We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nothing fancy but great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #46 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when we first arrived in Sydney after a very long flight from the U.S. We arrived around 11:00 in the morning and were thrilled to be able to check in long before the normal time. There was nothing fancy about the room but it had a mini fridge, a small cooktop, microwave, toaster, electric kettle and sink. The room had a safe which is always so nice. The unexpected bonus is that there is a washer and dryer in the bathroom! We stayed here for four nights and it was great to be able to wash a few things before we moved on to our next location. The breakfast was quite good and had some unusual offerings. Well, unusual to an American! This hotel was within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour and if you don't mind to use foot power, a pretty easy walk to Sydney Harbour. It was clean, it was blessedly cool, (we were there on the day that Sydney recorded its' highest temp ever at 115 degrees!) and it's in a great location.

Room Tip: If having a fitness room in your hotel is important, choose a different place. Although they offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funinthesundenver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    334
    103
    22
    9
See reviews for
156
243
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at The Mantra on Kent Street for an extended stay of 9 nights in Sydney and were thrilled with our choice. Our room was spacious, with separate bedroom and living area, and included a small kitchen and dining area. The kitchen was a welcome bonus for having breakfast each morning or a late night snack that we could whip up on our own. The bed was very comfortable and the closet large enough for all of our stuff.
The location of this hotel cannot be beat, as you are less than a 5 minute walk to the fabulous restaurants of Darling Harbour. Associates at the front desk were very helpful in providing information that we needed, assisting with reservations, etc.
The hotel could use a bellman to assist with luggage and taxi's, as most are there for an extended stay and have plenty of things to carry.
Cleaning service came each day and left the room spotless. In-suite laundry came in SO handy towards the end of our stay, and when we needed more detergent, it wasn't a problem.
I'd highly recommend this condo/hotel for long-term stays in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear MissM33,
Thanks for your recent review of the hotel.
Its pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the benefits of apartment hotels with things such as a kitchen and laundry in your apartment. They certainly keep the costs down on an extended stay although we would like to see you at breakfast on your next stay with us.
The whole team shares the bellman duties although there are sometimes the morning and evening rush periods where there never seems to be enough people to flag down cabs and attend to baggage.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
kind regards
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've stayed at the Mantra on Kent three separate times. All of my stays were excellent. They provide clean rooms and bathrooms, showers with great water pressure and nice TV's. The hotel is in a great location close to Darling Harbour. The only negatives was an average buffet and slow internet connectivity during my last stay (which I think is out of their control). I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Eric,
Thank you for your recent feedback, we really appreciate it as it allows us to continually better our service.
Our water pressure is not mentioned alot but I agree many other hotels fall over on this front but its pleasing to see that you were happy on your recent 3 stays.
We are continually coming up with new offerings in the breakfast buffet and hope you will give breakfast another go when staying with us on your next trip as I think you will be pleased with the offerings.
Thnks again and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights mid week on a leisure trip to Sydney recently. This is by far the best location that we have stayed within the CBD. For us the hotel provided all the amenities that we were after and the staff were excellent. Our Suite on the 26th floor had clear views to Darling Harbour and Pymont. It was quiet and clean with the added bonus of a fresh, functional kitchenette in the living area. We loved the glassed dividers which we could use to block off the king sized bed- brilliant idea. This Hotel is an easy stroll of just 1/2 a city block from Town Hall Train Station, making for easy access when using the Airport/City train link. Food options in this part of town are endless as a walk to China Town, Darling Harbour, Star City Casino, or George Street cafes/restaurants are an easy few minutes walk away . It's located approximately 1.5km from Circular Quay- Ferries, Opera House and Sydney Harbour , for those of you wishing to see the local iconic features.
We travel regularly to Sydney and now that we have found this little gem, it will definitely be put at the top of our accommodation list next time.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors. Amazing views -ultra quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gAzntOnsO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear gAzntOns83,
Many thanks for such a positive review, we really appreciate the feedback.
As you can see from previous posts, our location is certainly a major plus and its great to see you got around the CBD so easily whilst staying with us.
Its great to see that you consider us a little gem and will consider us for your next trip to Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed end January for 6 nights and found the location fantastic for sight seeing. It was only a couple of hundred metres to Darling Harbour, and not much further to the train station with easy access from the airport. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. The one room apartment was lovely and a good size.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Debbie,
Thank you for your review and glad to see that you found the hotel convenient, comfortable and the team friendly.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future on your next holiday to Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed with my mother in mid January and found the location fantastic for sight seeing. It was only a couple of hundred metres to Darling Harbour, and not much further to the train station. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. The one room apartment was lovely and a good size for two of us. We had everything we needed, a good sized kitchen and laundry facilities in the bathroom (although hand towels in the bathroom would have been good). We used room service a couple of times and this was also really good. I will be staying here again next time I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-01-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Kim,
Thank you for taking the time to add your first tripadvisor review. We really appreciate the positve feedback and are pleased to see you had such an enjoyable time in Sydney.
I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed a few days here after a trip to the Blue Mountains. We wanted something reasonably priced, self contained but still within walking distance of the main attractions of the city. This venue met all our expectations.

One bedroom appartment had everything we needed and was generally spacious. Bedroom is rather small with a queen size bed but adequate for our needs. Decor is simple but tasteful and the apatment was well maintained.

Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. A request to arrange an airport transfer was dealt with promptly and professionally. Very happy with the service.

We walked to most things but there is a train station within one block and we also used the free red buses that run along George Street which is also just a block away.

Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Peter,
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.
Its great to see that you would return to the hotel and found the hotel well located and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#68 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant, Cascade Restaurant & Bar, is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel, guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing