We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
amazing experience

A Sydney festival must do must see...... Not to be missed. It will be your best night out in... read more

Reviewed March 3, 2019
Annette P
,
Sydney, Australia
A definite highlight of our first trip to Sydney

Touted as the world's most beautiful open air cinema, I certainly can't argue with that... read more

Reviewed February 27, 2019
TiminDelaware
,
Newark, Delaware
Read all 124 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sydney
from $35.74
More Info
Sydney BridgeClimb
1,748 Reviews
from $124.39
More Info
from $67.20
More Info
from $160.85
More Info
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
80
33
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
80
33
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great movie screen rises summers night sydney summer free ponchos purchase tickets in advance gates opened spectacular backdrop opera house and harbour bridge lady macquaries chair special night fabulous night amazing experience city skyline mrs macquarie botanic gardens sydney experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 124 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2017

Opening night for the Open Air Cinema at Macquarie's Chair was a very special experience.

Everything blended to make it enjoyable - a perfect summer evening, nice food, a great movie(Lion), and the incredible back drop of the harbour bridge and opera house.

Staff were friendly, and the organisation was excellent. If you're in town when this is on, make sure you go.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

Even as a born and bred Sydneysider, this is a breathtaking experience.
Yes you will wait for food, yes the food is expensive, yes you should get there early to nab a seat, but it is a fantastic night out. You could bring a picnic and eat it there but I wouldn't bother.
An absolute Sydney must do.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank carley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

Wow what an amazing experience . Despite finding out about this place in a Tourist to do leaflet it seemed nobody inc the woman in the TOurist info kiosk had a clue what we was talking about when trying to find out info .
Found the info via Google . All the tickets was sold out on ticket master so took the chance, got there early and was lucky enough to be within the first 50 people to purchase a ticket at the ticket desk. There was a huge Que of people who had already pre purchased tickets but this was no problem the staff was very efficient and all went smoothly. Once inside we got our cushions and reservation card ., chose our seats , stuck on reserved sign and went to eat the great food that was available to purchase .
The experience was absolutely amazing and has to be one of the best things we experienced whilst visiting Oz . It's so surreal watching a movie with the opera house , Sydney harbour bridge and waves of water surrounding the screen . The bats overhead , lapping of the water , the city all lit up behind was just out of this world . The picture and sound quality was fantastic . Even though we watched Star Wars which we've never had any interest in And didn't like the film at all .. It wasn't about the film it was the experience . Even though the film in our personal opinion was rubbish the evening was perfect. I would definitely come here again 100% it's a total must . I would advise either purchase tickets in advance or make sure you get there for 6pm if you want to be in with a chance of purchasing on the door

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank therealteamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Excellent night out. Be sure to get there before 6pm and you'll get a park right outside. Very civilised queue to get in and reserve your seats. Then you are free to do what you want till 8.30pm. Recommend you take a picnic and eat in the park adjacent. The food is not good at the venue and cheapest wine is $45 a bottle ! But the movies are excellent quality visually and audio and the setting is to die for with opera house and bridge in background. Great to take your out-of-town friends to ... Sydney at its best

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Massagesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

I've been coming here now for the last 10 years and it has yet to disappoint. St George Open Air cinema is THE summer event everyone wants in on !! With the Sydney Harbour as the backdrop, the screen rising up out of the water, THIS is what you want in an outdoor cinema. It's electric, its majestic, its Sydney in all is glory.

The film schedule is released early December and presales (for St George banking customers) commence then. You'll want at least 1 person in your crew to be a customer to get a hold of these tickets on day 1 of presales otherwise, you may miss out .. and you just don't want that disappointment in your life.

When you arrive on the night, make sure you get there before 6pm to line up cause you'll want to be one of the first few hundred through the gates to reserve some good seats - do not fret though, there are 2000 seats available for everyones viewing pleasure. Reserve your seats, find a table and start the pre-show drinks and feed. The food and drink here is of exceptional quality - it seems every year it just gets a little more fancy than previous years.

I still get chills when the screen starts to lift and that soundtrack comes on signalling the start of the movie !! Just get here.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews