We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Ranked #23 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at the Meriton on Saturday 30th March (long weekend) and it was a pleasant stay. I liked the studio apartment (it was only a "studio" because the bedroom has a large rectangular hole in the wall that opens into the living area. It was a quiet apartment, until I opened the balcony door and was then surprised at the amount of road noise that I was totally unaware of previously. With the door closed the noisiest part of the studio apartment was the hum of the bar fridge. I was also on the 11th floor, that may have helped, and I did have a nice view.

Given the long weekend I had an extra tight budget due to not receiving my wage on time. I didn't have enough for the $100 security deposit and the reception staff were nice enough to let me pay $80 instead. Since I booked via my mobile phone, this $100 charge was not made clear to me on their mobile booking system, causing me to be even more frugal.

I found the kitchen layout a bit weird - the cutlery is in a draw at ground level, and some other kitchen implements were so high I had to drag the heavy dining table chair across the tiles to reach them - I am 176cm tall.

The place had a high level of cleanliness, despite some wall scuffs, fine dust on the bedside tables, dust on power points behind furniture, the corrosion/calcium deposit on the corner of the shower screen, and some dark portions of the white tile grout. All minor things, but it's the little things that count ;) As someone else reported, the towels do smell slightly like bleach. I also found them a tad rough, but not enough to hinder my enjoyment at Meriton (I'm not a princess after all).

Check out was quick and easy, with pleasant staff.

I didn't use any other facilities at the Meriton, so I cannot comment on them.

Based on the above, I would stay here again, but if you do not want to drive around, the nearest train station (Green Square) is 1.5km away.

Room Tip: As others - The higher up the better the view and the further away you are from the road noise. It d...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Michael P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your first review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at Waterloo. Such detailed, informative reviews and tinged with humor certainly help add to the broad array of opinions found throughout this site.

We are always pleased to read that our guests will return to visit us again and just as importantly being provided with quality feedback to help enable us to concentrate on “the little things” as it the finer touches that make the biggest difference.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and welcome to the TripAdvisor community.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,084)
There are newer reviews for Meriton Suites Waterloo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,886 - 1,892 of 2,084 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at the Waterloo appartments as part of a business trip, the room has plenty of space, clean, a bit tired and worn but nothing to complain about. The apartments are within a short walk to Coles and Aldi, perfect for groceries and there are a few restaurants also within a short walk. Staff are very friendly, I had an issue with the washing machine/dryer and it was late at night, I was helped by the security guard and the maintenance guys, they were terrific. I have stayed at the Zetland apartments and found them horrible, there is no comparison between Zetland and Waterloo, if you are looking for good value Waterloo is it, there is still street noise but no where near as bad as Zetland. Taxi's are still a bit of a problem if you need to go a short distance but unfortunately that is Sydney, they do have the worse taxi drivers in the world.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from South Dowling Street
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_Chelly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Traveller_Chelly10,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Waterloo.

We certainly pride ourselves on providing a premium product at a great price to make certain our guests receive excellent value for their hard earned dollars.

Thank you also for your kind words about our team. Each department works hard to ensure that all facets of your stay are enjoyable and it pleases me that as a Senior Contributor this was your impression. Unfortunately we have no control over the “infamous” taxi service that Sydney is notorious for.

The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to Waterloo on your next business trip.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

At the end of a 3 week vacation along the south east coast of Australia, Sydney was the last stop.
The Meriton serviced apartments was an excellent choice, Two wonderful bedrooms with own bathroom. A fantastic kitchen with all you need for a short stay even up to 6 guests. All was clean and well maintained. Parking and Internet (Wifi) was available and free of charge. Bus stop in the direct vicinity of the apartments with a direct line to the city centre. Coles super market next to the apartment, with extended opening hours

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriedeBruyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear AriedeBruyne,

We are excited to read that you found Meriton Waterloo to be an “excellent choice” for your last stop on a 3 week South East Australian holiday.

Meriton Apartments do pride ourselves on providing everything you need in convenient locations and it seems that this was your impression.

Thank you for taking the time to not only write but also post a photo of your recent visit for all to see and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future on your next Australian expedition.


Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

comfortable, new and fully equipped apartment. Nice area and nice service! At a walking distance you'll find a shopping center, you basically live meters away from surry hills, one of the best neighbourhoods in sydney, full of restaurants, pubs, shops... you are close to moore park, just across the street, and redfern station. There are busses close to the apartment that bring you anywhere you don't feel like walking to. Nice!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalinadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear lalinadp,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

I am always pleased to read reviews highlighting how conveniently we are located to vibrant areas around Sydney as well as having shopping and transport options on our doorstep.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

These apartments are great value for money. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially Justin on the front desk. We had a problem with one of our TVs and it was fixed very promptly. We will certainly stay again. The location is a bit out of the central city but there is a super market and cafes nearby. We were a bit surprised that the pool and gym are in another building a block away but overall for the price this is not a complaint

Room Tip: We paid extra for the view of Moore Park but won't do so next time as the traffic noise was loud...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Carol J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Waterloo.

I am grateful for your mention of our hardworking staff and that in particular Justin was able to leave such a positive impression. Out team are always trying to go the extra mile and being able to see their name online shows that their efforts are truly appreciated.

Once again thank you for your kind words and the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Meriton Apartments Danks Street for five nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Initially we wanted to book at Zetland but the staff advised us that we might be better off staying at Danks street due to work being done at Zetland, and what was even better they gave us Danks street for the same rate as Zetland. We stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartment. Plenty of room. Full kitchen, with oven, gas stove top, microwave, full size fridge and dishwasher. Check in was easy, as was check out.
We used the train from the airport and walked from Green Square station to the hotel (about half an hour walk). Train cost about $30 for two adults and three kids. When we travelled into Sydney we used the bus which is about a five minute walk from the apartment. Buses run about every 20min and take about 30 - 40 mins to reach Circular Quay. We purchased a five day ticket that we could use on the ferries, buses and some trains for about $120 for all of us.
There is a Coles supermarket near by and a couple of pizza places, subway and a take away chicken and chip shop / cafe.
The apartments are also serviced daily, however we didn't need this service.
Airconditioning wall units are in the main living area and each bedroom. We were away from the road and I didn't notice any traffic noise in the bedrooms at night.
The only one disadvantage to these apartments is that the pool was not in the same building as us.
If we visit Sydney again these apartments will be our first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Maggott,

Thank you for sharing such an in depth insight into your most recent trip to Sydney as well as your stay with us.

This is the type of feedback that is helping TripAdvisor to become the leading source of independent traveler information. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that “everything went to plan”.

I am overjoyed to read that Meriton Waterloo will be your first choice of accommodation and the team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only had 2 nights here, but the aprtment was very roomy for the money we paid. Regular buses run into town from just up the street (about 20 minutes).Sydney is pretty pricey, but we were delighted with the price. Unfortunately we didn't get to eat locally (jet lag kicked in).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear NeilLanning,

It is always a pleasure to read a review from a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor.

As a seasoned traveler I am please to know you found our apartments to be “great” and “roomy” and to represent good value. We can’t wait for you to return to Waterloo so that you can spend more time exploring our surroundings.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,054 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,274 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Waterloo

Address: 30 Danks St | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#31 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $94 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Waterloo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch down at Sydney Airport and arrive 10 minutes later to a stylish and modern lobby space, experience a warm welcome by our porter assistance and be checked into a stunning suite by a team of friendly and professional Guest Services staff, who are on-site 24 hours a day for your convenience. With a variety of suite styles and bedding options available, we will suit your every need to ensure you have a perfect suite every stay. Ranging from Classic Studios to 3 bedrooms, all 184 masterfully designed suites come equipped with the quality services and products that our guests have come to love about Meriton Suites. Many of our suites offer a split level floor plan, providing extra space and comfort, and also includes modern furnishings, a full gourmet kitchen, internal laundry and plush bedding. Our guests can choose to relax and unwind to the soft sound of birds chirping while sitting back to captivating views of lush parkland with our Park Suites. Energise your body in the 3 indoor heated swimming pools, large spa and sauna as well as a fully-equipped fitness centre, all of which are found only a couple of minutes from the complex at Crown Square fitness centre and aquatic facilities. Come back to an immaculately serviced suite daily and stay connected with our free high speed Wi-Fi network, accessible from all areas of our hotel, including your suite. Nestled amongst the residential precinct of Waterloo, the hotel is surrounded by tranquil green leafy lined streets, lush gardens and is surrounded by a vibrant cafe culture. Located only 5 minutes away is Danks St Plaza, a local precinct that provides the Waterloo community with convenient shopping and dining options. Our Waterloo location will be every sport lover's dream as it is positioned only minutes from the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney Football Stadium, Royal Randwick Racecourse and Moore Park Golf Course while those seeking out entertainment will find the Entertainment Quarter the perfect destination for live shows. With Sydney CBD only 4 kilometres away, public transport close by and the Bourke Street bike track, a scenic cycling corridor between Mascot and Sydney Harbour, only moments away, our guests will be able to see the sights and other parts of this vibrant city with ease. Combining the perfect mix of culture, convenience and comfort, Meriton Suites Waterloo will provide a better quality and better value accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing