We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great place to stay, nice apartments, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Ranked #20 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Towsville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay, nice apartments, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed at this location regularly over the last few years, and find the location brilliant, and the apartments really nice and good value for money. Close to the airport, CBD, and Eastern suburbs, parking is available and affordable for when I have a car. I have always stayed in one bedroom apartments, and in general they are spacious, well equipped, and very comfortable. Most have a shower over the bath, which I don't like much and is about the only negative thing that I can say really, but it is possible to request a unit with seperate shower and bath. The higher floor units facing east have a nice outlook from the balcony, looking over the golf course. Traffic noise in the berooms are reduced to low levels due to double glazing, a necessary touch.

Staff have always been helpful and happy to accomodate requests. The daily "refresher" room service is very thorough.

All the necessary shops are just a block away - supermarkets, bottle shop, bakery, coffee shops and a few eateries. The restaurants of Surry Hills are within a reasonable walk or very short taxi ride

Room Tip: Apartments that aren't facing South Dowling Street are quieter, but don't have a nice outloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Tim H,

Thank you for posting such a glowing review on TripAdvisor.

As a group, Meriton Apartments are striving to be the leading provider of spacious modern apartments in convenient locations at an excellent price and as a return visitor to Waterloo it seems as though we have hit the mark.

There are slight variations to each apartment but as you have experienced our staff are eager to ensure that where possible all requests are. Our main goal is the comfort of our guests by providing a home away from home atmosphere.

Once again we are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the years to come.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    540
    128
    37
    25
See reviews for
564
407
103
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during the Autumn Racing Carnival. Highly recommend the location for any free ranging visit to Sydney. Literally minutes from Sydney's CBD, sporting venues and trendy eat streets and fashion outlets. Well equipped 2brm/2bthrm unit - ideal for groups or families. Decor and furnishings are "safe" or "vanilla" but the cleanliness was first rate. Literally just a few steps to chemists, cafes, restaurants and Coles or Aldi. The village vibe of the suburn was also very

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear WadeB,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Meriton Waterloo.

As you realized we boast an excellent location within a short distance to a vast array of various attractions which cater to a wide variety tastes and interests. I hope you were lucky during the racing carnival!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Waterloo again.

Kind Regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balclutha
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Meriton Apartment was a pleasant experience. It was well presented, clean & tidy with modern contemporary furnishings, and serviced daily. It also had a well equipped kitchen which was ideal for making breakfasts and snacks. A washing machine and dryer was also in the bathroom which was appreciated. We asked for an internal facing apartment which I would recommend to avoid street noise which also gave us a garden view. It is handy to Coles supermarket and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The bus service into the city was handy and easy to find. It takes approximately 20 minutes by bus to reach Elizabeth Street where shopping in the Westfield Mall, Queen Victoria building and other stores are located. We would certainly recommend staying here and if back in Sydney we would be more than happy to book again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yorky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear York1,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Meriton Waterloo.

I was delighted to read that you were impressed with your recent stay. The Meriton Serviced Apartments are built for living, and offer all the comforts of home, plus some extras, at an excellent value.

Located in the vibrant village of Waterloo with all the amenities you could want for and as you say we are also a conveniently located short bus ride from the city centre.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Highlands, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

All amenities required were on site and only a brief walk to a great Italian Pizzeria. Also close to Coles, chemist, cafes, dry cleaners, Moore Park Golf Club and Centennial Parklands. We went to Alliance Stadium for an NRL game. Quite within walking distance of Waterloo Meriton. Public bus transport also available nearby.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 5th floor Studio room facing The Eastern Distributor. Noise level was fine. Size of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear LeeanneW,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the football, I hope your team won! We are always delighted to read comments such as "excellent accommodation" so thank you for saying so on TripAdvisor.

As you say our location is extremely convenient for accessing the sports grounds at Moore Park and the Entertainment Quarter as well as a short bus ride to the City.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Waterloo next time your team comes to play.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed one night in these apartment. It was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Although the apartment address is on Danks street, our apartment was on street level, on South Dowling Street, so road noise was evident but not so much that it was annoying. Good location, the apartment had all we needed. It was over two levels with the bedroom on a mezzanine level. The bathroom was quite small, you had to close the door to get access to the toilet. There was a toilet downstairs as well which was a plus. Free wifi which was good. Friendly, helpful staff, we couldn't figure out how to get to our apartment as you had to leave the reception area, go outside the building and access it from the street, had to get reception to come out and show us how to get in as it isn't obvious. Good security as it is quite literally on the street, lots of locks and fences for privacy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giusee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Giusee L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. As a senior contributor your thoughts are certainly well respected.

Having been built primarily to be used as a residential complex, Meriton Apartments Waterloo are perfectly positioned to provide a “home away from home” experience. This does however come with certain peculiarities such as access to some of our street level 1 bedrooms as you have discovered.

We are thrilled that you found our apartments had "all that you needed" and are grateful for your response on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is excellently located but a major disappointment was the fact that the advertising gives the impression there is a pool and fitness centre on site - there isn't - there's a pool and fitness centre open to the public which we were advised on arrival was four minutes' walk away. We felt dudded! It's one thing to hop in the lift to go for a swim and quite another to embark on a four minute walk in the pouring rain with toddlers in tow. Needless to say, we didn't use the 'facilities within the complex' during our stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess5869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tess5869,

Thank you for taking the time to post of your disappointment regarding your recent experience with Meriton Waterloo. As a group we welcome all forms of feedback as it does enable us to improve on the service we offer.

As you have described, our gym and pool facilities are located a short walk away in the Crown Square fitness center, as part of the broader Meriton Waterloo Village. These facilities are only accessible by Meriton residents and our Serviced Apartments guests.

I can assure we did not intentionally set out to deceive by our ambiguous website description and have subsequently altered the wording as a direct result of your comments.

I am sincerely heart broken by the fact that you and your family “felt duded” and more so for the fact that your special weekend away was dampened being unable to make use of the facilities due to the inclement weather.

Tess5869 we very much appreciate the feedback you have provided and do hope you will choose to stay with us again on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The apartments are either studio or two-bedroomed. We shared the latter, on a five-day business trip to Sydney. This was our second visit.

The location is handy to shops, cafes and restaurants and althought the streets are quite busy in this "apartment neighbourhood", most of the street sounds can be shut out effectively. Despite a 'no-party' rule, though, someone's celebrations on the first night were evident to everyone in our section of the complex.

The apartments provide everything you could need and are extremely spacious and well appointed. The furnishings are tasteful and very well maintained. The second bedroom (upstairs) has its own bathroom and sharing therefore combines economy with privacy.

Daily service is thorough and non-intrusive and desk staff are helpful and courteous.

Security is a priority and while this is welcome, access to floors other than your own is denied, which makes it difficult to meet your colleagues anywhere other than Reception or Level 4.

Despite numerous attempts, the free wifi was non-functioning - at least on Level 10.

A very good base for business or leisure and competitively priced.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Janette07,

Thank you for posting such a well written review of your recent stay with us.

Describing Meriton Waterloo as a “fuss free, elegant setting” is quite an apt description. We do pride ourselves on offering spacious well equipped apartments staffed by friendly and conscientious staff and to hear this from a senior contributor certainly proves we are on the right track.

We do certainly place a high emphasis on security and it does concern me that someone’s “celebrations” were heard throughout a section of the building and not shut down earlier. We hope all of our guests enjoy them selves, however this should not be at the expense of other guests of ours.

Thank you again for taking the time to write of your recent stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,047 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Address: 30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#30 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch down at Sydney Airport and arrive 10 minutes later to a stylish and modern lobby space, experience a warm welcome by our porter assistance and be checked into a stunning suite by a team of friendly and professional Guest Services staff, who are on-site 24 hours a day for your convenience. With a variety of suite styles and bedding options available, we will suit your every need to ensure you have a perfect suite every stay. Ranging from Classic Studios to 3 bedrooms, all 184 masterfully designed suites come equipped with the quality services and products that our guests have come to love about Meriton Serviced Apartments. Many of our suites offer a split level floor plan, providing extra space and comfort, and also includes modern furnishings, a full gourmet kitchen, internal laundry and plush bedding. Our guests can choose to relax and unwind to the soft sound of birds chirping while sitting back to captivating views of lush parkland with our Park Suites. Energise your body in the 3 indoor heated swimming pools, large spa and sauna as well as a fully-equipped gymnasium, all of which are found only a couple of minutes from the complex at Crown Square fitness centre and aquatic facilities. Come back to an immaculately serviced suite daily and stay connected with our free high speed Wi-Fi network, accessible from all areas of our hotel, including your suite. Nestled amongst the residential precinct of Waterloo, the hotel is surrounded by tranquil green leafy lined streets, lush gardens and is surrounded by a vibrant café culture. Located only 5 minutes away is Danks St Plaza, a local precinct that provides the Waterloo community with convenient shopping and dining options. Our Waterloo location will be every sport lover's dream as it is positioned only minutes from the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney Football Stadium, Royal Randwick Racecourse and Moore Park Golf Course while those seeking out entertainment will find the Entertainment Quarter the perfect destination for live shows. With Sydney CBD only 4 kilometres away, public transport close by and the Bourke Street bike track, a scenic cycling corridor between Mascot and Sydney Harbour, only moments away, our guests will be able to see the sights and other parts of this vibrant city with ease. Combining the perfect mix of culture, convenience and comfort, Meriton Serviced Apartments Waterloo will provide a better quality and better value accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing