We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greta location”
Review of Hotel Coronation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Coronation
Ranked #123 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
france
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“greta location”
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Just back from 5 days in Sydney staying in Hotel Cornation. Our room was comfortable,clean, & we didnt have any of the problems that the other reviews have mentioned.
But we did have a problem on our first night with council workers who decided to start with a jack hammer at 9.00 at night,by 10.00 it was still going on, i tried to contact manager on the number given in hotel information no luck so i phoned down to the bar & spoke with staff on duty who very pleasant , helpful & who said they would try to find out what was happening.
Anyway to cut a long story short they managed to get it stopped at 12.00.
Next morning we asked to see the manager. He was friendly, helpful. While we there he phoned the local council to find out what was happening, he said the hotel had never been told of the work which was being done outside but he would try & find out & ask for work not to be done at unsociable hours.
We asked to be moved into another room just incase the work was to continue.So we packed up our case & they moved us into a room at the back of the hotel for the rest of our stay.
For a budget hotel in such a central location we thought it was ideal.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foggy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    99
    42
    12
    15
See reviews for
39
79
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I stayed in Hotel Coronation during my honeymoon in Oct/Nov & was surprised to find the hotel in a fairly bad state (contrary to earlier rave reviews of the place). The hotel doesn't have a proper modern lift, but those old cranky manual ones that comes with a gate & a door. The lift can get quite difficult to manoveur when you have loads of luggage to carry. One of my greatest complaints has gotta be the bed. It's terribly soft & small (though it was of queen-sized). I had aches & pains everyday during my 4 nights' stay at the hotel.
The receptionists (I think there are at least 3-4 on them, working on shifts) aren't a particularly helpful bunch. They couldn't provide information when requested & were not even familiar with information on the hotel itself.
Finally, on the good side, the bathrooms were fairly new & clean (which was a comfort). Location of the hotel was also superb, easy to get around Sydney CBD & there's a supermarket right beside the facility.
-- Distressed tourist from Singapore

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank autrumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Do not stay in this hotel.

I stayed here in November, and had a truly appalling experience.

The bed I was in was full of insects, which resulted in me obtaining about a hundred red and swollen bites all over my body, including my face. This was extremely distressing for me, as I was in Sydney to greet international visitors.

If this was not bad enough, the standard of the room was terrible – accommodation at youth hostels is far better.

The furniture in my room was patched up with tape. The lighting in the bathroom was so dim I had to leave the door open to be able to see anything. The television only showed one channel, and had no remote control.

In addition to this, ‘reception’ (a tiny hole in the wall) is only open from 8am to 8pm, which for me made complaining about any of these problems impossible. I have never in my life seen a hotel that touts itself at this star rating put a sign up for patrons to drop off their room keys at the bar next door.

In short, this was the worst travel experience I have ever had. I would give it zero stars if I could.

  • Liked — There are no good points to mention.
  • Disliked — The insects in the bed!!!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SAusN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Based on reviews from this site & being on a budget, we contacted the hotel to book a weeks stay towards the end of April 2007. We were very happy with the lady who took the booking & we opted for a slightly more expensive 'suite' on her advice which had a couch etc & a bit more room for this longer stay. Upon checking in we were required to pay for the entire week in advance (!) In the bathroom, the handbasin was cracked all the way through, the towel rack above the toilet on a precarious lean, the vent had no cover so you could see right into the dirty & dusty piping in the ceiling (we were on the top floor) and the bed was on a definite 'lean' to one side. The TV remote did not work and you could only get 2 channels anyway. Every time the old-style lift operated there was a very loud 'clunk clunk' as it locked into the desired floor (apparently the machinery was beside/above our room) - so you can imagine how many times a day/night that happened. We asked if we could change rooms as soon as we noticed these things & was told "No, we are full, maybe if someone checks out " Refund was not an option either. As we had specifically requested a 'quieter' room when booking many months prior you can imagine our disappointment.
After a totally sleepless night our room was changed the next afternoon another 'suite' lower down - this one too had bits missing in the bathroom & the maid had 'forgotten' to leave towels, soap & toilet paper, but did leave hairs on the sheets etc. We were told that the usual housekeeper was on holidays & they just 'couldn't get good staff' from the agencies! On the Saturday night there was a reception of some sort held in their function room. There was one floor between the microphone & our bed but no matter, we heard every drunken speech, every lyric to every song..I rang the Duty Manager after 11.30 pm to ask when would we expect some quiet & he said 2 AM ! I felt so sorry for the people under us - they must have been deafened (or maybe they were at the reception?) Anyhow, the next day the receptionist said that someone should have told us there were noisy functions like that so we could choose whether to stay or not. Nope, no-one had told us at check-in, the day before, or even that day so we could have made alternative arrangements. There was no apology from the Manager, he said "We're a pub, not a 5 star hotel, it's noisy, what do you expect?" and basically "If you don't like it you can always stay elsewhere". Well yes, maybe if you had given us our money back for the remainder of our stay we would have! I looked at rooms at the Park Regis virtually next door and they were so much better than the Hotel Coronation in all respects for only a few $$$ more I was so sorry we had not been able to move there. I have since booked our neighbours into the Park Regis TWICE since then & both times they have been really well looked after for the staff & loved it (and only paid $125 a night as they have a aged pension card - even less than the Coronation 'suite'). Yes, the location is really convenienct only 50 metres from Town Hall station. But do yourself a favour - stay at the Park Regis!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from fuctions, money-hungry disinterested management, woeful housekeeping standards
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Coronation for a week in April prior to a cruise back to the US. Three other couples on the same cruise also stayed there--and we all were extremely happy with the hotel, the accommodations, food, bar, location, everything. For the price and location, the place is an absolute gem!

The rooms are on the small side but were plenty big enough to accommodate the two of us and all of our gear (4 big suitcases, 2 carry-on bags and the 2 cases of wine we hauled on board the ship) The largest rooms face an interior "courtyard"--just an empty concrete space that holds the utilities (for AC and such). The rooms facing the street were about 1/4 to 1/3 smaller. All of the rooms were quiet and comfortable--and spotlessly clean. I swear they changed the sheets every day. Our bathroom had a small corner glass enclosure around the shower--apparently not all baths have the enclosures so you might want to ask.

Each room has a refrigerator, a pot for heating water, plus glasses, cups, saucers and other essentials. There's an iron and ironing board in the closet. You can get a dryer by asking at the desk (if they seem to be out--ask them to check the housekeeping closet which is where one of the front desk clerks likes to stash them) The only minus I can think of with regard to the rooms is the limited number of TV channels--but we didn't go all the way to Australia to watch TV, so it wasn't a big deal.

The food in the bar and restaurant was excellent, served in very generous portions, and very inexpensive. We esp. enjoyed getting together with the other "cruisers" in the bar for a beer after a hard day of sightseeing. My husband's lite beer cost only $2 AU (and the same beer was only $1 in the Coronation bottle shop right next door--compare this with $7 for the same beer at the Four Seasons!)

And, of course, the location was fantastic--right next to Woolies and the Town Center railway station and just across from the Queen Victoria Building. We even found a 24 hr internet cafe about 2 blocks away that only charges $1.50 per hour (approx. 161 Elizabeth St)

I guess some people might get put off by the lack of a proper lobby or the funky self-service elevator--but we thought it was perfect for our stay and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CHKFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

I agree with most of the other comments on here, we stayed for a few nights and the room was an ok size, but was clean and tidy and that was more important. The aircon worked like a dream (remote controlled from the bed - nice). The bathroom was recently refurbished and was nice BUT the shower had no cubicle so the whole room gets soaked and our room often smelt of 'wet' hours after we'd showered, even with the window open.

Overall a great hotel on a budget. Also it's soooo close to the train station which was very handy after we arrived with our backpacks after a flight from London.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — No proper shower cubicle
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2006

This was a fantastic location in a somewhat shabby but SPOTLESS hotel. It's perfect for the former backpacker set: comfy, unpretentious, quiet-ish and convenient. Great staff and great housekeeping. Can't beat having a Woolies and a subway stop downstairs!.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nohting
  • Tips/Secrets — great central location - good for a couple or 4some on budget. Staff and housekeeping were FAB!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VenusF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoroSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coronation, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Thank you for your review. Hotel Coronation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 178 in Sydney
283 reviews
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#126 of 178 in Sydney
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 178 in Sydney
1,839 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#117 of 178 in Sydney
194 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronation

Property: Hotel Coronation
Address: 5 -7 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coronation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Coronation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing