We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Very Friendly Staff”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #71 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

From the moment we walked in we were greeted by a very friendly guy who was very prompt in setting us up with our key. We were lucky and had the 27th Floor, top of the building!!! The apartment was perfect for the 2 of us. Bathroom consisted of a bath/shower, with washing machine and dryer, towels, can't recall if the had a hair dryer. The Bedroom was something i had never seen before, it had a door either side that pulled closed to give the apperance of a cube from the outside, very clever it had a small window with block out curtain and a built in robe with iron and ironing board. Also we had alarm clock and telephone. The kitchen lounge dining area, was well equipped, flat screen TV, multi charging dock, big windows again with bock out curtains. The kitchen area was well used, small fridge, oven and cooktop with 2 elements, plates, cups, kettle toaster etc. It was so quiet and perfect. Nice views especially at night, all the city lights. The unit was clean except for a mark of some sort on one of the curtains/blinds, like someone had splattered spaghetti sauce down the blind.

Both days we had the full Continental Buffet Breakfast which consisted of choices from eggs, bacon, sausages, Boston beans, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, coffee machine, pastries, tomatoes, mushrooms. Was delicious and very much worth having.

I did order room service and the Angus Burger was massive and even though i did not order any sides, it did come with a glass of lemon water and a massive side of chips, i seriously could not eat it all, but it was delicious..seriously. The dessert was also very very yummy, wish i could have fitted in another plate of it.

The staff were so helpful and just lovely, couldn't ask for a better team of people, the hotel should be very proud of their staff as they left us wanting for nothing. Parking was next door at a rate of $36 per 24 hour period, we were able to pay on discharge at reception.

Location to everything was fabulous, Small walk to the Queen Victoria Building, and small walk also to the Sydney Tower. Just up from the hotel is the walk way to Darling Harbour. Could not have asked for a better position, for what we wanted.

Very happy and we will be back

Room Tip: We stayed on the 27th Floor it has water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Nicole M,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We do not rest until we are sure our guests feel at home and receive the best service possible. It is great you enjoyed our spacious and quiet apartment and delicious room service.
We are excited we made your stay memorable and grateful for your special mention of the team. The minor issue with the curtain has been dealt with and hope you see the difference next time you stay with us.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    542
    212
    58
    30
See reviews for
302
382
52
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom balcony apartment. Location was excellent and staff friendly but room was not as modern or clean as pictures show. Toilet had issues and balcony had no privacy. Office workers looking in from all angles. Rates were reasonable. All in all ok but we won't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Forob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Forob2014,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations and make their stay comfortable and enjoyable. We take your criticism on board and hope you give us a chance to serve you better next time.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here in a Studio apartment for a weekend in Sydney, and the Mantra on Kent was a great base. Close to Darling Harbour and King St Wharf, where there are lots of restaurants and bars, great for a night out. Within walking distance to Circular Quay (about 15 mins walk), though also not too far away from Town Hall train station and buses. We had a fold out sofa bed for our third person, which made the room smaller, but it was lovely that they had made it and set it all up for us when we arrived. Although be aware that there wasn't a real room between the bed and kitchen/lounge where the sofa bed was, only sliding screens. No problem for us, but did lack a little privacy! Kitchenette and fridge in room very useful. All in all a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senorita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear senorita08,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. It is fantastic you
enjoyed the hotel location and explored nearby venues. It sounds like you
stayed in one of our lovely one bedroom deluxe apartments. We also have 2
bedroom apartments which offer more privacy for our guests.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I had a enjoyable stay and would consider staying at the Mantra on Kent again, should the rates be competive. Rooms were tidy, functional and comfortable. Good value overall. Elena from guest services was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safeco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Safeco10,

Thank you for your feedback and kind words. It was mine and team’s pleasure to be of service. Please keep an eye for rate specials and promotions or just give us a call next time you are in Sydney.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great location for Darling Harbour, an easy walk. Room spacious , large enough for a longer stay. Buffet breakfast delicious.Close to public transport and taxis going past the door regularly. Would recommend Mantra on Kent for a Sydney city stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear mumu0,

We are delighted to learn we made your stay memorable and enjoyable. Thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our stay was great - late checkout was offered at a reasonable price ($20 extra) which allowed us to have a sleep in and still have time for breakfast. The location is extremely convenient - it's close to Darling Harbour and a short walk away from QVB and the rest of the CBD. Room was well-appointed, clean and catered to all our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear CourtneyLor,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your
kind words. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Sydney.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in a one BR apartment with breakfast included. Apartments are nicely furnished with all you need, including a handy kitchenette. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. Parking was next door in a paid parking block - close enough (and cheap on weekends), but no direct access into the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful.

The location is excellent for some inner-city shopping, cinemas and a stroll over to Darling Harbour. Easy taxi rides over the city for anything past walking distance.

Although we didn't make use of it, we were told we could use the gym and pool facilities at the Bond St Mantra, as there is no pool or gym at the Mantra on Kent.

Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_B2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Steve_B2422,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad you had a wonderful stay
and enjoyed breakfast options and room facilities.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#72 of 179 in Sydney
2,165 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
1,035 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#129 of 179 in Sydney
722 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing