We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous old theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of State Theatre

State Theatre
Ranked #34 of 470 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous old theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This small theatre is like going back in time. It's small and a great place to see a show or live music. We saw James blunt who was fabulous. The butterfly room is sweet which is actually the ladies toilet . The ceilings are too die for . If you like history and vintage decor take a look!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GetawayJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    107
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate Theatre Patrons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband & I went to see James Blunt at the State, a beautiful theatre. Concert was great, great sound quality & James was magical. The only gripe I have is the inconsiderate late comers who entered & exited all through the supporting act from about 7.45pm until interval at about 8.30pm, I feel that as the ticket states a starting time of 8pm entry should NOT be allowed until interval for late comers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comedy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Visited State Theatre to see Alan Davies - fantastic comedic talent. Great audience and atmosphere. Once again efficient staff at venue .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have lived in Sydney for almost 30 years and only just visited the State Theatre. It is stunning and in my opinion one of the most beautiful buildings in Sydney.

Tip: Visit the QT hotel bar for a drink before a show.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jinny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historical theatre in city centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Huge historical theatre conveniently located in the city centre, close to transport. Interior walls original decor well kept.
Attended some major shows from overseas acrobatic performers which were rather entertaining.
Popular venue for overseas entertainers concerts and other performance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank May Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Theatre also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing