We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't believe work paid for me to stay here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #64 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't believe work paid for me to stay here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Came to Sydney for a conference and was thrilled when work booked me into the Mantra on Kent. Not only was it close to the conference, it is centrally located to the CBD and Darling Harbour as well a very short walk to Town Hall train station. I've stayed here a number of times and each time my room has been spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet, I also seem to get a room with views of Darling Harbour, which is great. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sarah G,

Appreciate you taking the time to post a review for Mantra on Kent. We were very pleased to read you found the location perfect for business travel.

I will be certain to pass on the comments regarding the friendliness of the team and our housekeeping department with my thanks for a job well done.

Once again thanks for the review and I do hope you have reason to travel again soon and stay at Mantra on Kent.

Paul Seaman (General Manager) and the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    499
    187
    51
    27
See reviews for
273
345
50
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

For our yearly girls' getaway trip to Sydney we always stay at the Mantra on Kent. The staff are consistently friendly, helpful and efficient; indeed nothing is too much trouble. On the day we checked in there was a 'welcome back' note and bottle of wine in our room; a lovely treat. We chose to self-cater and the supermarket was five minutes walk away right by Town Hall station.

Our bathroom was a bit 'tired' but there was plenty of hot water. If we could make one suggestion it would be to get a good hair dryer for the bathroom. We would rather be out and about in Sydney instead of taking up time trying to dry our hair! We'll definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks Darling Harbour because there is always something interesting to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Kate M,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay at Mantra on Kent. Really pleased to hear the hotel works well for you as your annual weekend away and you once again enjoyed the time in Sydney.

I understand how frustrating those small hairdyers can be in hotels and we are currently working through a program to replace these to something with a liltle more power!

Once again thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Regards,

Paul Seaman & the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July. Location can't be beaten - it's in the middle of everything in the city centre.

The apartment is nice and modern, bed comfy and shower great! We had a corner room with a view towards Darling harbour!

The only thing I could say honestly that I didn't like is the windows couldn't be open at all, so it gets a bit claustrophobic if you need fresh air. I think it's done for safety reasons but they could have put small windows at the top.

Parking not an issue, there were a lot of spaces next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daizysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear daizysmith,

Thank you for this great feedback from your stay back in July.

Pleased you find the location, views and faciclities to be perfect for your needs.

You are correct in saying that the windows cannot be opened, perhaps request one of our balcony rooms on your next stay with us. The aspect of these rooms is slighlty different but they do provide access to the great outdoors.

Once again we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you,

Paul Seaman (General Manager) & the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed in several Mantras and this one is the stand out one for me in Sydney. It is a bit more personal than the others and the staff are friendlier. The rooms are big and comfortable and importantly they are quiet. The beds are firm but the pillows are good quality and the bathrooms are clean and well maintained.
This is a great location with a lot of restaurants, shops and transport in easy walking distance. Hotel staff arrange cabs and check in and out is streamlined.

A good place to choose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Rosalind L,

It is great to hear that we are the stand out Mantra property for you. Thank you for this wonderful compliment.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the spacious apartment, friendly service from all of the team and our housekeeping team will be recognised for a job well done

We hope to welcome you back soon to Mantra on Kent

Regards,

Paul Seaman (General Manager) & the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Gorgeous breakfast option to get you going for the day. Everything you could want to eat! Gorgeous view of Darling harbour from the 21st floor. Room clean and comfortable. Large shower and good quick service for more milk when wanted. ""Highly Recommend""

Room Tip: Our Corner suite was large sunny with a beautiful view! Air Con wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Carol B,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to hear such positive comments and we weere pleased to hear our wonderful breakfast buffet provided a lift to start the day.

We hope to welcome you back at Mantra on Kent in the near future.

Thanks again for your comment.

Paul Seaman (General Manager) & the Mantra on Kent team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here in October for the weekend. The location of the apartment is fantastic, very close to Darling Harbour, it's about a 5 minute walk over the bridge. The room was clean and spacious. The main downfall of the hotel is no free wi-fi and they charge a 2% surcharge when paying by any credit card! We also wanted the sofa bed made up but they were going to charge us $46 per night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta_Christo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Loretta Christo,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel.

In regards to your concern about internet, we work to create packages that will be suitable for as many guests as possible. In addition to the WIFI we do offer complimentary use of an internet kiosk in reception.

Our sofa bed fee is not only to set up the sofa bed but to to also provide extra amenities and services for the additional guest to ensure the comfort of all.

Thanks again for your comment and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Paul Seaman (General Manager) & the Mantra on Kent Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

good location. Nice rooms. we had 2 1-bedroom apartments. one with bath one without. but both good expericence.
only thing we didn't like is we had to pay extra for parking which was next door. but we do understand it's expensive to park your car in the middle of the city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Qing Yang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Qing yang Tin,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra on Kent.

We understand the challenges for parking prices in Sydney and offer a discounts on the usual rates for Sydney CBD car parking in conjunction with the parking station next to the hotel.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#66 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing