We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Ranked #17 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent 8 days at this apartment. Loved the neighborhood and the accessibility to transportation, cafes, grocery stores, etc. There were a couple of minor issues which the staff immediately handled. Should I return to Sydney, this will be the place I choose to stay.

Room Tip: Our apartment had street access and garage access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRGreen754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear SRGreen754,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Waterloo and thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and loved the surrounding area. I am also pleased that our staff were able to assist you with anything you required.

Along with all of the staff here, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back next time you return to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    470
    102
    22
    23
See reviews for
481
321
90
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay at Meriton, it's close to the CBD and walking distance to some great restaurants in Surrey hills. Tip : Don't book the street level apartments facing the highway they are very noisy we moved to cres street side after two nights.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tjaartvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Tjaartvdw,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed our location and spacious apartments.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Waterloo in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My first time to Australia and I stayed in the apartment for 5 nights during X'mas 2012. It impressed me as a very good apartment. The staff were nice with pleasant smile of service. The room was big and clean with daily provision of amenties. If I go to Australia, I will choose Meriton again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FUNG E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear FUNG E,

Thank you for your fabulous review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our apartments.

I was pleased to read that you found our staff pleasant, they do work very hard to provide exceptional service to all of our guests and it is great to receive such positive feedback.

FUNG E, thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Waterloo, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Enjoyed our time at the Meriton, Waterloo - didn't know Sydney that well, and in hindsight would rather stay in the city, and would choose Meriton in the city. Apartment was very adequate, clean and well maintained. Bed was very comfortable, everything we needed was there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear LindyRD,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Waterloo and thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

When you next return to Sydney if you would like to stay in the city, I would suggest Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street, Pitt Street, Campbell Street or at World Tower. They are all very centrally located and great apartments.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward welcoming you back to Meriton Apartments in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

From the night we checked into our two bedroom apartment to the morning we left the service at this apartment was excellent. We stayed for 6 nights. Check in was a breeze, the apartment was exactly as advertised with kitchen facilities, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge area, balcony and washer and dryer. There is a pool and a gym off site which we didn't have time to use. Coles supermarket is only a 5 minute walk away as well as other shops and restaurants. Takes 15 minutes by taxi to circular quay and the CBD. Only negative is that because we were on the 10 floor we had to change lifts at 4th floor which was a bit of a pain with our luggage and shopping, but not too much of a hassle. Check out was also very efficient. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we look forward to staying at a meriton apartment again

Room Tip: Higher floors have wonderful breezes on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear linda h,

Thank you for your great ratings and fabulous review. I was so pleased to read your positive feedback and I'm glad that you had a great experience with us here at Meriton Serviced Apartments Waterloo.

It is very rewarding to received such a great review from a Senior Reviewer of Trip Advisor such as your self. We certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back when you are next visiting Sydney.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have spent 2 months there when we moved from France. This serviced appartment is a great place to stay, either for short or long stays. The location is good with easy access to Sydney CBD with bus (bus stop at less than 5 minutes walk from the Meriton, and around 15 minutes of bus to reach Town Hall). There is a Coles supermarket in the same block and a Vintage Cellars shop (good wine selection), a pharmacy just at the corner of Danks street. Cleveland street with all its restaurants and bars are just 15 minutes walk from the appartments. Moore Park is just across South Dowling Street.
For people who like good bread like us, go either to Sonoma or Fratelli Fresh (fresh food as well + bistro) on Danks street.
The rooms are spacious, clean, with fully equiped kitchen and internal laundry. If you prefer a quiet room, just avoid the ones along South Dowling Street. The only drawback for us was the cost of the internet access.
You have also acess to a very nice indoor swimming pool and gym.

We would like to emphasize on the great staff working here: very friendly and helpful. A special thank to Mariana, Jade, Mina and Koo. They have always been available to help, give information or just chating a few minutes (very nice when you arrive in a new country and know almost no one).
Thanks again to you guys for your warm welcome that help us to feel here like home. We wish you all the best for 2013.

Lucile and Arnaud

Room Tip: Top floors rooms offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Nanolulu,

Thank you for your fabulous review!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff were able to offer you a warm welcome to the country. They do work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their experience with us and it is rewarding to receive such positive feedback.

I have shared your review with the staff and Mariana, Jade, Mena and Koo remember you well and also wish you the very best for the new year.

Once again thank you for your positive comments and the staff are looking forward to the next time you come in to say hello.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Every year my landlords (who are good friends) come home for 4 weeks at Christmas, which means I move out. We have an arrangement that makes this a most feasible offer. For the last few years, I have stayed with friends or otherwise. This year I decided not to impose on anyone, and looked for a short-term apartment. Agoda turned up a fantastic deal with Meriton Danks St. Since New Years Eve I have been enjoying a 'staycation' in my own city!

My 1 bedroom apartment is large, spacious and fully airconditioned. It is quiet, facing into the main quandrangle. Kitchen has everything you need if you wanted to cook, with thoughtful little supplies of sugar, coffee, tea, milk, dishwashing balls and liquid gels. The laundry has both a washer and dryer so you feel right at home and self sufficient. Any questions or problems easily solved.

Coles and cafes are right round the corner, all open on New Years Day. Try the new St Judes cafe down the road for a superior Sydney breakfast or lunch. Promised daily refreshes of towels and bedmaking have been discreetly delivered, full service twice weekly. Even 1 GB of free WiFi!

Whilst looking forward to going home, I recommend Meriton Danks St if you are a business traveller or need to be in this area for any reason. It really is more than a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzCondeNast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear OzCondeNast,

Wow what a fantastic review! Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your recent experience and recommend our property.

I am so pleased that you were able to feel right at home while you were on your "staycation"! By offering fully equipped apartments we certainly try to create a home away from home for our guests and I am delighted that we have achieved this.

OzCondeNast once again, thank you for your fabulous review and recommendation, we hope you return to stay with us next time your landlords return home.

Kind regards,
Sam B
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Address: 30 Danks Street | Waterloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch down at Sydney Airport and arrive 10 minutes later to a stylish and modern lobby space, experience a warm welcome by our porter assistance and be checked into a stunning suite by a team of friendly and professional Guest Services staff, who are on-site 24 hours a day for your convenience. With a variety of suite styles and bedding options available, we will suit your every need to ensure you have a perfect suite every stay. Ranging from Classic Studios to 3 bedrooms, all 184 masterfully designed suites come equipped with the quality services and products that our guests have come to love about Meriton Serviced Apartments. Many of our suites offer a split level floor plan, providing extra space and comfort, and also includes modern furnishings, a full gourmet kitchen, internal laundry and plush bedding. Our guests can choose to relax and unwind to the soft sound of birds chirping while sitting back to captivating views of lush parkland with our Park Suites. Energise your body in the 3 indoor heated swimming pools, large spa and sauna as well as a fully-equipped gymnasium, all of which are found only a couple of minutes from the complex at Crown Square fitness centre and aquatic facilities. Come back to an immaculately serviced suite daily and stay connected with our free high speed Wi-Fi network, accessible from all areas of our hotel, including your suite. Nestled amongst the residential precinct of Waterloo, the hotel is surrounded by tranquil green leafy lined streets, lush gardens and is surrounded by a vibrant café culture. Located only 5 minutes away is Danks St Plaza, a local precinct that provides the Waterloo community with convenient shopping and dining options. Our Waterloo location will be every sport lover's dream as it is positioned only minutes from the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney Football Stadium, Royal Randwick Racecourse and Moore Park Golf Course while those seeking out entertainment will find the Entertainment Quarter the perfect destination for live shows. With Sydney CBD only 4 kilometres away, public transport close by and the Bourke Street bike track, a scenic cycling corridor between Mascot and Sydney Harbour, only moments away, our guests will be able to see the sights and other parts of this vibrant city with ease. Combining the perfect mix of culture, convenience and comfort, Meriton Serviced Apartments Waterloo will provide a better quality and better value accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Meriton and Odigeo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Danks Street, Waterloo Hotel Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Sydney
Meriton Cameo Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing