We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for location, this is it.”
Review of Hotel Coronation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Coronation
Ranked #122 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I booked 1 night at Hotel Coronation as I was looking for reasonably cheap accommodation in a central location. For the price paid, it was value for money. Location was superb, less than 5 mins walk to QVB and George St. Town Hall station was just round the corner. The room was of reasonable size, bedding was average, not terrible. TV channels were limited though. The lack of Wifi was a downer. My biggest complaint would have been the noise. My room was on the 2nd floor facing the main road and the Woolworths' truck was loading/unloading till 11pm or so. Double glazed windows would have helped. Air-conditioning in the room was rumbling a little as well, but I liked how cool it kept me. The old style lift didn't bother me too much. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. For the price, you can't really expect it to be too fancy, especially if it's located in such a prime area.

Room Tip: Request for a room on a higher floor, away from the main street.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time write a thorough review. Happy to hear you enjoyed our central location and facilities, and also had a pleasant stay.
Thank you for your feedback about the Wifi, we have taken this on board. Please consider us for your next visit to Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coronation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 217 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is a budget accommodation, but offers great value for its location smack in the middle of the Sydney Central Business District. For a lower rate you will have to go with a Backpacker place or hostel. It's right around the corner from the Town Hall airport train stop. The free walking tour run by I'm Free tours leaves at 10:30 daily from Town Hall right around the corner. The free bus (no. 555) leaves from George Street (the city's main thoroughfare) a 1/2 block from the hotel. Hyde Park is a block in the other direction. Many buses to the cities beaches leave from Elizabeth street; the street adjacent to Hyde Park's western side. Travis at the front desk is great help and is the manager, Ben. It's nothing fancy (and the elevator is an experience), but for location, it simply can't be beat.

Room Tip: Something facing the side or the back. Try to get something on a higher floor. The bar on the grou...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for choosing Hotel Coronation for your stay in Sydney, and for also taking the time to write a review. Our central location is really handy and it sounds like you made the most of it during your stay.
We have passed on your kind feedback to our staff and hope to see you again when you next visit Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you want a fancy lobby and a posh lift, then stay somewhere else. BUT you will be paying double for that. If you want a clean room in a convenient location ( and want to spend the money you save on touring and shopping), then the Coronation Hotel is for you. Stayed for six nights over new year and to watch the cricket. An expensive time of the year in an expensive city. We loved it. The food in the bar is great value. Try the $10 chicken schnitzel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liemPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We don't claim to be fancy, but we do aim to offer an affordable, clean and convenient accommodation option in the city and are pleased to hear this was your experience. The schnitzel is a popular meal, and we have passed on your feedback to our staff in the Mezz Bar Restaurant.
We hope to have you stay with us again when the cricket is back in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from a 6 night stay over New Years. The hotel is a wonderful find in expensive Sydney. We booked a "suite" and for the extra few dollars it was well worth it for the extra space it provided. For the rate you pay the room could not be faulted. It was very comfortable and extremely clean. Housekeeping do a wonderful job.

Location is impressive. You walk out the door and you are in the thick of things. Darling harbour is 5 min walk away, circular quay is 15 min walk and you walk out of the door and on the doorstep is QVB, Pitt St. mall and many eateries and shops. I cant comment on the bistro as unfortunately it was closed for the time we were there.

I must also mention that we stayed here New Years Eve and unlike every other hotel in Sydney, they DID NOT put up their room rates. I think this says a lot about the integrity of the owners.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: pay the extra few dollars and book a "suite" the extra room was well worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussieKaye263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed the feedback on to our housekeeping team as it is always lovely to hear such positive feedback.

We were also happy to hear you made the most of our central location and explored the city. Hope you had a wonderful New Years, and we look forward to having you stay on your next trip to Sydney. Maybe you will also have another opportunity to try the menu at the Mezz Bar Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Coronation for a week. We were very pleased with the customer service by the young receptionist when we first arrived. I read reviews prior to booking and was a bit worried about this lift everyone was taking about, however we grew to love it over the week! Hotel coronation is right next to a train station, across the road from a taxi rank, McDonald's, Gloria jeans, the coffee shop and Woolworths. We were very happy with the location as it was close to everything! The room was very clean yet small - which we did not have any care about as we were barely in our room due to the amount of activities to do in Sydney. We will definitely be back ASAP! thank you very much for your affordable rooms and friendly customer service!! 10/10!

Selina & Chelsea from QLD

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are honoured by you giving your stay 10/10 - very exciting!

We will pass on your feedback to our reception team, as they all aim to make our guests feel welcome. It was also awesome to read that our elevator won you over - it is pretty special to us here.

We look forward to seeing you both back here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Sydney Australia is an exciting, expensive city. Hotels in the central area are reflective of the cost of everything else. One good deal is the Hotel Coronation on Park St. It is reminiscent of the small hotels around Victoria Station in London. The rooms are small but clean. It is used frequently by businessmen who visit Sydney frequently. It is attached to a bar and a good restaurant. You may be skeptical as you check in through a round hole in the front desk area but the area is relatively safe. If you ever dreamed of being an elevator operator in a bygone era this will be your chance. The hotel is very Spartan. In room safes and a " few" TV channels would be nice. The online reservation experience was excellent. If price and location are your main considerations then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while visiting Sydney, and for your great feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant The Mezz Bar, and our elevator gave you a little trip back in time.
We do aim to offer an affordable, safe and clean option in the center of Sydney and we are glad this was your experience with us.
Hope to see you and your family at the Hotel Coronation again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week for work and was again very impressed with the quality and value.

Restaurant has great meals and again, great value. Very happy to recommend the Coronation yi friends, family and colleagues.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Narelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always lovely to hear from return guests, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Hotel Coronation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 178 in Sydney
292 reviews
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#128 of 178 in Sydney
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#120 of 178 in Sydney
198 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronation

Address: 5 -7 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $90 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coronation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Coronation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing