 15 minutes to come and let us out. They treated us as if we were stupid before finally acknowledging that the door needed fixing. We left the hotel for about 3 hours and returned to change for dinner. When we got back to our room the door still was not fixed. We called reception again and they informed us that the maintenance man had left for the day and they could not move us as the hotel was full. They offered that we could have a walkie-talkie to radio to reception if there was an emergency in the night! We were horrified that this was even suggested - we were on the 20-something floor! After much arguing they called an emergency locksmith out and gave us free dinner in the restaurant. But the service from reception was poor of the following two days as well. They didn't change the bedding when requested and seemed totally disorganised with no customer care skills at all.

Shame when the apartment itself was wondering in such a great setting. They must work on their customer facing side!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LizzieR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 1,537 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
317
Reviewed March 5, 2006

Great spot for shopping and sightseeing, everything within walking distance. Very helpful staff.Ask for a room on high floors with a view of Darling harbour. Very nice restaurant attatched to complex.
rooms very modern and clean, big comfortable bed. very spacious for two.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
melbourne australia
12
Reviewed February 18, 2006

l stayed here for a weekend back in june 2005 my afl team was playing the sydney swans l liked the barthroom of my appartment a nice big spa barth and marble floors and sink but the internet use ws expensive they didnt have many channels on the foxtel the staff was very nice when l had a late flight home when l checked out they watched my bags all day for me the bed was very cozy to sleep in and the place was very clean the cleaning lady would change ur bed sheets and towels very day

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
110
Reviewed May 1, 2005

We stayed at this hotel in July 2004 after checking out of another. The suites are excellent, with cooking facilities and ours even had laundry facilities. The staff were also very helpful, providing maps and directions. Although not for the budget conscious, the suites were value for money and you do get what you pay for. The location is good, across from Darling Harbour, which houses a variety of shops and also the Sydney Aquarium. Areas of the city such as the Rocks and Opera House can be reached on a bus within about 15 minutes. The main shopping areas are also only 10 minutes walk. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a facility which is clean, comfortable and well located.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2005

Stayed for 1 night for an early flight home.2 adults and 2 kids in a 1 bedroom suite for au$155 from their home site. Modern furnishings,spotless, well appointed,small apartment- kids slept on a sofa bed.Wouldn't stay any
longer with children, but great for a couple.Good location for shopping etc.
Washer,dryer,dishwasher,equipped kitchen -all you'd need for a short stay at a cheap price.We came away more than happy!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Rangitane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2004

The hotel location is ideal. It is one block from Darling Harbor and very close to many attractions. However, for the price, I would stay someplace else. We checked in and they did not have the room that we reserved. This would not have been a problem except that we had reserved their Manhattan Apartment (one-bedroom) that was at a higher rate. The room we were given had a strong mildew odor. We asked to be moved to the correct room without an odor. But we were moved to a smoking room for they were having heating problems with many of the available non-smoking rooms. After having seen both the one-bedroom and studio rooms, my suggestion would be to save some money and stay in the studio. The studio was a nicer (and cheaper) room and had most of the same amenities.

The rooms themselves are clean, but DO NOT believe what you see on the website. Their website gives the impression of modern and clean rooms. While both rooms that we saw seemed clean, both rooms had stained furniture and stained walls. Much of the padding in the furniture was worn out. The smoking room had a large cigarette hole in the chair.

We were not the only ones with problems. A number of people asked to switch rooms for reasons that I am not sure. Overall, the service at the hotel was good. The individuals at the front desk tried to correct the situation as much as possible.

We ended up switching hotels after the first night. Even though one does not spend much time in the hotel on holiday, I felt misled by the advertising on their website. Their website gives the impression that you will be staying at a mid to upscale hotel, which they are not. If you are looking for a mid to upscale hotel, stay somewhere else. If you are looking for a bargain hotel with a kitchenette, stay at Pacific International Suites.

25  Thank J_Points
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Perth, Western Australia
221
Reviewed March 17, 2004

We recently stayed at the Pacific International Suites for 4 nights (28/2/04-2/3/04). We were upgraded to the deluxe one bedroom apartment (king sized bed!) with full laundry and balcony at no extra cost. The furnishings were modern with reception staff that were helpful and friendly. The location is excellent - right next to Darling Harbour.
There was a 7-11 one minute walk from the hotel where you can buy breakfast foods (no breakfast included) and you can cook it up in the fully equipped kitchen in the apartment. Circular Quay, Harbour Bridge and Opera House is ~10-15 minutes walk away with the Centrepoint Tower3 blocks away. Shopping areas (Queen Victoria Building, arcades, Pitt St Mall) are within three blocks of the hotel. Will definitely stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#78 of 181 in Sydney
2,576 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 181 in Sydney
6,333 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#130 of 181 in Sydney
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $144 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent, in the heart of Sydney's CBD, and on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour, is close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC, Star City Casino, Cockle Bay, King Street Wharfs, bars and nightclubs. Offering guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Offering services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing