We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Ranked #22 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location was ideal for us. Near family and with good transport links. Shops and restaurants nearby are excellent. We had one son stay for part of our 3 week visit so we moved from a one bedroom to a two bedroom and back again. The two bedroom was very spacious and the second single well laid out, facing an inner courtyard. The first (single) looked out onto the busy Eastern Distributor, so traffic noise was a problem. Within easy walking distance you find the open spaces and gardens of Centennial Park.
Staff were very helpful, efficient and friendly.
Only niggle was the haphazard servicing: bathroom requisites were not always replaced, likewise towels (though on one occasion, two sets of towels appeared). Again, once, daily servicing was not completed. We had problems with appliances but maintenance staff were quickly on hand and faults rectified. Free wifi was nice to have but had to sign in repeatedly, with passwords changing several times.
Would stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending Meriton Danks St. Some of the Australian cricket team were staying while we were there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Eastern Distributor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rollo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Rollo P

Thank you very much for the review and we are very glad that our location was best suited to your needs, especially family.

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review, as your review is a valuable tool in recognising areas that require attention. I do apologise for the shortfalls of your stay and this matter has been brought forward to our housekeeping department for further review.

Rollo P, thank you again and we do hope to see you or your friends in the near future here at Meriton Dank Street.


Best Regards,
Eric T
Acting Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

this apartment hotel is truely excellent,and was a pleasure to stay at for a family of 4 which is often difficult to cater for
from the welcome at reception to the checking out all the staff were extremely pleasant and the facilities of the room were fantastic
do yourself a favour and stay here but please not in the 2nd week in october because we intend to stay there in that week and we would be kicking ourselves if its booked out
local facs are ideal and from rourke st buses to circular quay and central station are handy,beware of sydney traffic and trust in your taxi driver or bus driver unless you have nerves of steel

Room Tip: no chance just in case you choose the room we enjoyed so much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Karen G

Welcome to TripAdvisor!

The team here at Meriton Dank Street is very happy to read such glowing reviews and off course the pleasure is all ours to have you as our guest.

We certainly would love you to come back and we look forward from hearing from you soon.

Thank you very much for the feedback.

Kind Regards,
Eric T
Acting Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here but for 2 things ....first of all, if you run out of teabags, don't bother asking for more. These are not topped up in their daily service if the apartment and if you ask for some you will be told to buy your own. The second thing is that the advertised indoor pool is 'indoors' but you have to walk across the road and around the corner to access the pool in a completely different building. It wasn't quite advertised that way.
Other than that, the rooms were lovely, well appointed and clean and enjoyable to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLuxmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear MLuxmore,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience staying with us. I am truly disappointed to read your comments, Meriton Waterloo has built a reputation for going above and beyond with our customer service and to hear that you were asked to buy your own tea bags is disappointing.

In light of your feedback our team has been refreshed / retrained on our servicing standards, and again on behalf of Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, we are truly sorry for the shortfalls of your stay and we would love an opportunity to welcome you back.


Kind Regards,

Eric T
Acting Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After having stayed at the Meriton on Danks Street multiple times, I have nothing but praise for this establishment. Spacious and clean, the street level rooms were perfect for me and my friends making the trip up for an event at the nearby Hordern Pavilion. The Meriton boasts great amenities and excellent customer service - Mena in particular must be commended on going above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay, we were very impressed! Situated within walking distance to a grocery store and plenty of eateries just around the corner, the Meriton on Danks Street really does have it all !

Room Tip: After having stayed at the Meriton on Danks Street multiple times, I have nothing but praise for thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Cara B,

Thank you so much for making your first TripAdvisor review such a positive one about your recent stay with Meriton Waterloo.

As you realised, our apartments are perfectly located for guests taking in a show or sporting event at the nearby Entertainment Quarter. Thank you also for your kind comments about our apartments and our staff, we are always striving to provide the highest level of comfort and customer service and it pleases me to read this was your experience.

I am also thrilled to note your particular mention of Mena and his efforts in “going above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay” as he is constantly working hard to ensure our guests have a memorable time and I know he is excited to see his name posted on TripAdvisor for the world to see.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Meriton Waterloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I am glad I choose meriton and was thinking cancel other hotels to stay in meriton for my getaway.
great location, not far from airport and bus to the city, is also suitable for morning jogging. It's the best choice in sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggynaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear piggynaomi,

Welcome to TripAdvisor and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

Being located between the airport and the city does make Meriton Waterloo an excellent option for those seeking convenience with out being in the middle of the city. With Moore Park golf course on our doorstep and Centennial Parklands nearby, there are plenty of options for those seeking some fresh air, a scenic run or a peaceful walk.

We are so happy to see that you “will choose Meriton for your next vacation” and the staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Meriton Waterloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have stayed here before & would stay here again, only disappointing aspect is distance from train stations. Apart from that Waterloo is an awesome and upcoming suburb close to the city with some great nearby cafes and shops. Rooms are spacious, clean and well set out.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarajade21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Tamarajade21,

We are so pleased to read that you are one of our valued return guests and appreciate our “spacious, clean and well set out” apartments that Meriton has become synonymous for.

Unfortunately Green Square and Redfern stations are a 20 minute walk away, however as “Waterloo is an awesome and upcoming suburb close to the city” it is well serviced by regular buses from the stop nearby.

Tamarajade21 thank you for sharing your thoughts on your home away from home accommodation choice and we all look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Meriton Waterloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have a nearly 3 year old toddler. Our room was a two bedroom apartment on the 13th floor. The first thing he went for was the door to the balcony. We were frustrated to find that there was no way to lock the balcony door with a key, the small latch on the door could be easily opened by our son. However, more distressing was the window in the main bedroom, the window was easily got to, at head height for our son (with the tv table right next to the window to climb on), and not restricted in how wide the window could open. Outside the window was a small ledge with a drop of 13 floors to the road below. We had to jam the window closed to stop our son from being able to get to it. It's terrifying to think if what could of happened if our son had not been stoped by us from getting to the window, and I'm really surprised this problem had never been identified or fixed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSADanksStWaterloo, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, I would like to assure you that Meriton places paramount importance on guest safety and security and all Meriton buildings are in compliance with government legislation & building code.

In regards to your particular experience our team is looking into concerns raised and we will be addressing them appropriately. If you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail, please feel free to contact us via tawat@meriton.net.au.

I truly hope your recent experience does not deter you from returning, as we would like to welcome you again to Meriton Serviced Apartments in the near future.

Kind regards,

Birender C
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 180 in Sydney
3,111 reviews
Meriton Suites
#8 of 180 in Sydney
5,643 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 180 in Sydney
4,327 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites
Meriton Suites
#51 of 180 in Sydney
105 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#47 of 180 in Sydney
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Waterloo

Address: 30 Danks St | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#30 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $99 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Waterloo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a variety of suite styles and bedding options available, we will suit your every need to ensure you have a perfect suite every stay. Ranging from spacious studios to 3 bedrooms and spread across 15 floors, each of the 184 masterfully designed suites come equipped with premium quality services and products. Up to three times bigger than a traditional hotel room, many of our suites offer a modern split level floor plan, a full gourmet kitchen, flat screen TVs in addition to a range of Foxtel channels, an internal laundry and plush bedding. Energise your body in the 3 indoor heated swimming pools, large spa and sauna as well as a fully-equipped fitness centre, all of which are located at Crown Square fitness centre and aquatic facilities, only a short walk from the hotel. Our Waterloo location will be every sport lover’s dream as it is positioned only minutes from Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney Cricket Stadium, Royal Randwick Racecourse, Moore Park Golf Course and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing