We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, helpful hostel”
Review of Big Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Big Hostel
Ranked #9 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, helpful hostel”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a great hostel for people who want a bit of quality on a budget. It's close to Central station, Chinatown, Hyde Park and only about 20 mins walk from Circular Quay. The rooms are very clean and well looked after, the communal lounge and kitchen are large, modern, comfy and fully equipped with a large TV, book exchange and lots of large sofas. We arrived after leaving another hostel down the road which was disgustingly dirty and the receptionist was really helpful - she couldn't fit us in to the dorm so gave us a double room for two nights for the price of the two dorm beds, $60! You also get fast wifi and a decent breakfast including cereals, toast, tea and coffee included in the price. Very good value. Don't go to nearby Home Backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    184
    59
    21
    4
See reviews for
48
93
120
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mid North Coast NSW Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This place is excellent. Superb location directly opposite Central Train Station, clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, friendly helpful staff, breakfast included, free wi-fi & cheap as chips too!! We stayed in a Family Room with 4 bunks & our own bathroom. Room was very clean as was the bathroom & TV was provided in the room. I would recommend this hostel to everyone who is looking for cheap basic accommodation. The family room is on par with your standard basic motel room but at half the price. We will definitely be staying there again :)

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra & get a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeeM0858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a perfect place to stay. Whether on the run or a long term guest it's perfect. I've stayed here numerous times and the staff are amazing. I've stayed in both the four bed dorm which is great if you are on a budget and need only a bed or the private double is also fantastic for more privacy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aymanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

'LOLstel' because I've had lots of laughs here. Big hostel is very friendly, both staff and guests. It is a short walk to the supermarket, busy Oxford Street, Hyde Park, and Central Station. The rooms are as tidy as you make them and are cleaned regularly. Bathrooms are clean and showers are powerful. Internet access in common area is good depending on number of people using it. Breakfast is basic with plenty to go around.
I enjoyed my stay here :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge,CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

First time travelling to Sydney. I was by myself. Got a private double room ensuite for 85 aud a night. Room was basic, but clean and very spacious. The hostel is very friendly and clean. You'll find all sorts of people from backpackers, to families, to seniors from all over the world. It's not a party hostel which is nice. Wifi worked great(only downstairs, not in the room) and was free. A lof of places charge for that. Breakfast was cereals and breads, a nice free way to start the day. The staff is eager to help you with whatever you need. I pointed out to them one morning that the sponge to clean the dishes was past it;s life expectancy. when I returned at the end of the day there were 3 brand new sponges. I did not use them, but the cooking facilities is pretty large for guests to use. I also liked the fact that it's about a 3-4 minute walk to central station, 30 minute to sydney harbour. If I return to sydney this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottinLA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hostel is conveniently located by Central train Station! The team were always friendly and helpful. I made a lot of friends there, the common area and kitchen are very social, if you are travelling on your own I would highly recommend this place. The FREE wifi and breakfast really are a big PLUS (saves having to pay Global Gossip). This place was a few $'s more than some of the other hostels, but in my opinion extremley worth it for these facilities and social aspect. It's not a party hostel as you see when you walk to Coles @ world square. There are two that you pass on Pitt St, where the party goers spill out on to the street. I would highly recommend this Hostel. I stayed in July 2011, I have just booked to stay again when I return to Sydney.

Room Tip: Any room is good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have been staying in Big Hostel a couple of times. I slept in Double Room with ensuite, Double Room with outside amenities and in a Dorm.
The double rooms are nice and essentials, quite enough for sleeping well, clean and tidy.
The dorms are average.

Everyday breakfast is included in the price and is only footsteps from the CBD. It is close to Central Station as well.

Best hostel in Sydney I ever slept.

Room Tip: Double rooms are much better than dorms, more clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacopo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel

Property: Big Hostel
Address: 212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hostel in a great location.clean,budget and open age friendlywifi is only FREE in our communal areasplease remember we are a hostel and not a hotel- no turndown services or beds made daily sorry.happy to assist with job hunting, apartment hunting,tours and all information needed for exploring Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Big Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing