We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mantra on Kent”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #72 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mantra on Kent”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed with my mother in mid January and found the location fantastic for sight seeing. It was only a couple of hundred metres to Darling Harbour, and not much further to the train station. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. The one room apartment was lovely and a good size for two of us. We had everything we needed, a good sized kitchen and laundry facilities in the bathroom (although hand towels in the bathroom would have been good). We used room service a couple of times and this was also really good. I will be staying here again next time I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-01-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Kim,
Thank you for taking the time to add your first tripadvisor review. We really appreciate the positve feedback and are pleased to see you had such an enjoyable time in Sydney.
I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    532
    210
    56
    30
See reviews for
292
375
51
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed a few days here after a trip to the Blue Mountains. We wanted something reasonably priced, self contained but still within walking distance of the main attractions of the city. This venue met all our expectations.

One bedroom appartment had everything we needed and was generally spacious. Bedroom is rather small with a queen size bed but adequate for our needs. Decor is simple but tasteful and the apatment was well maintained.

Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. A request to arrange an airport transfer was dealt with promptly and professionally. Very happy with the service.

We walked to most things but there is a train station within one block and we also used the free red buses that run along George Street which is also just a block away.

Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Peter,
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.
Its great to see that you would return to the hotel and found the hotel well located and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 29th December 2012 - 3rd January 2013 as we were in Sydney for New Year. Having not visitied Sydney before we wanted to ensure we stayed in a central location and I must say that this was perfect.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and the size of the room was fantastic. The bedroom was large as was the bathroom and there was a good size kitchen with all required applicances should you with to eat in.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and were more than happy to help advise on public transport and attrations.
Very close to Darling Harbour, China Town and a 20 minutes stroll to Circular Quay and Sydney Harbour. There are lots and lots of eateries and restaurants nearby from take-away pizza and McDonalds to sit in restaurants and Cafes.
This is also a stones throw from World Square shopping centre- everything you could need is on your doorstep.
I would definately stay again when we nxt return to Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch86uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear CH86uk,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, we really appreciate the warm feedback on the hotel and its team.
Our location is well suited for all NYE celebrations and easily within walking distance to most attractions, even with the crowds of new years.
Its great to see that the team were friendly and that you would definately return on your next trip to Sydney.
Please feel free to contact me directly and I will look after your next booking with us.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here in a one bedroom apartment and grabbed it on a special rate so only paid $150 for the night, and was very impressed! Check in and out very smooth, the rooms are a great size and have all the amenities you need and completely self contained.
We were going to a hens party in Darling Harbour so it was the perfect location, just a walk down the hill to get there, and a stumble back up the hill to get home!
The bed was very comfy, and I loved the bath gel, it smelled lovely!!
Definitely recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel_b_0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear mel_b_0301,
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the positive feedback on your stay.
Mantra on Kent is the perfect place for a short stumble back from Darling Harbour and Im pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Our bath products are Lemongrass and Eucalyptus from VEDA and are very popular.
Please feel free to contac tthe hotel on 02 9284 2300 and I would be happy to post you a bath product pack.
Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located walking distance from Darling Harbor as well as shopping along George St and Chinatown, this hotel is centrally located for tourists on foot. The room decor and lobby has a boutique hotel feel. Room was very spacious and had a full kitchen. Triangle-shaped tub has enough space for a two-person bubble bath. Wi-Fi available for charge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CheChoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear CheChoul,
We really appreciate your recent feedback and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and time in Sydney.
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

One bedroom deluxe apartment, lovely view. Clean, spacious and everything we needed in a holiday apartment. Great location with easy, easy access to Darling Harbour. Convenient to buses, shopping and supermarkets for supplies. Lovely clean, comfy pillows and beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinTintheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear TinTintheTraveller,
Thank you kindly for the great review.
Our proximity to Darling Harbour and the CBD is a major bonus for guests and I'm pleased to see that you found the apartment clean and spacious.
All beds have been replaced due to our refurbishment in July, pillows included.
We hope to see you again at mantra on Kent in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We were on a road trip with an infant and had so much stuff. Staff couldn't have been more helpful with unloading and loading the car! It made a huge difference to our stay and is noteworthy as a competitor's hotel in Melbourne was the exact opposite. The room was great value and had a laundry in the bathroom. Another fantastic thing when on a roadtrip with a child :) Fabulous location and excellent price!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurechiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear adventurechiq,

Thank you for your recent review.

Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team helpful and the apartment suited your needs.
The space of an apartment and a laundry in each room is always a plus when travelling with children.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on kent soon.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 178 in Sydney
2,109 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
1,017 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing