We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Big Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Hostel
Ranked #9 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This place was essentially home for me for almost three months while I worked in Sydney. I definitely didn't intend to work a 40 hour week whilst living in an 8 bed dorm! However that is just a testament to how awesome Big is - I stayed because the place is super friendly, quiet at night, very clean (probably the cleanest place I've stayed), cheap and very central. I can't put into words how much I loved staying here. The staff work their behinds off to make sure you have a brilliant stay, whether you are there for a night or for much longer, and you're always greeted with a smile when you walk through the door. Really awesome place, can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Female only rooms on the second floor are nice and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hodgy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 425 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Big Hostel was convenient from the train station to get back and forth to the airport. Convenient to walk around town and down to the harbor. The dorm was clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful! I would stay there again when I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttadpole-cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed in this hostel for 5 weeks whilst I settled in Sydney and found work/permanent accommodation. Very pleased with the atmosphere, cleanliness and service the hostel provided. The roof terrace is excellent for sunny BBQs and drinks, the rooms are a good size, and I made some good friends during my stay. Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank tommyfromhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Big hostel is definitely a thumbs up when it comes to hostels in Sydney. Big, clean and spacious rooms. Met a lot of nice people staying at the hostel. Easy reachable and very good location close to Chinatown and Central station. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the female dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGhostelboss, Manager at Big Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

thankyou for the nice feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at Big Hostel for 4 nights at the quad en suite room. Our first impressions of the hostel were not too great but the place grew on us. The plus point is the myriad of tours and services available - from arranging day tours to airport shuttle bus. The hostel is also centrally located at Central Station and is within walking distance of the Royal Botanical Garden, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Chinatown and Sydney Opera House.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeriel_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights solo, staying in a private room with ensuite. Sydney is always very expensive, but by comparison this place was quite good for the money. The room was clean, the linen was fresh, and the ensuite was clean. Good hot water with pressure to make for an enjoyable shower. The room is no-frills - just a basic room but if all you want is a place to sleep at night, then this is fine. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. A basic breakfast is offered with the price but I didn't try it. My ONLY minor criticism was that the bed springs were a little noisy. But otherwise I slept well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ged M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at Big Hostel near the end of January with my girlfriend for Australia Day, the main reasons we chose Big Hostel was the central location, availability and price.

We initially had booked a shared room, but opted for a private room last minute. Having our own A/C room with a private ensuite was a very welcome treat as a backpacker needing a comfy stay after being in planes and airports the last day. My girlfriend and I didn't really utilize the kitchen amenities or Rooftop Patio so I can't really comment of these, but both were available to guests. Your usual simple complementary breakfast is available in the morning: bread, cereal. The room was cousy and quite clean, AC blew cold and washroom was clean as well. A bit dated but not enough to be off-putting. For me the highlight here was Matt at the front desk, he was very helpful in giving us some suggestions on things to do and providing simple directions on where to go. He also organized our airport shuttle for us the following morning.

There's not too much in the immediate area, but there are a lot of amenities and things to see just 5-10 minutes away on foot. Hyde Park, Darling Harbour, the Opera House and all your other main central attractions are very walk-able from here but make sure you grab everything you need before hitting the road as it's not THAT close lol :).

Cheers,
Jon

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH-AdventureTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 150 in Sydney
304 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 150 in Sydney
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 150 in Sydney
1,467 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 150 in Sydney
802 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 150 in Sydney
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel

Address: 212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $26 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hostel in a great location.clean,budget and open age friendlywifi is only FREE in our communal areasplease remember we are a hostel and not a hotel- no turndown services or beds made daily sorry.happy to assist with job hunting, apartment hunting,tours and all information needed for exploring Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Big Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing