We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place and Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Hostel
Ranked #7 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place and Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend as we toured around Sydney. I have never stayed in a hostel, so I was a little scared to be doing so, However, the location of this hostel was out of this world. The cleanliness of it was also so remarkable. I was very impressed! Everyone was so nice! You have GOT to have the gelatto on the Harbour! It was so great!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aarmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    171
    55
    18
    4
See reviews for
43
86
107
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yet to actually stay overnight, but this place has a great vibe, premium location on the edge of Chinatown, and near Darlinghurst/Oxford Street. $85.00 per single room - not cheap by SE Asian standards, but trust me that's cheap for Sydney. I will be using for occasional convenient stays, late nights/early mornings close to work, rather than chewing up hours travelling home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, free wifi, breakfast included.
The only things not going for this hostel are the slow elevator (take the stairs instead) and paper thin mattresses, woke with a severe case of spring in back!
Everything else was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellenshouse, Manager at Big Hostel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
we have nearly finished replacing all mattresses in the hostel, in mid June EVERY mattress will be a brand new commercial quality mattress for a comfortable nights sleep.. thankyou for the feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed in an air conditioned en-suite twin bunk room with my mum during our travels around Australia, we were here for 3 nights and were happy with the facilities/accommodation, There was free wifi - however very difficult to access during peak times & you had to be in communal area, breakfast was included - a continental variety, however availability of mugs was an issue. The hostel was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly & helpful. We did experience a couple of issues - the lifts were out of action twice, which is not fun with a 20kg suitcase, and the window was broken therefore wouldn't shut properly. The hostel is ideally situated 5 minutes bus journey from the Circular Quay. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurferDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
211 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best thing about this hostel is the location, very central. It's close to almost eveything. Many cheap and good restaurants nearby. I stayed in a 4-person ensuite dorm. AC, Small lockers (bring your own padlock), free wifi, free breakfast, the price is ok for the location (Sydney is expensive) and it's reasonably clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in a 4 people mix dorm for 5 nights, and it seems no one will clean the floor of the dorm, the only thing they do is take out the rubbish in the rubbish bin. So, we felt our dorm is never being clean.
AC was always not working, and the window design in this hostel is bad, you can't open it, so the room was quite stuffy every night when 4 people all back to the dorm. Kitchen is not clean, can saw cockroaches. Share bathroom was pretty clean. Wi-Fi only available for 1st floor guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosimom236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellenshouse, Manager at Big Hostel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi, i just wanted to respond to this - unfortunately nearly all hotels and hostels do not have opening windows due to legislation not permitting this for safety- (built after 1998)
we are a hostel and not a hotel so housekeeping inside rooms on a 5 night stay is minimal($34 per person rates with free breaKfast and wifi) will not bring the same services as a hotel unfortunately.
Wifi is FREE in communal areas ONLY (usually $4 per hour in hotels and hostels) it is designed to only work on our ground floor.
we are an air-conditioned building.we take note of your concerns and will address any issues we can, thankyou for your feedback.

regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the 4bed ensuite dorm, $34/night, yep, Sydney isn't cheap. The room was quite small, the bunk beds were made of metal and had seen better days, made squeaking sound even when somebody just walked past them without actually touching it. The mattresses were covered in plastic, anti-bedbugs but very annoying to sleep on. There were lockers but not too sturdy, forcing a little you could open them.
The wifi worked only at times (impossible to connect between 7 and 11pm), 1 free computer always occupied.
The bathroom was clean and the location is great, free breakfast is also very good, staff quite nice. Overall it is not a bad value considering it is right next to the Central station, but it is nothing special either

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#70 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,994 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#5 of 129 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#4 of 129 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 129 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel

Property: Big Hostel
Address: 212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hostel in a great location.clean,budget and open age friendlywifi is only FREE in our communal areasplease remember we are a hostel and not a hotel- no turndown services or beds made daily sorry.happy to assist with job hunting, apartment hunting,tours and all information needed for exploring Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing