We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Mantra on Kent”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #72 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Mantra on Kent”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Mantra on Kent three times in the last few years and found the hotel to be consistently good

The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and willing to assist guests in pretty much everything from getting a taxi to finding a late night pharmacy at short notice, and are genuinely interested in helping the guests make the most of their stay.

Thee rooms are spacious and reasonably well appointed, although starting to show their age in patches - the hotel was opened in 99 in advance of the Sydney 2000 olympics.

None of the rooms I have stayed in have had a Minibar - a small refrigerator does have milk, but no ice tray - there are no ice machines on the floors, however the staff will bring up ice if requested.

Where the mini bar is missing, it is important to note, that there are many bars, convenience stores and bottleshops open late in and around the immediate area, so this shouldn't cause a problem to most guests.

In the rooms I have stayed, there have been a washer and dryer, which at the end of a multi-leg trip can be a real bonus, particularly when inclement weather causes you to use more changes of clothes than you were planning.

One gripe I did have was the King bed in my room was made up of two king singles, which had been bound together - I found the hard centre of the bed was disturbing to sleep on, and I found my rest not as good as it could have been.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Shane C,

Thank you for taking the time to add a post for Mantra on Kent.

I am pleased to see that you have stayed a number of times and are happy with the hotel and its team.

I can confirm that there will soon be a minibar at reception where items can be ordered 24/7 as we feel it is important to stock items around the clock but also maintain a guests privacy.

We will also be starting a full refurbishment in may that will cover all apartments consisting of new carpet, painting and furniture replacement.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to wellcoming you back to mantra on kent in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    532
    210
    56
    30
See reviews for
292
375
51
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeppoon, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just spent 5 nights at Mantra on Kent we booked through Club.CuSoon and in doing so we had a one bedroom apartment at an unbelivable price.We did not have a view of Darling Harbour but we didn't expect one at this price we were on the 26th floor as we requested a higher level.Our room was spacious,well equipped and serviced daily. Location is fantastic we enjoyed the Chinese Fireworks at 9pm after a Valentines Dinner at Darling Harbour and felt very safe walking the short distance back to the Mantra
The staff at reception were so friendly & professional ( especially Carla) and made us very welcome we would recommend you stay its great value for money
R & J Yeppoon Qld

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayjan669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Rayjan669,

Thank you kindly for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

I agree that Club CUSoon is a great way to get big savings on Mantra Group properties through Australia and New Zealand and am pleased you found your apartment comfortable and at a great discounted price.

All of our 1 bedroom apartments face Kent St but we have both studios and 1 bedroom deluxe that face darling Harbour for future reference.

Our location is very central and walking is convenient throughout most of the city.

I am pleased you were able to spend an enjoyable Valentines Day with us and will certainly pass on the great feedback to Carla.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We arrived after an overnight flight from Canada to a warm and welcoming reception. Our room was a one bedroom apartment that was spacious, well furnished and had a well equipped kitchen. The location is absolutely great-just around the corner from Darling Harbour (we particularly enjoyed meals at Zaaffran and Georges),two supermarkets close by and just a short walk to pedestrian shopping area. I would recommend the Hop on Hop off bus to give you a good orientation to the City including a stop at Bondi Beach. Also the boat trip from Darling Harbour to Watsons Bay gives you a fantastic view of Sydney from the water.Finally we had occasion to contact the hotel a few days after we left and they were most helpful-Thanks to Elena.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Chrisalberta,

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay.

A warm welcome is always a good start to a holiday and am pleased you found the apartment clean, comfortable and spacious.

You left some valuable tips for future travellers and looks as though you made the most of Sydney and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on kent in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were greeted by the very friendly concierge at the hotel. They really made us feel welcome and valued as customers. For me this is one of the most important things about visiting the hotels. We were upgraded to the penthouse for our anniversary which made our night extra special. Comfortable bed, and massive balconies. Really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Robert R,

It is always nice to read that your stay started well and continued throughout your stay. First impressions are important and we appreciate the positive feedback on the team.

I am pleased we could make your anniversary special by arranging the upgrade and hope you had a great night out in Sydney.

Thanks again and we hope to have you back soon for your next anniversary or special occasion.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Mantra on Kent & cannot praise the hotel & its staff highly enough. We booked 2 adjoining suites sharing with our 2 small children & grandparents and were thrilled to find we had ample space, facilities & privacy. The rooms were sparkling clean, had all the creature comforts, & fabulous views over Darling Harbour. The reception staff were friendly & helpful & nothing was too much trouble. We didn't eat in the restaurant (loved being able to wlak over the footbridge to the many restaurants in Cockle Bay, but did order room service a few times & service was always prompt, food hot & never disappointing. We will definitely be staying here next time we travel en masse to Sydney, & feel that we got fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear ktb01,

Thank you kindly for the positive comments from your stay at Mantra on Kent.

Our dual key 2 bedroom apartments offer a spacious stay with 2 bathrooms and kitchens which assists with the additional guests in the apartments.It also offers the privacy of being able to close off the adjoining door if required.

I am also glad that you enjoyed the room service meals and that the team offered their consistant friendly and helpful service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on Kent in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed at Mantra on Kent Australia Day and were delighted to be upgraded to a room overlooking Darling Harbour on 20th Floor. This was perfect for me as I intended staying in my room to watch the tennis while my husband wanted to walk Sydney looking at the NRMA Motorfest cars. We both have things we love to do on Australia Day. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment for a bit of extra room and although spacious and the doors can be slid around the bed to give the room complete privacy do not expect a full apartment. The kitchen was really a large kitchenette with a small bar fridge. It was ok for us for 1 night but I would not have wanted to spend more time trying to cook meals in it. Just a tad too small. Having said that it was all very clean and there was enough equipment to prepare a adaquate meal.
I must say I do not like the shower over the bath but with a hand from my husband managed to get in for a lovely shower. If you are unsteady on your feet make sure you book something with a seperate shower. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Being Australia Day I expected that there would be a lot of noise but it was really quiet. An added bonus we could open the windows in the main room and get fresh air into the room hence not having tor run the air conditioner. We really did have a lovely stay and the staff were helpful and we felt welcomed.

Room Tip: Join Club Su and receive discounts. Book through Club Su. Ask for a room up high with views. Make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear jan c,

Thank you for your recent feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your Australia Day with us and found the hotel a good base for your activities.

We certainly are close to all the major attractions without being on the main streets, allowing for the window to be left open without being too noisy. All windows are also double glazed.

In regards to the shower, some of our apartments do have stand alone showers and these can be requested at the time of booking.

Your tip to join club cu soon is worthwhile as some real savings can be made across the group on accommodation and the parking is subsidised by the hotel as paying direct in Sydney can be very expensive.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We only had two days in Sydney, so really wanted to make the most of it. Mantra on Kent was perfectly situated to explore the Darling Harbour area. The Hotel is within walking distance of all sorts of attractions such as Darling Harbour itself, the monorail, Aquarium, Paddys Market, lots of dining options, various harbour tours, shopping and much, much more. Could easily have spent a week exploring the area. We found the rooms comfortable and clean with all the usual self contained features like kitchen, washing machine and dryer.
The staff were very helpful and provided us with information about the local tourist attractions and transport.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer a limited view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear sueandal,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Our location certainly lends itsel fto conveniently exploring the sights of Sydney and I am pleased that your found the room comfortable and that the team were at their friendly and knowledgeable best.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 178 in Sydney
2,109 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
1,017 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing