We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a great choice”
Review of Hotel Coronation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Coronation
Ranked #120 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed for just the one night before boarding the cruise ship Queen Mary 2.
We really only needed somewhere central and a room to stay in, nothing fancy.
We certainly didn't get fancy however we were amazed at the value!
A very old establishment with good attempts at some refurbishment.
A clean, tidy room that did have a smoked odour despite being a non-smoking room. A very small balcony that was rather bohemian but appreciated.
A tiny, but quaint office with efficient staff and security.
As mentioned by other reviewers, the lift should indeed be heritage listed (or something) we barely squeezed in with our luggage and the clanging and banging and barely closing doors created an experience in itself but definitly servicable!
The hotel is smack bang in the middle of everything, buses, trains, eating.
Absolute bang for our buck in this instance.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannygoatjunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 236 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2010

I just had my first trip to sydney with my best friend. We stayed at Hotel Coronation because of its good reviews and we were not disappointed.

When we read it was in a great location, they were right. it was super close to everything!! There's a bus stop just around the corner and the train station just metres away. If you rather walk, it is just 15 minutes to Darling Harbour and 30 minutes to the Rocks and the Opera House.

You can find places to eat everywhere and a macdonalds just across the street. It was also convenient that there was a woolworths next door to pick up any last mintue items (you can also have internet access there too).

In addition, I found the service was pretty good. Friendly and polite staff. The room I had was very clean. I didnt think there was much noise at night. The down side was that there was no hairdyer, some channels on the TV didnt work and that the elevator can be annoying as it was diffcult to open and close.

But overall, it was a great hotel and I would stay there agian and I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1once
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights. Super helpfull and obliging staff.
20 meters to the town hall station. Next door to super market where you can buy most things. Easy walk to all the major Sydney shops and malls.Great restaurant. A great place to stay and wont bust your budget.
Room was great. With an interesting view of the street below.Noise was not an issue.
A charming hotel. will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnpnz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Travelling alone in Sydney for the first time in many years I was pleasantly surprised to find the welcoming service of the staff at The Coronation. Located in a safe, central location and close to shops I recommend this affordable accommodation to anyone. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Island124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

The Coronation met all our needs. It was a great location so we had access to everything - theatre, harbour, parks. The room was great and so were the facilities. The staff were very helpful and I'd recommend anyone wanting a weekend away to visit the Coronation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YogiBearVisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed overnight and what a pleasant surprise. Although only a small hotel in the heart of Sydney you couldn't ask for a better location. All forms of transport are easily accessible-such as mono-rail, buses, rail station plus shopping is close by. Just a few doors away is a supermarket, there are places to get early breakfast, and coffee shops within a few hundred metres. Only a short walk to the Tower.
The rooms are very small but all conveniences are available. Tea/coffee making is provided, a small refrigerator is very handy. The bathroom was quite well appointed and large enough. Above all it was VERY Clean.The lift is very old and small , but quite quaint with the old side back grill as well as a sliding door. The restaurant is open most times, and although the bar is 24 hour we did not have any problem with hotel or street noise. Reception seems just like a cupboard in the wall, but the service was friendly and easy going. Anyone looking for a very reasonable priced hotel in the heart of the CBD - only $109 for the room per night. Would need to go a long way to find a better location for the price. Would willing stay there again, but not seek a balcony room which we had as it intrudes into the room space. With reverse cycle a/c what more can you ask for. Rooms are spotless and sheets are fresh and crisp. Loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weed1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We were booked to stay here for 2 nights but ended up checking out of our room at midnight on the first night and finding somewhere else to stay.

The bed in the room should have been thrown out years ago, as you felt every single spring in the matrass and needed a ladder to climb out of the hole you created. The air conditioner (split system unit) in the room was really noisey and impossible to sleep with it running and was no doubt in need of the filters being cleaned.....it didn't help that it's positioned right over your bed either. The remote for the TV didn't work, there was a bedside lamp missing and the walls are paper thin meaning you hear every person walking/talking in the hallway outside

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aaa1Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#74 of 186 in Sydney
338 reviews
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#137 of 186 in Sydney
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#127 of 186 in Sydney
233 reviews
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#106 of 186 in Sydney
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronation

Address: 5 -7 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $93 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coronation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Coronation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing