We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value for money - no major complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Ranked #18 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Wangaratta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for money - no major complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Positive
- great value for money
- spacious bright apartment with everything you could want
- great location
- plenty of parking
Negative
- underlays on both King beds were basically pretty filthy - sheets, towels etc okay but they must have a problem with their laundry service
- front desk service polite but but not really caring
- had to negotiate 2 lifts to get to the car parking area
- room a little bit noisy but not bad
Overall very good and would stay there again

Room Tip: Would ask for room as high as possible and at the back of the complex unless you really want a park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear amt59,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

For the most part it seems you enjoyed your stay with us and found our apartments to be “great value for money” although a little unusual in it’s design. I was shocked to read your comments about the bedding in your apartment as this is certainly not acceptable and has been brought to the attention of our housekeeping manager for further action as this is well below the standard we pride ourselves on.

I am also disappointed that you found our front desk staff to be “polite but not really caring” as our guest’s are our focus and we place a lot of emphasis on ensuring all of our guests are treated as VIP’s which does not seem to be the case on this occasion.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    458
    98
    20
    22
See reviews for
465
307
84
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Meriton Serviced Apartments while she was on work experience at the Australia Technology Park in nearby Eveleigh. I chose these apartments based on location and proximity to where I had to drive her every day. I was not dissappointed it was apartment living at its chic best , a home away from home convenient and within 10mins of all the attractions. We stayed in a one bedroom appartment with 2 single beds and the room was spacious with a clean bathroom,equiped kitchen, separate living area with 2 TV's and covered balcony with an outdoore setting.The decor was modern and fresh. The apartments were service daily. The car park was secure for the rental car and easy access with the lift. It felt like a secure gated community with a gym and pool a minutes walk away.Reminders of the history of the complex was everywhere as it was the glass manufacturing hub in the past. Coles and an Aldi was at the corner with local pizza, cafe, japanese food and restraunts where you could eat in or get delivered to the room. The concierge staff were friendly and very helpful. I managed to visit Bondi, Paddington, Surrey Hills, Double Bay and Woollarah from there by car and the airport was only 10 minutes away too. Willl defineltly stay there againg for its location, affordability and security.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th level and heard no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Lulu2011,

Thank you for choosing Meriton Waterloo as your “home away from home”.

I am overjoyed to read your description of us as “apartment living at its chic best” as we are always striving for the highest standard for accommodation. It seems you were also able to make the most of our location by visiting the broad array of neighboring suburbs whilst also being nearby for your daughters work experience, I hope she enjoyed her time at Technology Park.

Once again thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you “home” in the near future.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurieton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

1 bedroom, 2 storey apartment. Very well appointed apartment with space to move. The upstairs sleeping area is very quiet, assisted by double glazed doors to the balcony. No noise is heard from the hotel corridors. Bed was very comfortable and all linen clean. Very good secure parking and close to Coles and restaurants for accessing food. The local precinct has a friendly feel with people on the street smiling and saying hello, quite uncommon in Sydney. At $195 per night we consider this to be great value for the money. We would definitely return to this property.
Julie R - NSW

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear JulieR,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

As you say, our apartments are spacious and very well equipped. I am glad you found the village feel of the Waterloo area to your liking. It is certainly an up and coming community in Sydney with a friendly vibe which, I agree, is sadly uncommon in Sydney.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience of Meriton Waterloo and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

1 bedroom, two-storey apartment.

Arriving around 8am into Sydney afta two days worth of travel(RAR - AKL - SYD), crossing the international dateline, leaving behind two time zones, travelling forward into time and having to wait around for our 2pm check-in, it was a pleasure to check into these serviced apartments. The majority of the staff are always friendly. Upon entering the lobby, it was refreshing to see the quality of the furnishings and decoratives. This same quality and style was also reflected in our apartment. It's ultra modern but still has a comfortable homely feel.

Being moderate users of internet, we were disappointed in the poor WiFi signal throughout our apartment. They need to upgrade their modem routers to wider ranged units. We also had some problems with our access passwords where we were short cut of time. These issues, all attended to, were also daily occurrences. But, their usage rates are quite generous.
We paid cash for the room and extended it a day at a time. Everyday that their system is notified of a guests check-out(in our case, everyday), the key cards will no longer open the apartment doors or give you access into the building, so these needed to be re-coded at reception each day we extended. Nuisance.
We were allowed 2 major services because our stay was over a week. We only received one. During which, our beds were very poorly made and the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly. The on-duty manager had to bring the housekeeper through again to re-teach her how to do her job.

Ahhh, now the downer stuff is out in the open, here's to: Home For Ten Days.
Downstairs(entry level) is the small kitchenette with all the quality utensils, appliances, pots, pans, cutlery and crockery needed to cook your own food. Then you walk through the dining area(with a guest powder room tucked away neatly under the stairwell) that opens out to the living area with an LCD TV, DVD player and comfy sofas(MY bed for the stay! I let the woman(friend) take the bed), which then stretches out to a double slider door opening to the covered private balcony, holding an outdoor setting for four.
Moving upstairs, you walk straight into the bathroom with a toilet. Fresh towels and all quality bathing necessities are provided and replaced during a daily mini service. Neighboured, is the spacious laundry with a washing machine and dryer. Also seen was a broom, a mop, a bucket, an iron and board and plastic bags for any in-house dry cleaning services offered by Meriton(charges apply). A small study room with double sliding doors, is housed next door to the bedroom with a king bed, neatly and stylishly made up with fresh linen, plump pillows and cushions. Towering over me, in height, stood the huge, stylish, soft-fabricated headboard attached to the wall, that had bedside lamps affixed either side that shone down over bedside tables. Awesome headboards! I'd love to have something similar! Also installed is a double sliding, floor to ceiling, mirrored robe with hangers, a safe and more plastic dry cleaning bags. Off the bedroom is a small covered private balcony that overlooks the lower balcony off the living area.

Most of you'd probably heard this before but, you get what you pay for, and judging from my first experience, I truly believe what we paid, was worth everything we got.

Lonz, at Reception and the On-Duty Manager(Petite Asian woman in her mid to late 20's, that had to re-train a housekeeper) - It's people like you that need to be treasured a whole lot more! Thank you both for making our stay as awesome and pleasant as you did! Keep it up!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEdwards84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear JEdwards,

Welcome to Tripadvisor and such a detailed and informative post for your first review.
Firstly may I thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We are always striving to ensure our guests are made to feel at home and it fills me with pride to know this was your experience. I will also ensure Lonz and Bee (On-Duty Manager) receive further recognition as per your individual comments as part of our employee incentive program I can confirm they were both pleasantly surprised to read about themselves on Tripadvisor. I have also raised your comments regarding your housekeeping service to the Manager as we aim to provide the highest quality of service in all we do and it seems we have failed on this occasion.

Thank you for your appreciation of the quality and inclusions of our apartments. Meriton is leading the way in providing a “home away from home” experience and I was thrilled to read through your description as this is the service we pride ourselves on.

Once again, I thank you for taking the time to write of your time with us. I am sure the Tripadvisor community will find your future reviews to be just as well thought out and helpful as this one.

Kind regards,
AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor overlooking Centennial park. It was very spacious & very liveable. It's close to a shopping centre and there's a few restaurants close by too. The other advantage is you can park your vehicle & catch the bus into the city without having to worry about the hefty parking fees or tight parking spaces.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzEwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear OzEwok,

The TripAdvisor community and I thank you for making the effort to post a review of your stay.

We are always thrilled to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us by making the most of the apartments as well as our convenient location and competitive prices.

We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in an apartment in Danks Street over New Year and our overall experience of the was great. They are described as luxury apartments which is mostly accurate. The kitchen, bedroom and living area were of a very high standard, it was just the bathroom that let it down slightly. It could have done with a few alterations and a lick of paint. The staff on the front desk were always professional and helpful, including providing assistance on New Years Eve when we realised we had been given the incorrect tickets for our New Years cruise by a travel agent. They let us print new tickets out and gave us some stationary as well.

The location of the apartments is good, there is a big Coles just down the road along with a chemist, bottle shop, a few cafes and take away food places. We mostly used the bus to get around Sydney and it took about twenty minutes into the city centre. I would stay here again as the apartment was lovely but it came with a very high price tag.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Ruth B,

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us bringing in the New Year.

As you say our location is extremely convenient and combined with our oversized luxury apartments it does make for a memorable visit. Thank you for your feedback on areas for improvement as we are always striving to improve upon the product we offer.

Thank you also for your kind words about our staff, we do pride ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service and it is pleasing for me to hear this was your experience. I have passed on your comments to our team who appreciate their efforts are welcomed, and from such a seasoned traveler no less.

Once again I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Meriton Waterloo in the near future.

Kind regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment on 7th floor for four nights. It was excellent. Both bedrooms were private and living areas were large and well maintained. All balconies were accessible and the large one off the lounge-room was great. One could have held a dance if only loud noise was acceptable. The kitchen and fridge, dishwasher and stove were in excellent condition and as large as in a regular house. The apartment was well sound proofed and we all had excellent night sleeps. We were all very impressed and it was excellent value for money. The surrounds had shops and Waterloo / Surrey Hills has great pubs and restaurants. If going further afield by taxi, take a map as we were frequently over-charged.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Deborah B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in regards to your recent stay with us at Meriton Waterloo.

At Meriton we strive to provide a “home away from home” environment to our guests and are happy to read you experienced that first hand.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

AdamD
Senior Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Address: 30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch down at Sydney Airport and arrive 10 minutes later to a stylish and modern lobby space, experience a warm welcome by our porter assistance and be checked into a stunning suite by a team of friendly and professional Guest Services staff, who are on-site 24 hours a day for your convenience. With a variety of suite styles and bedding options available, we will suit your every need to ensure you have a perfect suite every stay. Ranging from Classic Studios to 3 bedrooms, all 184 masterfully designed suites come equipped with the quality services and products that our guests have come to love about Meriton Serviced Apartments. Many of our suites offer a split level floor plan, providing extra space and comfort, and also includes modern furnishings, a full gourmet kitchen, internal laundry and plush bedding. Our guests can choose to relax and unwind to the soft sound of birds chirping while sitting back to captivating views of lush parkland with our Park Suites. Energise your body in the 3 indoor heated swimming pools, large spa and sauna as well as a fully-equipped gymnasium, all of which are found only a couple of minutes from the complex at Crown Square fitness centre and aquatic facilities. Come back to an immaculately serviced suite daily and stay connected with our free high speed Wi-Fi network, accessible from all areas of our hotel, including your suite. Nestled amongst the residential precinct of Waterloo, the hotel is surrounded by tranquil green leafy lined streets, lush gardens and is surrounded by a vibrant café culture. Located only 5 minutes away is Danks St Plaza, a local precinct that provides the Waterloo community with convenient shopping and dining options. Our Waterloo location will be every sport lover's dream as it is positioned only minutes from the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney Football Stadium, Royal Randwick Racecourse and Moore Park Golf Course while those seeking out entertainment will find the Entertainment Quarter the perfect destination for live shows. With Sydney CBD only 4 kilometres away, public transport close by and the Bourke Street bike track, a scenic cycling corridor between Mascot and Sydney Harbour, only moments away, our guests will be able to see the sights and other parts of this vibrant city with ease. Combining the perfect mix of culture, convenience and comfort, Meriton Serviced Apartments Waterloo will provide a better quality and better value accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Meriton, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing