We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railway Square YHA

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Railway Square YHA
Ranked #12 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and overall had a good stay. I have not stayed in many hostels though I would consider this to be high end in terms of hostels. I stayed in a 4 bed hostel, rooms were clean, dark when curtains were drawn and well air conditioned. There is plenty of locker space in the rooms and reception has padlocks to buy for a small amount of money making it secure. Kitchen and dining room were roomy and the equipment is good. Breakfast price was reasonable though it is really just stuff you could buy from a supermarket for a lot less. Access to doors is all done electronically using a card, this can be a pain as you have to carry your card everywhere in addition to this my card did stop working several times during my stay. Linen was provided and you had to make your own bed, I believe this is fairly common for hostels though I did find this difficult as I arrived late and my roommates were already asleep when I got to the room meaning I had to make my bed in the dark! After the first night my linen and hired towel was taken so I had to get new ones. Room price was fairly standard, a few problems but nothing major, I enjoyed the stay and I would be comfortable staying in a YHA brand hostel again as I believe the facilities and service would be similar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibbs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    142
    50
    24
    1
See reviews for
12
46
163
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bydgoszcz
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The place has its unique loctaion, that's undisputed. It is simply at the railway station and some of the bedrooms are in the carriages. That is really great. Our son, we were travelling with, had a great fun looking at the carriages. And it is quite awsome when you see a train just behind the door glass:) But, we didn't like was a prison- like double room and a big, iron, heavy door guarding the entrance to our corridor. The bathroom was clean, though. But I wouldn't like to stay there for more then one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Perfect location right by central station (if you plan on moving along within a couple of days). The hostel is spotless clean, got very good facilities (kitchen, bathrooms etc.) and it's a nice detail with the train wagons for dorms. Expect the usual add ons for internet, breakfast etc. The hostel lacks personality and atmosphere and it is not a place to meet fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the train wagons as not all beds are in the wagons
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kopfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was a bit leery checking into the Railway Square after I lost my room at Sydney Central. Right next to the railway station, I wondered how loud it would be. I had one of the two-bunk-bed 'railroad' car rooms and to my surprise enjoyed the experience. The beds were comfortable and the showers were good. One thing, though, if you are in one of the railroad cars you have to step outside to go to the bathroom at night. Thought it would be more of a nuisance than it was. You can also see if there are beds available in their conventional rooms. Common area is very inviting and there's a big kitchen, if you want to cook. Overall, for the value, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Super close to transportation and everything you'd need. Free breakfast which is limited but does the job. Free computers to use, very modern, very clean, and comfortable. I thought sharing a bathroom might be a bit weird and dirty but absolutely no problems whatsoever. I would love to go back to Sydney and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights after coming from Sydney Central YHA and it ended up being a great decision. The people at the reception were very friendly and willing to help! As far as bathrooms went they were quite nice compared to other hostels that I've been to.

Also there is simply no better location! It's so easy to catch the bus or train here which is useful if you need to get somewhere in the city or simply go out of town.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank nmestar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at railway square on Christmas Day. Our first impressions were very busy, clean and modern. The hostel at this time of year was unexpectedly full of backpackers and travellers.

The reception staff were quite grumpy in my opinion, perhaps they just didn't want to be working over Christmas and new year. We were given our key and told to wait a few hours until we could check in. Starving hungry we sat in the communal area and decided to order some food from the cafe in the hostel. I was very surprised that after ordering 2 lots of beans on toast, we were handed a can of beans and some slices of bread...We cooked, ate and were soon told our room was ready. We went into the dorm we were assigned but none of the beds were made up. After waiting hours we had to go back to reception and ask them if we had the right room. They said yes, but two of the people staying in our dorm hadn't checked out on time, so the room wasn't ready...even though we had just been told it was...eventually the room was made up and we took our stuff in. The dorms were quite dark, but each bunk had a lockable cupboard which was good.

The hostel was quite tedious. The bathroom is faraway if you are staying in the carriage dorms. This may be normal for hostels, but the others I have stayed in in Australia have been much more homely, without needing to walk outside to use the bathroom. I was surprised at first of all having to pay for wifi, and secondly the cost of it. $8 for three days use seemed extortionate to me.

On our last night of our 5 night stay, we had decided to book a double room. We paid $100 for the room and it was very basic. Literally just a bed and a door. I'd recommend saving money and just going in a dorm.

The location of the hostel is probably the best bit. If you are arriving by plane to Sydney, the hostel is 4 stops from the airport. Tickets are expensive but the journey is straight forward. The hostel is just a few minutes walk from the greyhound terminal, handy if you have a big backpack, and the hostel isn't too far from supermarkets and the centre of Sydney. The free shuttle bus is a good way to get to circular quay without walking for 30 minutes.

The overall feel of the hostel was quite cliquey. Though this isn't the fault of the hostel itself. The facilities were good, rooms were clean, but everything was overpriced.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#56 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,655 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central YHA
#9 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Square YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Square YHA

Property: Railway Square YHA
Address: Railway Square Yha 8 - 10 Lee St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Square YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's most laid back hostel, Railway Square YHA adjoins Central Station, in the heart of Sydney's backpacker district. Stay in one of the funky railway carriages on the former Platform Zero or one of the comfy rooms in the historic 1904 main building, now converted into contemporary accommodation. Hostel features a spa pool, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), 24-hour access, tour desk, indoor and outdoor communal areas, self-catering kitchen. Walking distance to the best pubs in Sydney, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Please note that our pool is currently under renovation and might be out of action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Railway Square YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Square Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing