We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for Sydney visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #63 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Sydney visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We found the Mantra on Kent to be the perfect location, only a short distance to the Queen Victoria Building and shopping on one side and Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay restaurants on the other side. Also not far from Town Hall station which was handy for getting around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    482
    176
    47
    26
See reviews for
261
335
47
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Don't expect help or understanding from the desk staff. If your child accidentally hits the remote and orders a days worth of movies you'll still pay for it. 25$! Sheets for the foldout couch. That'll be another 45$ a night. Hint: buy sheets from Woolies up the street for 20$. And if you want a late checkout that'll be another 20$ an hour. So, while this is a nice enough hotel they will nickel and dime you for everything. I suppose that's how they keep their advertised rates so low. Bait and switch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sturtfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was in a 2bedrooms apartment on level 17. Rooms are nice and clean. Great time to catch up with old friends. Quick and friendly staff on checked in by Jin and Daniel (hotel manager) /helpful staff on checked out by Freddy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great place to stay, we had two x two-room apartments newly refurbished rooms 1904 & 1905. Both had good views of Darling Harbour. The rooms had everything we needed and were relatively quite. There was a little noise from the revelers in Darling Harbor on one of the nights but not a problem.
You couldn't beat the location, very close to the train station, and as we used public transport for the four days it was so convenient.
We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.
Front desk were helpful and polite and we left our luggage there for the day after checking out before our 6pm flight.
The only issue we had was our friends in 2004 had a bed base that was so squeaky they couldn't sleep on it. Hopefully they've replaced it now.
All apartments were very clean, it's nice to stay somewhere where you can actually walk on the carpet in bare feet and not feel yucky.
Definitely would recommend it and will stay there again next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCTSRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The positives was the location, rooms were good size, staff were really friendly, check in super fast. The negatives rooms was the servicing of the room was average (didnt clean the dishes), the neighbours both nights were noisy - one with kids screaming the other with a person coming home late - unfortunately either the walls were thin or they were especially noisy - and lastly no bath tub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

found the staff very helpful and attentive and the cleaners always made sure everything was clean for us when we returned from our expo. however I do need to be a bit nit picky in regards to the service upon arrival they where notified that we would like early check in and they said that was ok but when we arrived at 12 we where told the room was not ready and to come back in an hour so we did that and housekeeping had not finished the room so we had to.continue to wait. wasn't a horrible experience to say that it was a little disappointing. also the WiFi was a little bit of a let down as it was quiet expensive where as at most places it is free. overall however the room was spacious and clean no real problems would happily stay there again...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Mantra on Kent from 14th to 18th December.

The room was was clean and was nicely furnished.

The staff provided excellent customer service and went out of their way to make my stay a comfortable one.

The location of the hotel was fantastic, right in the heart of Sydney CBD, not far from popular night spots and attractions.

I would highly recommend Mantra on Kent to others!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing