We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Comfort”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #74 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Gorgeous corner room, clean an comfortable and self contained with windows on both sides almost on the bridge. It was really close to Darling Harbour so could go back and forth. Staff friendly. Can book shuttle to the airport from there children's half price too. Fantastic to have a good washing machine and dryer. Used the sofa bed for 3 people. :)

Room Tip: Great if u have little children..not far to Townhall station and Darling Harbour...costly for car ga...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebrakeyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Zebrakeyz ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback on your recent stay.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that room facilities met your expectations. All our apartments are spacious and have necessary facilities to comfortably accommodate families with kids. We’re pleased you found central location and closeness to all main attractions and public transport useful. I am particularly pleased you found our staff friendly and approachable.

We strive to make guests stay memorable ,thank you again for you kind feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
There are newer reviews for Mantra on Kent
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Firstly, I would like to give a shout-out to the assistant mgr, Jin. I've travelled a lot and have never met anyone so helpful and empathetic. I had problems with a booking at a another place and came here very last minute to book this place. She was very empathetic and helped me to book/check in. HUGE kudos to you, Jin! You sure saved me from hell.

Stayed here in January for 2 weeks and we really enjoyed our stay. There were 3 of us adults and we had booked a 1 bedroom but were upgraded to a 1 bedroom deluxe. Room had 1 bedroom that had sliding partition doors which opened up to the lounge and kitchen area. All the king beds are essentially 2 double beds put together. The couch was converted into a sleeper. Room had stovetop, microwave, fridge, oven, and cooking utensils. In the bathroom was the washer & dryer which looked like they could use an upgrade, but still, it was functional and they did provide laundry detergent!

The place looked like it was renovated. There's 25 floors of rooms with 5 rooms on each floor. Overall, we enjoyed stay - it was clean & modern. We were on a high floor and had a lovely view of the Darling Harbour. It's a great location: on a quiet street and within walking distance (5-10 min walk to Darling Harbour) and 5 min walk to the train & bus stations, QVB bldg., Westfield Mall, Pitt St Mall, & Chinatown. Everything is really close by, including quickmarts, cafes, and restaurants - overall, an excellent location! The place offered morning brekkies but we didn't eat there. They also provided room service which we didn't use but the food smelled and looked good. Self-parking is provided next door but at a cost. Wifi is available, but also at a cost.

My only complaint was that we couldn't open any windows to get fresh air but that was the only trade-off for the great view and comfortable room. Housekeeping was a hit-n-miss. Had to ask for our linen to be changed because they missed a change and forgot to remove the rubbish one day. The pillows could use an upgrade - we had 3 different pillows and they looked like they've seen better days. Nevertheless, I highly RECOMMEND this place - we had a comfortable stay in this central location with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maverickgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear maverickgirl,

Thank you for your review. It was great to hear Jin was very helpful and made your experience stress-free. I will surely pass on your feedback and let her know what a great impact she had on your stay. Our team strive to make guests stay memorable by learning what matters to them the most.

I am glad to see you found our location very convenient and apartment facilities comfortable for a long stay. It is pity you did not try our buffet breakfast or room service, our chef offers a great daily selection with different tasty specials, I hope next time you have a chance to try it.
All apartments have air conditioning and we do offer an option to have a balcony apartment with doors you can open to get fresh air.

I am sorry to hear that housekeeping service was not consistent, rest assured we have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping team to prevent the issues you've experienced in the future.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and thank you again for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Upon arriving on New Years day, we were upgraded to a 1 BR instead of the studio that we initially booked for. The decor was modern and sophisticated whilst still feeling like a home away from home. Central great location for tourists and down the road from direct public transport to the airport. It was a little on the pricey side but since it was New Year's day and we booked this last minute it was semi expected. We only stayed for a night to have some alone time from the family so cannot really comment on the service much although the two lobby staff was very professional and nice when we checked in and checked out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleAHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear PurpleAHan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am glad you found the hotel location exceptional and room decor and facilities modern and comfortable. The team appreciate your kind comments.

Sydney can be expensive around New Years Eve, however when you next visit Sydney please do not hesitate to send me an email at elena.prytkova@mantra.com.au, so we can ensure you are well looked after.

Thank you for choosing Mantra on Kent for your New Year’s stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Overall my partner and I had a pleasant stay at the Mantra on Kent. However we were disappointed and underwhelmed when we saw the room. As it was my birthday my partner thought getting the deluxe apartment would be a nice way to splurge a little. However, there was nothing deluxe about it. The room is clean, modern yet small and the furniture is oddly placed. The bathroom is extremely small and we could barely fit anything on the counter. Along with this we couldn't find one switch to turn on the exhaust fan (after trying them all in the room) and this meant having a hot shower would fog and heat up the room. It was annoying that there was only one TV in the lounge room as I would have liked to have had a TV in the bedroom, as after a big day you just want to lay down in bed and relax.

In saying this, the location for this apartment was great, my partner and I were able to walk just about everywhere in the CBD, including Chinatown and the Casino. The Darling Harbour was so close we visited it everyday!

Overall, location was perfect and the room, well that was average. Just don't believe what you see in the photo's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear ashjim,

Thank you for passing on your thoughts from your recent stay with us at Mantra on Kent.

Pleased to read that overall your stay was a pleasurable one and you enjoyed everything Sydney has to offer from our central CBD location.

We were disappointed to read you did not find our one bedroom deluxe room to your liking. Should we have the opportunity to welcome you back be sure to request a balcony room, as while they may not have the same Darling Harbour views, they are a little larger (including a more spacious bathroom).

Once again thank you for the review and I do hope you had some luck at the casino!

Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice place unfortunate about one or two of staff members, good location, unfortunately do not recommend and would not stay again due to poor receptionist manors and mistakes.

Very nice place to stay great location, although staff need some training as I was basically told I was a liar after telling them they gave me the wrong room.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael654321123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Michael 654321123456,

Appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback from your recent stay with us. Great to hear you found our location and facilities suitable to your needs.

Not so great to hear that it would seem we haven't handled a misunderstanding with room allocation in a warm and friendly manner. Rest assured we will share this feedback with the team to ensure we get it right next time.

Once again thanks for the feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This serviced apartment is located on Kent street, around 200 metres away from Pyrmont Brdige on Darling Harbour and 100 metres from Queen Victoria Building. The apartment I had comes with a small kitchen (oven, microwave, stovetop, kettle and fridge) and washing machine & dryer. Front desk folks were friendly and accomodating. No complaints about the apartment generally.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanieHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear BeanieHead,

Thanks for your review on Mantra on Kent. Pleased to hear we hit the mark for facilities, location and most importantly service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The rooms here were fantastic. Great size and had cooking facilities. We had a view over to Darling harbour. We were within a few minutes walk to the train stations, darling harbour and shops, and yet it was in a quiet street. The service was not overly friendly or welcoming but not enough to detract from our overall stay. I would definately recommend the hotel based on location, room size and value for money in Sydney!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freespirit774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear freespirit774,

Thank you for your positive review for Mantra on Kent from your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear you found our location great and the facilities met your needs.

A little disappointed to read our service was not memorable - we will be sure to take that on board - our passionate team like to be remembered!

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Paul Seaman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#71 of 178 in Sydney
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 178 in Sydney
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#129 of 178 in Sydney
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $151 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent, in the heart of Sydney's CBD, and on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour, is close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC, Star City Casino, Cockle Bay, King Street Wharfs, bars and nightclubs. Offering guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Offering services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing