We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb property”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #77 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We spent nearly three weeks in Australia and five nights at Mantra on Kent. This was our first stay here (although we have stayed at similarly-rated properties within the Sydney CBD before) and we are pleased to say we are just as happy with our choice of accommodation this time around. The apartment is consistently clean, spacious and modern, with the added bonus of full kitchen and laundry facilities even in the studio apartment. Special mention is to be made of the sofa bed which was very good. Staff were always friendly and assisted in any way required. Within easy walking distance to Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Paddy's Market, Town Hall, and within the vicinity of the free bus to Circular Quay. An enjoyable stay. Keep it up, Mantra on Kent!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room with a view of Darling Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Albert E,

Thank you for your delightful feedback.
I am glad you found the property, location and room facilities up to you liking. The team is excited to contribute to your positive experience. Mantra is all about service with smile that doesn’t get in the way of enjoyment and fun.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were astounded at how close everything was, we stayed to go to Sydney Tower's revolving restaurant, it was equally as close to Darling Harbour, and only a hop skip & a jump to The Queen Victoria building and public transport. We were very pleasantly surprised to find we also had a wonderful view! Clean Modern and service with a smile. I would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Trudy E,

Thank you for your feedback and recommendation.
Here at Mantra on Kent we want to make all our guests feel welcome and their stay pleasant and memorable. I hope you had a great time exploring Sydney and enjoyed a wonderful view over the Darling Harbour.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is just a few steps from the large pedestrian bridge that crosses into Darling Harbour making it an ideal location for quick access to the Harbour. It's also a short walk from China town and several shopping districts in the area. Figure in a 15-20 minute stroll to get down to Circular Quay or The Rocks (aka near Sydney Opera House).

I had a deluxe single bedroom unit - with a partial view of the Harbour. The room was a corner unit with huge windows and was furnished quite nicely with cooking unit, microwave, fridge, sink, etc.. There was also a laundry unit built into the bathroom. I was very happy with the room, no complaints. Great TV selections, a seating area that features a sofa and a table. Restaurant has a nice breakfast buffet which I had twice during my visit. Plenty of hot food selections along with fresh fruit, breads, fruit juices, cereal, coffee selections, etc..

I will back in Sydney shortly (with a friend) and will probably re-book this again and try out the 2-bedroom units that are available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour. There are several surrounding buildings so you're not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Travis C,

Thank you for your review.
It is great you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of room facilities and tried our breakfast. Our chefs will be delighted to learn you appreciated food quality and variety.
Please let us know when you (and your friend) are back to Sydney so we could arrange a lovely apartment for you.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful when you first arrive. The room was ready and waiting for me. Zero hassle when you arrive - check-in was so easy. Room was booked online and they had everything there

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear David2709,

Thank you for the delightful review. We strive to provide friendly and memorable experiences for our guests and I am glad you liked it.
I hope you had a great time in Sydney.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

On our recent trip to Sydney we spent three nights at Mantra on Kent. This was our second stay and pleased to say we were just as happy with our choice of accommodation this time around. Consistently clean, spacious and modern apartments, with the added bonus of full kitchen and laundry facilities. Staff were always friendly and assisted in any way required. Breakfast is the only let down, but with so many great cafes around the area that didn't really matter to us. Easy walking distance to Darling Harbour, the theatre district and Circular Quay. An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Get a view of Darling Harbour if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear SouthAussieDave,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel, room facilities and the team. It is very pleasing to know we provided a memorable experience.
We take your breakfast criticism on board and hope you will appreciate the improvements we make when you stay with us next time.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It’s modern, funky and all about location.

If you are looking for sophisticated style in a central location in Sydney, then don’t look past the Mantra on Kent Street.

The recent refurbishment of the property offers contemporary quality furnishings with subtle artwork to match the rooms feature colours. If you’re only travelling with your partner or one other person then the funky Studio Apartment will be enough to keep you more than comfortable. Or perhaps you’re travelling with friends and need a large apartment such as the sectioned Two Bedroom Apartment? Whatever your needs, there is a room to match.

Conveniently located between Darling Harbour and the Sydney CBD, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Sydney city’s iconic tourist and business destinations are less than a kilometre away, offering the perfect base for business travellers, couples and families to explore the sights and sounds of Sydney.

http://karryon.com.au/mantra-on-kent-its-modern-funky-and-all-about-location/

Room Tip: Try and book a room with the view of Darling Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWriterKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear TravelWriterKate,

Thank you for your delightful review.
We passionately care about our guests. Business or leisure, with family or not.
I hope our friendly team helped to make your experience as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Recently stayed at Mantra on Kent for 3 nights with a group of friends before going on a cruise.

We found it a great location so close and handy to Darling Harbour and easy walk to Circular Quay and the shopping district.

We did catch a taxi to OPT with all our luggage.

The staff we so friendly and very helpful with all our enquiries and requests.

Breakfast was great every day.

Rooms very clean.

The only down side that rooms are looking a little tired and could do with a revamp.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kconnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Kconnoll,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay. We work hard to make staying with us as pleasant as possible. We continuously improve our room facilities, so hopefully you will notice the difference next time you stay with us.
I hope you enjoyed your cruise.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#75 of 179 in Sydney
2,427 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $137 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent, in the heart of Sydney's CBD, and on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour, is close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC, Star City Casino, Cockle Bay, King Street Wharfs, bars and nightclubs. Offering guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Offering services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing