We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“please work on your customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Hostel
Ranked #8 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“please work on your customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

my fellow travellers and I were very upset by the manner in which we were spoken.overall a good hostel if you like it clean and well organised. but for this friendly service has been sacrificed. if good manners and a positive attitude are not essential to your trip then this hostel is ideal

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    183
    58
    20
    4
See reviews for
48
91
119
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed here 3 nights at the beginning of december and thought that overall, it was average.
we paid 110AUD/night (as we wanted a private room and the only thing left was private en-suite) which we thought wasnt worth what we got
the aircon wasnt strong enough (which we complained about and were told that it had been turned on higher...)
the bed needed a new mattress (as you could feel the springs) and the pillows were very thin
the roof-top area was under renovation or something and not very user-friendly
the included "continental breakfast" was just cereal and toast (jams included)
and the location was okay (there was a free bus service to the city center but it only runs during certain times and definetly not long enough ever)
however, i do have to say that the staff was very friendly and helpful :)

next time i go back to sydney, i will try to stay elsewhere if possible

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed for a week at Big Hostel and enjoyed our stay.

It's location next to central station and in the lively area of Surry Hills was perfect. Surry Hills is a great area with lovely little bars, cafes and parks, within walking distance of the centre and other cool areas.

The hostel itself is well run, the staff do a great job of keeping on top of everything and the hostel seems to run like clockwork. Unlike other hostels, you get alot for your money at big. There is an excellent kitchen with plenty of appliances to cook your
meals in and a fairly spacious lounge area(his could do with being bigger).

I had the unfortunate luck if being put into a dorm in which the girls were really untidy... Thankfully the hostel put up a sign for the room that warned against the mess and told them If they didn't clean up they were out (which would have meant me too but the girls cleaned up so no one was evicted). Beds are comfy and there is a small locker for valuables. Lots of the lockers in the room were out of action though.

Room rate includes breakfast from 7-10am. It's help yourself to cereal and toast, tea and coffee and lots of condiments available.

The hostel is mainly young Backpackers looking for work or working and plenty of socialising if that's your thing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here a couple of times while I was getting set up in Sydney after moving from Brisbane. Unfortunately due to my own ill organisation and it being the busiest time of year, I was forced to check out a couple of other hostels. This just made me want to stay at Big Hostel even more. The staff were always approachable and would always try and help no matter what the request was. The cleaners were even friendly (hi Han) and it seemed like this was the only hostel in Sydney I could actually sleep well in where the other guest were made to be awear of other guests sleeping habits. I certainly have no problems recommending this hostel to any travellers coming to Sydney. The location is tops too if you like to get out and about and see places like Bondi, Coogee Bay, the Rocks, North Sydney, etc. as it is right in the middle of all the transport avenues to get around Sydney. Big is by far my favourite hostel out of the 6 I have stayed in while I was establishing myself in beautiful ol Sydney town. Thanks again Big.... You guys rock

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with Big Hostel in my recent trip to Sydney and must say that I am pretty impressed in the way the management run the hostel. The rooms and common areas are very well maintained, imposing strict rules and constant reminders on cleanliness. Love and appreciate their generosity of providing free WIFI in the common areas. It is a prime location where is about a 5 mins walk to Chinatown and about 30 mins walk to Circular Quay. Alternatively, you can hope on the free public bus 555 that loops around the city.

Would definitely recommend family and friends to stay at Big Hostel when they make a trip to Sydney. Good job guys, making my trip in the city a wonderful one!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingyue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is well located and very good value if you need an inexpensive place to stay for a weekend in Sydney.We had a five-bed room (2 adults and 3 children), which worked out at $33 each (including breakfast).
It's backpacker, YHA type accomodation with the usual backpacker busy-ness about it, but if you don't want to spend a fortunate on accomodation then it serves well. The room was clean and included linen and towels and an ensuite. Breakfast was simply tea/coffee, cereal and toast plus locate and wash your own dishes but for $33 dollars it was great value.
Walking distance from Central station, Paddys markets, Hyde Park, it was perfect for us.
Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KobiWobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on two separate occasions at about 30 aud a night. The rooms were clean as was the bathroom most the time. The staff are on reception 24 hours so u always know there's someone around. There's also lockers in the bedroom and WiFi in the main lobby. Breakfast was good too with toast. Big hostel name and shame those who dont clean up after themselves which I found amusing and useful as this is what keeps the place clean. We would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholeDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 137 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 137 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel

Property: Big Hostel
Address: 212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hostel in a great location.clean,budget and open age friendlywifi is only FREE in our communal areasplease remember we are a hostel and not a hotel- no turndown services or beds made daily sorry.happy to assist with job hunting, apartment hunting,tours and all information needed for exploring Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing