We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sydney
Post
Inbox
Search

“Over-hyped, poor value, avoid the $380 crayfish!!”
Review of Ester Restaurant

Ester Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 7,779 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very dsappointed by this restaurant: it's totally over-hyped. It's noisy and one of the staff was very condescending.
The wine is overpriced and they serve the smallest measure: when I commented on it, the snooty waitress sarcastically told us we should have ordered the bottle instead, but we couldn't, as I was driving and there were just two of us, not that it was any of her business.
The "calamari" is actually small, rubbery pieces of grilled squid on a tiny skewer.but the shock was the pre-ordered "crayfish": be warned, it cost us AU$380 and my partner didn't realise it until the bill came: he didn't read the small print!!! We nearly threw it all back up! It came with just a couple of sauces on the side and the smallest amount of noodles, not enough for two people, but still AU$380!
Also, there's no tablecloth and when I mentioned it to my partner the snooty waitress butted in and said there's a drought in Sydney and washing table cloth uses too much water! She also uncerimoniously moved our phones, the glasses and the sauces onto the cement ledge to fit the plates on the tiny table (ther was a larger table available, but it was immediately underneath the loudspeaker).
We shan't be back and will instead stay in a smart hotel with breakfast for the same price!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyGio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 372 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Most unique dining experience I have had in a very long time. I was one of a group of five. We enjoyed a family style dinner so that we could cover a lot of their menu. Every single item was so enjoyable and unique. No two items had any semblance of the precious dish’ ingredient. If I had had more time in Sydney I would have frequented this establishment again!

Ester is a hidden gem a block off the main drive. Well worth the effort to venture there.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

Peak Times a No Go
Thought a family birthday lunch would be nice late on a Sunday. Service was slow and underwhelming. No real explanation of the menu, ran out of preferred wine , forgot a drink order, main dish, coffee & wine left for us to top up! Unlike other “shared plate” restaurants all five of the first ordered plates came out at once! Dishes nice but nothing that would warrant a second visit or recommendation.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank NiaJ957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019 via mobile

Very original seafood platter. Very good blood sausage. Verify friendly service. Good wine, a blend of Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank riouxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019

Started off ok with the first two dishes (cucumbers and squid), however went rapidly downhill with the third dish.

The three prawns which came out were terribly mushy and didn’t seem fresh at all. We took a bite each and stopped. When we asked the server about it, we were given a sermon by the server about the unquestionable freshness of all their prawns and about how all their prawns are served medium rare, with a ”how dare you question us?” look.

Not satisfied with the answer, we insisted she take it back to the kitchen. She came back and said that the kitchen will offer to ”cook through” whatever is left on the plate. Was expecting at the very least for the restaurant to offer a new serving with fresh prawns but that didn’t happen initially. We said ok fine. 5 minutes later the server comes back and informs us that the restaurant is “feeling generous” and would like to offer us a fresh serving of prawns. The “cooked through” prawns were undoubtedly fresher than the first batch which they tried to pass off as “ medium rare”

Overall food was passable for the price, but a couple of the service staff are in dire need of re-training. Definitely won’t be back

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank DaveS108286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ester Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ester Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing