We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family friendly experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #62 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic family friendly experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Mantra on Kent & cannot praise the hotel & its staff highly enough. We booked 2 adjoining suites sharing with our 2 small children & grandparents and were thrilled to find we had ample space, facilities & privacy. The rooms were sparkling clean, had all the creature comforts, & fabulous views over Darling Harbour. The reception staff were friendly & helpful & nothing was too much trouble. We didn't eat in the restaurant (loved being able to wlak over the footbridge to the many restaurants in Cockle Bay, but did order room service a few times & service was always prompt, food hot & never disappointing. We will definitely be staying here next time we travel en masse to Sydney, & feel that we got fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear ktb01,

Thank you kindly for the positive comments from your stay at Mantra on Kent.

Our dual key 2 bedroom apartments offer a spacious stay with 2 bathrooms and kitchens which assists with the additional guests in the apartments.It also offers the privacy of being able to close off the adjoining door if required.

I am also glad that you enjoyed the room service meals and that the team offered their consistant friendly and helpful service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on Kent in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    484
    177
    47
    26
See reviews for
261
337
48
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed at Mantra on Kent Australia Day and were delighted to be upgraded to a room overlooking Darling Harbour on 20th Floor. This was perfect for me as I intended staying in my room to watch the tennis while my husband wanted to walk Sydney looking at the NRMA Motorfest cars. We both have things we love to do on Australia Day. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment for a bit of extra room and although spacious and the doors can be slid around the bed to give the room complete privacy do not expect a full apartment. The kitchen was really a large kitchenette with a small bar fridge. It was ok for us for 1 night but I would not have wanted to spend more time trying to cook meals in it. Just a tad too small. Having said that it was all very clean and there was enough equipment to prepare a adaquate meal.
I must say I do not like the shower over the bath but with a hand from my husband managed to get in for a lovely shower. If you are unsteady on your feet make sure you book something with a seperate shower. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Being Australia Day I expected that there would be a lot of noise but it was really quiet. An added bonus we could open the windows in the main room and get fresh air into the room hence not having tor run the air conditioner. We really did have a lovely stay and the staff were helpful and we felt welcomed.

Room Tip: Join Club Su and receive discounts. Book through Club Su. Ask for a room up high with views. Make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear jan c,

Thank you for your recent feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your Australia Day with us and found the hotel a good base for your activities.

We certainly are close to all the major attractions without being on the main streets, allowing for the window to be left open without being too noisy. All windows are also double glazed.

In regards to the shower, some of our apartments do have stand alone showers and these can be requested at the time of booking.

Your tip to join club cu soon is worthwhile as some real savings can be made across the group on accommodation and the parking is subsidised by the hotel as paying direct in Sydney can be very expensive.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We only had two days in Sydney, so really wanted to make the most of it. Mantra on Kent was perfectly situated to explore the Darling Harbour area. The Hotel is within walking distance of all sorts of attractions such as Darling Harbour itself, the monorail, Aquarium, Paddys Market, lots of dining options, various harbour tours, shopping and much, much more. Could easily have spent a week exploring the area. We found the rooms comfortable and clean with all the usual self contained features like kitchen, washing machine and dryer.
The staff were very helpful and provided us with information about the local tourist attractions and transport.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer a limited view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear sueandal,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Our location certainly lends itsel fto conveniently exploring the sights of Sydney and I am pleased that your found the room comfortable and that the team were at their friendly and knowledgeable best.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed at Mantra on Kent for the weekend. Loved it! Spacious room with a balcony, really helpfull staff, loved the food and loved the location! It was absolutly everything my family and I needed for a weekend in the city. The hotel was clean, safe and had a warm feeling about it. I would absolutly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear joanna j,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at Mantra on Kent.

I am very pleased that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable and that you and your family enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on kent in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Organised a night out for my birthday and was able to get 2 rooms at the Mantra. Perfect and central location to everything in the city, and great service checking in and out to make things a lot easier. The rooms were big and spacious and had everything you would need. With Wilsons Parking right next door at great weekend overnight rates, we couldn't have asked for a better night!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RigbyL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear RigbyL86,

Many thanks for the great feedback on your stay and I am pleased you chose to spend your birthday with us.

No matter where you end up partying in the city for your birthday, we are only a short walk away which is certainly convenient.

Weekend parking is also very resonable and can be paid directly to the parking station.

Thank you again and we hope you will decide to stay again for your next birthday.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a one bedroom apartment which was very nice and clean.The apartment was on the 21st floor on the corner of the building with a window from the bedroom having a partial view of Darling Harbour where the aquarium is and the lounge area window looked over the city.The kitchen and bathroom were nice and there was also a laundry.Staff were friendly and the restaurant and the buffet breakfast was very nice.Hotel is in a good location for visiting Darling Harbour and the city and there is secure carparking (not a part of the hotel) next door which we booked online for $10.50 overnight.Will stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others.
Only negative was the airconditioner was a bit noisy but it definately cooled the room down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanOZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balclutha, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. They certainly did their best to inform us of what we needed to know whenever we asked.
We were on the top floor with a great view of Darling Harbour. Only a couple of minutes walk to the Harbour.
A very spacious and clean room with a full kitchen. Also nice and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneCWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing