We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #71 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Gold coast
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mantra on Kent , is immaculate with your own kitchen . Views of darling harbour and walking distance to Pitt street. So central to everything great customer service and good value buffet breakfast . The rooms are very modern. One of he best pressure showers I have ever had in a hotel room. Only downside no tv in bedroom which I like to have

Room Tip: Ask for harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Maria O,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts from your stay at Mantra on Kent.

I'll be sure to pass on your feedback regarding service and breakfast to our team with my congratulations on a job well done.

It was great to hear you found our central location perfect for your visit to Sydney and enjoyed the comfort and aspect of our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    543
    213
    58
    30
See reviews for
304
382
52
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great central CBD location, close to shops and parks. Layout of self contained Double Room was good with the laundry in the bathroom. View of a brick wall - but that's OK We were so busy out and about we didn't need a room with a view. Comfy bed. Our room was great value on a special rate.

Room Tip: Our double room had a few steps inside. The shower was walk-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear TropicalHelen,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the hotel from your recent stay and we were pleased to hear you found the location great and the room facilities met your needs.

Next time you look to stay with us check-out our Deluxe One Bedroom apartments - many have views over Darling Harbour or the CBD cityscape.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for 4 nights after getting a good deal for a one bedroom apartment. Was in a perfect A+ location yet there were afew issues.
We asked for a room with a harbour view if avaliable as specified to do so when booking which I was told was possible. Apon reaching our room on the 25th floor and looking out the window, we were interested to find out that our view was 3 much taller buildings with a small portion out to the harbour. I am unsure how it is advertised as a room with a view when we couldnt see anything.
Another issue was the pre authorisation of my credit card days before we even arrived without ANY notification that this was happening. This could have put me in a negative in my bank had I not noticed so was not impressed at all. Then the 2% surcharge when paying by credit card....yet there isnt really much option to pay any other way so again I was unhappy with the process as a whole.
Lastly, we had no windows that opened at all. Not even a little. The air heating in the rooms is on 24/7 which sometimes got very stuffy and affected my nose and throat. At night I felt it very uncomfortable.
Otherwise it was nice for what we paid for. The locatiin was perfect..close to darling harbour and the tower. The bed was amazingly comfy and had all the utensils needed to cook and clean clothes. We had a great time but would probably choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachie302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear rachie302,

Appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback from your most recent stay at Mantra on Kent. I was pleased to read that you found our central location suitable and the room well appointed.

All our rooms have individually controlled air-conditioing & heating units - rest assured we will check all is in order in the room you occupied and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience during your stay.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when you next travel to Sydney and please do not hesitate to contact myself if I can be of any assistance.

Regards

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for four days and were able to walk easily to darling Harbour and town hall station. Our rooms were nice and clean. They were functional and were perfect to cook an easy meal or have breakfast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 825emmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Emma M,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your recent stay with us.

Our location close to Darling Harbour, CBD and all transport options is fantastic and I was pleased to read you were able to take advantage of this!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and 2 year old son spent 5 nights at mantra on Kent for my brothers wedding so we booked out 6 rooms for family and guests. The rooms were quite nice but not very good for children, our windows had broken locks so the window opened the whole way with the lounge positioned directly under it, perfect for little ones to climb up on. The other rooms had no locks at all. No fresh air for us. We found out a week before arriving that we had to pay for parking which would be $36.00 a day. When we arrived we were told that would be the price for every exit. Not handy when trying to take guests to a wedding. The communication was terrible, we were never told the "special" parking price was through the hotel, so not knowing we paid at the car park which cost an absolute fortune for 6 days. Guests with cars should have this explained on arrival. Very disappointed!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Holly W,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your recent stay at Mantra on Kent.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the mis-communication regarding the carparking options for guest staying at the hotel. I have shared this with our team to ensure all communication regarding parking arrangements are clearly communicated.

I was pleased to hear that you found the rooms to be well appointed and we would certainly appreciate the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Mantra on Kent in the future.

Please do no hesitate to contact myself directly via paul.seaman@mantra.com.au if I can be of any further assistance.

Once again thanks for the feedback.

Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our room was surprisingly ready when we arrived at about 1030am and was very clean but looked like it was ready for a refurb, a bit shabby round the edges. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts we had were excellent value with properly cooked bacon not the undercooked stuff that is the norm in so many hotels and all of it was hot too. The reason I've given it only 4 stars is because of the fact it looked ready for the refurb but for what we paid for two nights it was great value for money. Very central for everywhere too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Richard G,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments from your recent visit to the hotel. It was pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate your early arrival.

It was also great to hear your feedback on our breakfast product and service - I will ensure this is passed on to our team in the restaurant.

Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul Seaman
General Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A one bedroom, top floor apartment was my treat this time. Clean, quiet, comfortable ... and for Sydney on a 3 night stay - good value too. The staff were efficient, friendly and good. Close to most Sydney downtown stuff, close to Town Hall station as well as Star City, the Maritime Museum and a host of other attractions. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestyTweedValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear WestyTweedValley,

Many thanks for your review and positive comments about your experience at Mantra on Kent. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and location.

We look forwrad to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally
Sally Phipps
Relief Manager
Mantra on Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#73 of 179 in Sydney
2,178 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
1,039 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#129 of 179 in Sydney
723 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing