We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inventive dorm rooms in old wagons”
Review of Railway Square YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Railway Square YHA
Ranked #12 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“inventive dorm rooms in old wagons”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Excellent location, inventive place for the dorms, nice decoration, huge kitchen that serves lots of people at once and a large common room. Staff is friendly, but I think it's everywhere like this in Australia :)

Really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Wagon 4-share rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bATMAN07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    146
    50
    24
    1
See reviews for
13
46
166
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I had decided to try this hostel as when travelling to sydney i stay at the central yha. Room was clean but in an extremely noisy location (above dining room) and noise did not stop till about 2am in the morning and started up again at 6am. Kitchen was dirty and was glad i did not have to cook or store food there. Location was the only positive as i needed to travel by train. Staff were not friendly or helpful. Would go back to sydney central yha.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniet_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, General Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hi Jenniet. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Railway Sq YHA. YHA takes very seriously all comments on our hostels and the manager has seen your review and will discuss it with staff. There is a 24 hour reception, so guests can come to them if they are having trouble with noise during the night. The kitchen at this hostel is cleaned fully three times a day, but unfortunately not all guests are considerate of others when using it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Well I stayed here over the christmas period. The hostel hasn't got much to offer entertainment wise so you have to go to the YHA central for anything to do. The hostel is located next to central station. A bit too close as I was woken each morning and late evening by the trains. There isn't much of a feel to the hostel, although clean its got nothing else going for it other than its a bit quirky. I stayed in one of the carriages and it wasn't great, the noise from the station woke me up a lot and people where tapping the windows from the platform. Also some guy jumped over the fence and tried kicking the doors of the carriages in. See my pictures. Also the fridges in the kitchen are a nightmare. Firstly for the number of guests that can stay there, there is not enough room for your stuff. Everyone is ramming food in where they can. The dry food storage is as bad. Not only this one girl got her food stolen 3 times in a week and I have had mine stolen too. I was unlucky as I had just done food shopping so lost all of my food. I prefer smaller hostels so think that I would go for them in the future.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in the carriages. very noisy from the station next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

It is central located, since its closed to Central Station, so it's convenience to everywhere.
No matter a short walk to George St or Chinatown, etc.
The staff are friendly, and helpful providing information I need of major points how to get to the places.
And, I stayed in a carriage at the railway, 4 person female dorm.

Room Tip: I slept at 4 share carriage female room, special experience. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceBluei12B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The rooms are noisy, rooms are small, the people who stay here definitely like to party, the kitchen is not clean, unless you are on the Oz Experience bus, stay away from here. The Rocks and Glebe YHA both have a more mature/less drunk backpacker crowd, I would highly suggest staying at one of them instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auflauf415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I travelled to Sydney twice this year and both times stayed at the Railway Square YHA. First time was in a carriage, second time in a room inside the building.

The Carriage was a little noisy as it backs onto Central Station, but the rooms were extremely comfortable and quite clean. The staff are very friendly, and fellow travellers are friendly and fun.

The self service kitchen is large and generally well maintained, and the coffee from the cafe is great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed at the Railway Square YHA for 3 nights in an 8 person dorm. The hostel was centrally located being only a very short walk from some of Sydney's mains streets and attractions. The staff were helpful providing a map of the city centre pointing out some of the major points of interest and providing clear explanations as to how get to the places. The hostel had a great large kitchen and dining area which were regularly utilized but not always kept tidy, this was a result of other travelers not cleaning up after themselves. I enjoyed my stay in the carriages only hearing minimal noise from the onlooking platforms (the carriages face the still used railway platforms). I managed to get discount on my stay as I used an offer provided by the greyhound bus company, I would recommend checking for offers as it made my stay considerably cheaper. Overall great place and even better location, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#61 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,760 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Square YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Square YHA

Property: Railway Square YHA
Address: Railway Square Yha 8 - 10 Lee St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Square YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's most laid back hostel, Railway Square YHA adjoins Central Station, in the heart of Sydney's backpacker district. Stay in one of the funky railway carriages on the former Platform Zero or one of the comfy rooms in the historic 1904 main building, now converted into contemporary accommodation. Hostel features a spa pool, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), 24-hour access, tour desk, indoor and outdoor communal areas, self-catering kitchen. Walking distance to the best pubs in Sydney, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Please note that our pool is currently under renovation and might be out of action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Railway Square YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Square Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing