We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and handy”
Review of Railway Square YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Railway Square YHA
Ranked #12 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We came and stayed here after spending the night in a hostel from hell, so were very happy when we arrived and it was clean and spacious with pretty normal guests. The rooms are nice, air conditioned (so can be a bit chilly), the bedding is clean and the lockers are secure. There is a great social area with sofas and tables and chairs to eat at.

The kitchen is a good size and nice and clean. However I had numerous items stolen from the storage and fridge, along with a lot of other people I knew. When mentioned to reception they said they couldn't do anything about it, but would be nice if they could put cameras up (or even fake ones) so people would be deterred.

There is a lovely layer back atmosphere, the communal areas are nice and bright and there's even a little pool. However it is a very quiet hostel, sometimes a little too much. I appreciate people don't want Lots of noise but we've been told off for talking at normal level around the sofas at 10pm, and our roommates moan if we make a noise after 9pm.

The staff are ok, can sometimes be a bit short with you and not all that helpful on reception. The night receptionist came in on evening and told us to "keep it down because we were making too much noise" rather rudely.

I don't want to sounds too negative, all in all, I really enjoyed my stay and would stay here again

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 345 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

ok so in retrospect i probably should have looked into it more but i believe they should have told us they were putting us into converted carriages right beside the train station.
i thought it was kinda cool until i went to try to sleep that night. the lights from the station meant it seemed like it was the middle of the day all the time (very disorientating when you've just got off an 11 hour flight). Then the trains start at 6. so basically i didnt sleep very well my whole 3 nights there.
however the beds were comfy and i liked the little lamps at each bed.
and it is very centrally located!
oh and another point, the people behind the desk were nice if not very informative. they didnt seem to be able to answer any of our questions, and we were'nt asking challenging questions!

Room Tip: DONT go for the converted carriages if you want a good nights sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Paid $93 a night (member rate) for a double room. The building is quite modern, clean and unique but the rooms are small and stuffy and the beds quite hard. Surprisingly, the noise here doesn't come from the adjacent trains but the constant stream of noisy guests stomping around the halls and partying outside the windows. No free wifi or breakfast but the $5 Aussie BBQ with a can of beer was nice treat.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am staying in this hostel for one night and it is a refreshing experience compared to the other places i had taken a look at. I am staying in a 4-bed dormitory room.

Prices are not the cheapest but that's just the point - if you don't pay a bit more here in Sydney, even for a hostel, you'll get terrible value for money. In Railway Square YHA you add a few bucks but you get a good environment.

My room is clean and aside from a few pencil drawings on the wall, rather unspectacular. There is almost no street noise but you hear the music from outside during the daytime.

The beds are very clean, you get a locker for your stuff, the bathroom is clean and has the soap dispensers are not empty.

The receptionists are very helpful and friendly.

The only downside to my room is that it is air-conditioned down to an unnecessarily low level which causes me to freeze if i am not covered with my blanket.

Conclusion: Clean hostel for medium pricing? Come here! Its located right next to the Medina hotel at Central Station and you have only a few minutes to walk to many basic locations, such as small supermarkets, restaurants, bars or the cinema.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenlethar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location of this hostel is very good, it's smack bang in the middle of the city and just next to the main railway station (hence the name...). The clientele seemed to be very young and entire school classes seemed to be there when we were there. You can stay in the main building or in accommodation that looks like train wagons. The staff seemed to either have a bad day or simply just fed up with their job... all in all though a good place to stay in Sydney if you're on a strict budget but keep in mind that prices get quite high in peak season, even in the backpackers. Look around for last minute deals for hotel rooms as an alternative.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location if you have to travel to or from the airport and train stops behind the hostel. Located at the beginning of the mainstreet its still a quit place.
Verry clean and looks like a new hostel as well. A big kitchen and enough space inside to hang out. Only the pool is realy small, not the name of a pool worth.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionuitNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hostel as a whole seemed ok but there were people walking in and out of their rooms all night long, banging the doors and talking... The bathroom was large and well-used, resulting in sub-par cleanliness. The kitchen about the same - especially at the peak hour.
The TV space is right next to the hanging out space so it was too loud to watch the TV.

They also wouldn't let me check in 2hrs early (and all I needed to do was leave my bag), so overall, there was something wrong with just about every aspect of staying at this place.

Location wise - it is convenient if you travel by train; it's not so convenient if you're trying to walk to the Circular Quay (takes good 30 mins to walk there).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abitofeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi abitofeverything
Thanks for your review of Railway Sq YHA and YHA welomes all reviews. We are sorry you were disturbed by other guests at night. This hostel does have a 24 hour reception and we always encourage people who are disturbed late at night to have a chat with the night staff so that they can ask the other guests to be a little more considerate.
Unfortunately, we can't let people check in early because the rooms have to fully cleaned whilst they are empty for new arrivals. There are luggage storage facilities available though to help people arriving early.
And if you are looking for accommodation near Circular Quay the next time you are in Sydney, try our other hostel, Sydney Harbour YHA which is right next to the harbour and quay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 149 in Sydney
728 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 149 in Sydney
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#1 of 149 in Sydney
1,104 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 149 in Sydney
422 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 149 in Sydney
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Square YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Square YHA

Address: Railway Square YHA 8 - 10 Lee St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $31 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Square YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's most laid back hostel, Railway Square YHA adjoins Central Station, in the heart of Sydney's backpacker district. Stay in one of the funky railway carriages on the former Platform Zero or one of the comfy rooms in the historic 1904 main building, now converted into contemporary accommodation. Hostel features free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), 24-hour access, tour desk, indoor and outdoor communal areas, self-catering kitchen. Walking distance to the best pubs in Sydney, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Railway Square YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Square Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing