We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic little museum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Susannah Place Museum

Susannah Place Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.43*
and up
Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE...
Ranked #63 of 469 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The working class did it tough in Sydney in the 19th Century. View the laundry copper, backyard dunny, worn lino, tiny kitchens and crowded living quarters when you visit this rare surviving example of a working class terrace. Then stock up on sweets in the old corner shop. Open daily 2pm-5pm. Museum access is by guided tour only. Tours can be pre-booked by phone or same day tickets are available for purchase in the shop (subject to availability). Adult $8. Concession $4, Family $17. Sydney Living Museums members free.
Tampere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic little museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

A really interesting museum and a the tour guide was so good! I do recommend this if you are interested in the history of living in the Rocks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    72
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One hour's all you need for this little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Walking through The Rocks after their fantastically fun Sunday Market in Sydney, this charming little museum caught my eye with a group of old fashioned whisk brooms piled out front. Ducking in, the staff member shared the purpose of the Museum and we determined to swing by on Monday.

If you enjoy "slice of life" historical properties, then I recommend a visit here. One hour is plenty and there are mandatory, guided tours on the hour. The four terrace flats are the real show here -- along with the stories shared by your guide/ interpreter. Vaguely reminiscent of NYC's Tenement Museum in its approach, the stories of the families who lived in Sydney in these spaces can inspire the imagination. Each Terrace highlights several different eras - there is no one single era kitted out completely in one home.

One tip: The Museum Pass for $18 (as of Dec 2013) is well worth it if youre planning on seeing the Hyde Park Barracks as well. Doing this will also get you into the Museum of Sydney and the Police/Crime Museum open on Weekends for the same price. If you have to discriminate, the Hyde Park should be the priority followed by this little gem.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GetOutTheMapGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I visited Susannah Place Museum as a result of reading the book, Playing Beatie Bow, by Ruth Park. The museum is a 'living museum', a row of terrace houses in The Rocks area of Sydney, that was built in the 1840s and remains largely unchanged over time. The terrace houses show what life was like in The Rocks, including the area used in Ruth Park's novel.

My tour guide knew the area and the terraces extremely well and she was happy to answer questions that came up as she showed us around each of the terrace houses. The tour began with a video presentation of the history of the houses, then we got to look inside each house and its backyard. The history of the place is amazing and it is fantastic that it is being preserved so that we can see, and not just read about, what life in The Rocks was like. Absolutely fascinating!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting insight into the social history of Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you are in the area and have a spare hour or so then do visit this unique museum as it gives you a feel for how the people of Sydney used to live. Each room tells the story of a different era brought alive by the guide telling stories about the families who lived in the various houses in Susannah Place. From memory I think it only opens in the afternoon and tours are timed with numbers limited sue to the size of the rooms so best to check before making a special trip. Easily reached on foot from The Rocks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaMelksham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I loved this house museum! I think it's interesting that they are preserving them as they are rather than totally renovating each one. You can see the differences in living conditions in different time periods as well. The guide was wonderful and full of extra information about the area. I had my young son with me, which was difficult for him, but I still really enjoyed it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kellylmm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susannah Place Museum also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Susannah Place Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing