We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #77 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've stayed at the Mantra on Kent three separate times. All of my stays were excellent. They provide clean rooms and bathrooms, showers with great water pressure and nice TV's. The hotel is in a great location close to Darling Harbour. The only negatives was an average buffet and slow internet connectivity during my last stay (which I think is out of their control). I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Eric,
Thank you for your recent feedback, we really appreciate it as it allows us to continually better our service.
Our water pressure is not mentioned alot but I agree many other hotels fall over on this front but its pleasing to see that you were happy on your recent 3 stays.
We are continually coming up with new offerings in the breakfast buffet and hope you will give breakfast another go when staying with us on your next trip as I think you will be pleased with the offerings.
Thnks again and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights mid week on a leisure trip to Sydney recently. This is by far the best location that we have stayed within the CBD. For us the hotel provided all the amenities that we were after and the staff were excellent. Our Suite on the 26th floor had clear views to Darling Harbour and Pymont. It was quiet and clean with the added bonus of a fresh, functional kitchenette in the living area. We loved the glassed dividers which we could use to block off the king sized bed- brilliant idea. This Hotel is an easy stroll of just 1/2 a city block from Town Hall Train Station, making for easy access when using the Airport/City train link. Food options in this part of town are endless as a walk to China Town, Darling Harbour, Star City Casino, or George Street cafes/restaurants are an easy few minutes walk away . It's located approximately 1.5km from Circular Quay- Ferries, Opera House and Sydney Harbour , for those of you wishing to see the local iconic features.
We travel regularly to Sydney and now that we have found this little gem, it will definitely be put at the top of our accommodation list next time.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors. Amazing views -ultra quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gAzntOnsO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear gAzntOns83,
Many thanks for such a positive review, we really appreciate the feedback.
As you can see from previous posts, our location is certainly a major plus and its great to see you got around the CBD so easily whilst staying with us.
Its great to see that you consider us a little gem and will consider us for your next trip to Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed end January for 6 nights and found the location fantastic for sight seeing. It was only a couple of hundred metres to Darling Harbour, and not much further to the train station with easy access from the airport. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. The one room apartment was lovely and a good size.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Debbie,
Thank you for your review and glad to see that you found the hotel convenient, comfortable and the team friendly.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future on your next holiday to Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed with my mother in mid January and found the location fantastic for sight seeing. It was only a couple of hundred metres to Darling Harbour, and not much further to the train station. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. The one room apartment was lovely and a good size for two of us. We had everything we needed, a good sized kitchen and laundry facilities in the bathroom (although hand towels in the bathroom would have been good). We used room service a couple of times and this was also really good. I will be staying here again next time I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim-01-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Kim,
Thank you for taking the time to add your first tripadvisor review. We really appreciate the positve feedback and are pleased to see you had such an enjoyable time in Sydney.
I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed a few days here after a trip to the Blue Mountains. We wanted something reasonably priced, self contained but still within walking distance of the main attractions of the city. This venue met all our expectations.

One bedroom appartment had everything we needed and was generally spacious. Bedroom is rather small with a queen size bed but adequate for our needs. Decor is simple but tasteful and the apatment was well maintained.

Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. A request to arrange an airport transfer was dealt with promptly and professionally. Very happy with the service.

We walked to most things but there is a train station within one block and we also used the free red buses that run along George Street which is also just a block away.

Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Peter,
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.
Its great to see that you would return to the hotel and found the hotel well located and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 29th December 2012 - 3rd January 2013 as we were in Sydney for New Year. Having not visitied Sydney before we wanted to ensure we stayed in a central location and I must say that this was perfect.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and the size of the room was fantastic. The bedroom was large as was the bathroom and there was a good size kitchen with all required applicances should you with to eat in.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and were more than happy to help advise on public transport and attrations.
Very close to Darling Harbour, China Town and a 20 minutes stroll to Circular Quay and Sydney Harbour. There are lots and lots of eateries and restaurants nearby from take-away pizza and McDonalds to sit in restaurants and Cafes.
This is also a stones throw from World Square shopping centre- everything you could need is on your doorstep.
I would definately stay again when we nxt return to Sydney.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ch86uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear CH86uk,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, we really appreciate the warm feedback on the hotel and its team.
Our location is well suited for all NYE celebrations and easily within walking distance to most attractions, even with the crowds of new years.
Its great to see that the team were friendly and that you would definately return on your next trip to Sydney.
Please feel free to contact me directly and I will look after your next booking with us.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here in a one bedroom apartment and grabbed it on a special rate so only paid $150 for the night, and was very impressed! Check in and out very smooth, the rooms are a great size and have all the amenities you need and completely self contained.
We were going to a hens party in Darling Harbour so it was the perfect location, just a walk down the hill to get there, and a stumble back up the hill to get home!
The bed was very comfy, and I loved the bath gel, it smelled lovely!!
Definitely recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel_b_0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear mel_b_0301,
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the positive feedback on your stay.
Mantra on Kent is the perfect place for a short stumble back from Darling Harbour and Im pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Our bath products are Lemongrass and Eucalyptus from VEDA and are very popular.
Please feel free to contac tthe hotel on 02 9284 2300 and I would be happy to post you a bath product pack.
Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#78 of 186 in Sydney
2,656 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,430 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $167 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent, in the heart of Sydney's CBD, and on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour, is close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC, Star City Casino, Cockle Bay, King Street Wharfs, bars and nightclubs. Offering guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Offering services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $55 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing