We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Hotel Coronation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Coronation
Ranked #122 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I travelled from the country & stayed at the Hotel Coronation recently with a friend for two nights. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who values the most central location for walking distance, possibly the cheapest validated parking in the city and definitely the best meals at the Mezz Bar (for size and cost). I just hope next time I want to stay at the Hotel Coronation, it isn't booked out!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review about your recent stay with us.

We will pass on your lovely feedback about the meals at the Mezz Bar to the staff. It was wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time in Sydney and made the most of our validated parking.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    99
    40
    12
    15
See reviews for
39
77
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed there for the weekend. Loved the location, close to everything. Right smack in the CBD which also means noise from the streets on the weekend. But I am a heavy sleeper so no issues. Just a short walk from Town Hall station so easily accessible via the airport rail link which stops at Town Hall. Next to a huge Woolworth's supermarket, and all the major malls in the city. You can also walk to all the major attractions from there. Room was cosy, double bed with some room to walk around. Clean and impeccable. Just a shower stall and no bathtub but thats really good enough. The receptionist, upon check-in, explained how the hotel was secured after hours, with a 24hrs lounge manager next door as a back-up resource if we ran into any problems. He also explained how the old caged lift worked. Lovely experience and will definitely stay here again for the price and location. I only wish they had provided a hairdryer.

Room Tip: Room 303-305 was facing the Park Street. Ask for rooms away from the main streets if you wish to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinster2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Rinster2211,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, and also for choosing us on your trip to Sydney. Being in central Sydney there can be some traffic noise, and we are glad to hear you were not affected by it.

We were also pleased to hear that our reception staff were so helpful and ensured you were made to feel welcome. Thank you also for your feedback about the hairdryer, we will take it on board.

We hope to see you again when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards,
Hotel Coronation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morundah, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Top spot to stay for location, ALL staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and all amenities, 24 hour bar, good food at great prices. Stayed an extra night (3 in all), no problems booking the extra night, the elevator is a real treat, old but a step back in time, will stay again and have already recommended it to friends. Anyone who winges about this hotel will never be pleased with anything!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi David F,

Thank you for your great review. We love hearing positive feedback about our staff and service and are pleased you had such a lovely experience with us. We were also more than happy to help you out with the extra night.

Our elevator is a real feature and we're happy to hear you loved the step back in time. We get many people telling us they love it.

Look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Hotel Coronation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urana
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently took a delegation of 8 shire Councillors and myself, some with partners and kids, to the annual nsw shires conference. We were so impressed with everything about the hotel, the staff couldn't be more helpful, the service was excellent, rooms were very satisfactory, I was on the 4th floor with a lovely balcony looking onto the busy street below, well done guys and anyone reading the negatives, it is not the case, you will find it very enjoyable, the downstairs bar is great, as is level 1 for a quieter experience, we will be back again and have told many of how good the Corro is, excellent location and superb prices

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Adrian,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us during your delegation trip. It was lovely to read that you were pleased with the service from our staff and your rooms. We have passed your feedback onto everyone.

It was also lovely to read that you managed to visit the Park St Bar and Mezz Bar during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights on level 2 in one o the rooms facing Park Street.

The room was basic. It had little space to move around the bed, a tv, coffee and tea making facilities, a bar fridge and a small cupboard. For $109 per night, it was perfectly fine. It was clean, moderately comfortable and the location is top-notch.

There was some construction noise (drilling) that went on until past 11pm. Being sound sleepers, it didn't bother us but would be very irritating to others.

Overall, I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackandjill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you would stay with us again, and that the accommodation met your approval. Being in the heart of Sydney there is occasionally noise which we can't help, but glad to hear you and your partner were not affected by it. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was so bad that I asked for my deposit back and I had booked for 7 people for 3 nights. Even when we were waiting to book in we were ignored while the person on duty just kept answering the phone. I asked to see the room before I payed and was disgusted. It looked like a derelicts hostel.
Here I am now with 7 people who have flown to Sydney for a wedding and no accommodation but thanks to the lovely people at the Park Regis who went on line and found us accommodation at another Hotel for not much more than what the Coronation was charging

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wdfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are disappointed that we couldn't give you the experience that so many others have had with us, as we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and friendly service. We remember the day you came in, and being a small hotel and only having one receptionist, it can at times become overwhelming around lunchtime for our receptionist to direct calls for bookings to our Restaurant, answer enquiries for accommodation and manage people checking in early. In saying that, this is not something we ever wish to affect our guests.
While we were disappointed you decided not to stay with us on this trip, we are happy to hear that our recommendation of trying another hotel worked out, and we were happy to store your bags while you checked them out. We thank you for your feedback as we are always looking to improve on our staff training and level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hamlyn Terrace, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stay here for work very frequently and I am always very happy with the room and service! AWESOME CENTRAL LOCATION, that is perfect for city, harbour even suburban visits as it is right next to Toen Hall Station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Narelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words, and for your repeat business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 179 in Sydney
274 reviews
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#125 of 179 in Sydney
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#113 of 179 in Sydney
185 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#104 of 179 in Sydney
1,804 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronation

Property: Hotel Coronation
Address: 5 -7 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coronation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coronation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing