We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for Sydney”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #77 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Brilliant central location, acceptable price given the ridiculous prices in Sydney and good sized apartments. We booked a two bedroom and although the rooms were separated by glass it was fine although perhaps a bit overdue for refurbishment. Helpful front desk. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ammolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Ammolite,

Many thanks for your review and feedback about our apartments. It is extremely pleasing to hear about your experience with us here at Mantra on Kent, particularly in regards to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked a one bedroom deluxe room - for a weekend stay in sydney - as far as location goea the mantra on Kent is cental to the CBD and you can walk everywhere - that said ther is nothing in the immediate vicinity.

The room was spacious enough but overall the building is tired and could do with some work. The shower flooded everytime we used it, and there were uglyt paint scrapes and dings in the walls both in the apartment and in the hallways. I expected more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear russkat22,

Thank you for your review and comments in regards to your experience at Mantra on Kent. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our apartments and I can assure you that the Maintenance issues you advised have been taken care of now.

Kindest regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in a spacious1 self contained studio apartment on 13th floor. Got a good 2 night deal for $264. Had King Zip bed, really comfy,which could be closed off with glass sliding doors. Also had double sofa bed which cost $35 to be made up. Good sized bathroom including washing machine and dryer. Also had nice views to Darling Harbour. Quiet location and one block to Pyrmont bridge and Darling Harbour and 2 blocks to Pitt street and QVB. 5 minutes to Town Hall station. We didn't bother with breakfast or any other meal as there is so much choice close by. Would stay here again at the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for room on harbour side for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaC2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear LisaC2020,

We thank you for your positive comments in regards to your experience here with us at Mantra on Kent.

We certainly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked a one bedroom apartment, it's more a studio with sliding glass doors around the bed. It was pretty big but the bathroom could do with an upgrade. The internet was ridiculously expensive so we didn't even bother, for the price I would have thought free wi-fi was in order. The location for us was good as we were spending the day at Darling Harbour but it's a super busy part of the city. But what hurt a lot was the cost of parking $36 a day and we weren't even there two full days. I understand that parking is limited in that part of the city but ouch! All in all ok, but not the ideal family stop over.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Dee M,

Many thanks for your review and we are glad to see that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our apartments.

We are sorry to hear about your concerns in regards to the internet and parking. In regards to the internet, whilst we have an external supplier for this service, we have worked with them to establish a range of packages to appeal to as many guests as we can, in addition to offering a complimentary service via the kiosk in the lobby. Also in regards to the parking, we utilise a public parking building next to the hotel in which we have an arrangement to offer discounts on the usual rates for Sydney CBD car parking.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent 1 night here in a studio apartment. The room was very comfortable and spacious with good cooking facilities, view towards Darling Harbour. Nice and quiet. Good bathroom including washing machine and dryer if I had needed them.

Room service let it down. Restaurant is not open in the evening so I ordered room service dinner. A 30 minute wait became 1 hour before it arrived. When it arrived the food was so overcooked it was completely dried up and some of it was burnt. My colleague had a similar experience the same evening.

Breakfast buffet was standard fare, but the hot food had clearly been sitting there for a couple of hours with little left, all looking rather tired.

Staff generally helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilaRivka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Many thanks for your review and positive comments in regards to your apartment and the service our team provided, they are certainly appreciated.

We do however, apologise for the food and beverage experience you received. We realise these areas of service are crucial to our operation and we are working hard to improve this area.

We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family and I arrived in Sydney earlier than planned but were able to leave our bags with the helpful reception staff. The apartment had been made up exactly to our requirements and was very clean, roomy and well equipped. Our rooms on the 10th floor had cracking views across Darling Harbour and despite being so central was very quiet at night. The location couldnt be more central if it tried, just minutes from Darling Harbour and all its waterside restaurants and attractions, and a few blocks away from the main shopping district. The Rocks district is ten minutes walk away at the end of the street.
We did a lot of travel by rail and Town Hall station is 5 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We thank you for your positive review and kind words about your experience at Mantra on Kent. It is very pleasing to hear that the hotel was perfect for your requirements and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here in May after a South Pacific cruise. We arrived early and the front desk staff were more than happy to store our bags until our room was ready at 2pm. They were friendly and helpful. The room (1715) was perfect for our stay - spacious, comfortable, modern and quiet. The hotel is in a great location about 5 minutes walk to Town Hall Station and the QV Building and is well priced. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Many thanks for your positive comments in regards to your experience at Mantra on Kent, your feedback is certainly appreciated. We were pleased to read that the location was suitable for your requirements and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Relief Hotel Manager
Mantra on Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#78 of 186 in Sydney
2,654 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,429 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $170 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent, in the heart of Sydney's CBD, and on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour, is close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC, Star City Casino, Cockle Bay, King Street Wharfs, bars and nightclubs. Offering guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Offering services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing