We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend visit of Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Ranked #23 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Karratha, Australia
1 review
“Weekend visit of Sydney”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

At the end of a 3 week vacation along the south east coast of Australia, Sydney was the last stop.
The Meriton serviced apartments was an excellent choice, Two wonderful bedrooms with own bathroom. A fantastic kitchen with all you need for a short stay even up to 6 guests. All was clean and well maintained. Parking and Internet (Wifi) was available and free of charge. Bus stop in the direct vicinity of the apartments with a direct line to the city centre. Coles super market next to the apartment, with extended opening hours

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriedeBruyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear AriedeBruyne,

We are excited to read that you found Meriton Waterloo to be an “excellent choice” for your last stop on a 3 week South East Australian holiday.

Meriton Apartments do pride ourselves on providing everything you need in convenient locations and it seems that this was your impression.

Thank you for taking the time to not only write but also post a photo of your recent visit for all to see and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future on your next Australian expedition.


Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    629
    147
    44
    32
See reviews for
646
477
126
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

comfortable, new and fully equipped apartment. Nice area and nice service! At a walking distance you'll find a shopping center, you basically live meters away from surry hills, one of the best neighbourhoods in sydney, full of restaurants, pubs, shops... you are close to moore park, just across the street, and redfern station. There are busses close to the apartment that bring you anywhere you don't feel like walking to. Nice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalinadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear lalinadp,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

I am always pleased to read reviews highlighting how conveniently we are located to vibrant areas around Sydney as well as having shopping and transport options on our doorstep.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

These apartments are great value for money. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially Justin on the front desk. We had a problem with one of our TVs and it was fixed very promptly. We will certainly stay again. The location is a bit out of the central city but there is a super market and cafes nearby. We were a bit surprised that the pool and gym are in another building a block away but overall for the price this is not a complaint

Room Tip: We paid extra for the view of Moore Park but won't do so next time as the traffic noise was loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Carol J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Waterloo.

I am grateful for your mention of our hardworking staff and that in particular Justin was able to leave such a positive impression. Out team are always trying to go the extra mile and being able to see their name online shows that their efforts are truly appreciated.

Once again thank you for your kind words and the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Meriton Apartments Danks Street for five nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Initially we wanted to book at Zetland but the staff advised us that we might be better off staying at Danks street due to work being done at Zetland, and what was even better they gave us Danks street for the same rate as Zetland. We stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartment. Plenty of room. Full kitchen, with oven, gas stove top, microwave, full size fridge and dishwasher. Check in was easy, as was check out.
We used the train from the airport and walked from Green Square station to the hotel (about half an hour walk). Train cost about $30 for two adults and three kids. When we travelled into Sydney we used the bus which is about a five minute walk from the apartment. Buses run about every 20min and take about 30 - 40 mins to reach Circular Quay. We purchased a five day ticket that we could use on the ferries, buses and some trains for about $120 for all of us.
There is a Coles supermarket near by and a couple of pizza places, subway and a take away chicken and chip shop / cafe.
The apartments are also serviced daily, however we didn't need this service.
Airconditioning wall units are in the main living area and each bedroom. We were away from the road and I didn't notice any traffic noise in the bedrooms at night.
The only one disadvantage to these apartments is that the pool was not in the same building as us.
If we visit Sydney again these apartments will be our first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Maggott,

Thank you for sharing such an in depth insight into your most recent trip to Sydney as well as your stay with us.

This is the type of feedback that is helping TripAdvisor to become the leading source of independent traveler information. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that “everything went to plan”.

I am overjoyed to read that Meriton Waterloo will be your first choice of accommodation and the team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only had 2 nights here, but the aprtment was very roomy for the money we paid. Regular buses run into town from just up the street (about 20 minutes).Sydney is pretty pricey, but we were delighted with the price. Unfortunately we didn't get to eat locally (jet lag kicked in).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear NeilLanning,

It is always a pleasure to read a review from a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor.

As a seasoned traveler I am please to know you found our apartments to be “great” and “roomy” and to represent good value. We can’t wait for you to return to Waterloo so that you can spend more time exploring our surroundings.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Meriton Apartments Danks Street recently for one night. It is wonderful that this is an option. There are so many excellent benefits to staying here.

The apartment size: So many places barely leave room to fit your bag on the floor!
The apartment location: close enough to the city to visit attractions easily and within walking distance of Coles Supermarket (300m and open till 7am-midnight), other shops and several restaurants.
Reception staff: very friendly and willing to let us check in a little early. We had an appointment to get to and this allowed us to arrange parking also. $25 extra fee. Others have noted that the parking and lift structure is somewhat tricky to negotiate. If you pay attention to what reception tells you (ie. there are two carpark entries next to each other) and you may have to get on one lift for 4 floors and walk 40m to another lift) - it really isn't so bad. Just look for and read the signs (in carpark and the lift) which will help direct you also!
Amenities provided: TV's in the lounge and bedroom; aircon; great kitchen facilities (though not huge in size); large bedroom, bathroom (with bath and toiletries- shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap and body lotion), and large lounge/dining area; iron and washing facilities and two balconies (noisy though).

Double glazing and a sixth floor room went a long way towards quietening to a barely noticable whisper, the motorway traffic which our room overlooked. The bed was large and very comfortable.
For all this which makes the apartments wonderful, I came very close to marking it four stars. This was because of their rotten, rock-hard, extremely thick pillows! Usually this isn't the sort of thing that is a problem for me. I have stayed in broad range of hotels domestically and internationally (two star to five star) and this is the second time I have ever encountered such terrible, uncomfortable pillows. Despite being very tired, I had a very poor nights sleep because of it and tossed endlessly for the last four hours before I was due to get up. In all fairness to Meriton though, this may just be a problem for one room.

Parking to check in was a bit of a problem as there is nowhere to stop. The only options are for one person to be ready to quickly get out whilst the driver stops quickly/illegally. Or, depending on your direction of approach, it may be necessary to park some distance away to get street parking or failing that, go round the block (next left off the motorway and go into Coles - you may get lucky with a park in there (as a temporary measure).

Despite the pillows, the apartments represent good value, so we will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Rena13,

Thank you for posting such a detailed and informative review for the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to read that you found our apartments to “represent good value” we aim to provide all the luxuries and conveniences of a home away from home and it is great to hear this was your impression. Next time you stay with us please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay as comfortable as possible, such us providing different pillows, as our main aim as a service provider is to ensure the maximum comfort of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with TripAdvisor and we look forward to your return to our apartments next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently we went to the Sydney Gay Mardi Gras and stay at the Meriton Serviced Apartments in Danks Street Waterloo.

The location was ideal. It is between the airport and the city. A block away from the Meriton is the bus that goes straight into Circular Quay. Where the bus departs from are 2 supermarkets, various great cafes, chemist, newsgents and even a doctors. As the area is full of apartments it has a real European feel with residents riding around on push bikes.

Plus if you wanted to, it is only a 20 minute walk into the city itself.

The Apartments are modern and clean plus being serviced you can hang the sign outside the door when you want the place cleaned or need clean towels etc...


There is also a pool and gym nearby which can be used for free by any of the Meriton residents

The Gay Mardi Gras was a fantastic experience . So much colour and such a festive happy occasion. Worth doing at least once in your life

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeFamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites Waterloo, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear EuropeFamilytrip,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Waterloo whilst visiting the sites and sounds of Sydney’s Mardi Gras.

Our fully equipped apartments are conveniently nestled in the village of Waterloo and you are right that the area does have a “European feel” which is why it is one of the most popular suburbs neighboring the CBD.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,914 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,151 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Waterloo

Property: Meriton Suites Waterloo
Address: 30 Danks St | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#30 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Waterloo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch down at Sydney Airport and arrive 10 minutes later to a stylish and modern lobby space, experience a warm welcome by our porter assistance and be checked into a stunning suite by a team of friendly and professional Guest Services staff, who are on-site 24 hours a day for your convenience. With a variety of suite styles and bedding options available, we will suit your every need to ensure you have a perfect suite every stay. Ranging from Classic Studios to 3 bedrooms, all 184 masterfully designed suites come equipped with the quality services and products that our guests have come to love about Meriton Suites. Many of our suites offer a split level floor plan, providing extra space and comfort, and also includes modern furnishings, a full gourmet kitchen, internal laundry and plush bedding. Our guests can choose to relax and unwind to the soft sound of birds chirping while sitting back to captivating views of lush parkland with our Park Suites. Energise your body in the 3 indoor heated swimming pools, large spa and sauna as well as a fully-equipped fitness centre, all of which are found only a couple of minutes from the complex at Crown Square fitness centre and aquatic facilities. Come back to an immaculately serviced suite daily and stay connected with our free high speed Wi-Fi network, accessible from all areas of our hotel, including your suite. Nestled amongst the residential precinct of Waterloo, the hotel is surrounded by tranquil green leafy lined streets, lush gardens and is surrounded by a vibrant cafe culture. Located only 5 minutes away is Danks St Plaza, a local precinct that provides the Waterloo community with convenient shopping and dining options. Our Waterloo location will be every sport lover's dream as it is positioned only minutes from the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney Football Stadium, Royal Randwick Racecourse and Moore Park Golf Course while those seeking out entertainment will find the Entertainment Quarter the perfect destination for live shows. With Sydney CBD only 4 kilometres away, public transport close by and the Bourke Street bike track, a scenic cycling corridor between Mascot and Sydney Harbour, only moments away, our guests will be able to see the sights and other parts of this vibrant city with ease. Combining the perfect mix of culture, convenience and comfort, Meriton Suites Waterloo will provide a better quality and better value accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing