We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watson's Bay to watch the sunset”
Review of Watson's Bay

Watson's Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.57*
and up
Classic Aussie Cruise on Sydney Harbour
Ranked #15 of 474 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Watson's Bay to watch the sunset”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We did this late afternoon on a cloudless spring Sydney day. Caught the ferry at the Quay. Took about 30 minutes. We then walked on the South Head Heritage Trail around out toward the tip of the peninsula. Walk took us about an hour, taking our time and reading the fascinating history of this strategic point. Head back just in time for the sunset and a beer at the Beach Club Bar and Restaurant. Definitely a highlight of our stay in Sydney, enjoying the view of the harbour, bridge, opera house from Watson's Bay.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,522
    828
    106
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bay/Beach”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Friends took us on the ferry from Sydney to Watson's Bay to have lunch at Doyle's. It was an absolutely fantastic ferry ride and a great way to see the entire harbour. Watson's Bay is a great place to chill out and just walk around or enjoy the beach or grassy areas.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Village in Sydney”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Sitting in the beer garden of the Wato Bay Hotel, eating some of the freshest sea food available with a coldy in hand, grooving to the sound coming over the speakers and watching tourists traipsing around to all the "must sees", Sydney summer time.
We used to run down the hill from the Naval Base as part of our fitness training, we were meant to run either to Bondi or Double Bay and back but a lot of us in the back of the pack stopped at the door of the pub, especially when the weather was good.
When my children were small my wife and I used to take them to the park (opposite the pub) and when they got hot it was only a short walk to some very good sheltered beaches such as Camp Cove, one of the best free days out for families in Sydney, with the prospect of a cold bevvy at the pub on the way home or for lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stainlesxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great ferry ride across the harbour”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

it has got to be one of the most scenic harbours in the world, without the clutter of other city harbours. The ferry service is efficient, the ferry crew are always friendly and helpful. The destination, ie Watsons Bay, was great

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank thephantomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
233 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Walk South Head for exhilarating breeze and crashing surf”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The ferry only departs from Circular Quay but is pretty frequent with one stop at Rose Bay. Lots of popular restaurant/bars rocking on weekends at the end of the ferry pier. Make reservations if you want to eat a nice meal. Walk north a few streets and you will find a second beach and the entrance to the south head park with lighthouse. Be mindful of the nudey beach on the way if you are offended by this sort of thing. Exhilarating wind and crashing surf on the rocks is beautiful at your walk's end/turnaround point. If you walk straight east from the ferry drop off in Watson Bay you can find some more incredible cliffs and crashing surf (with suicide help info signs about). Mother nature reminds you just how small you are!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niobe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watson's Bay also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Watson's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing