We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sydney

“Lunch Today”
Review of Cafe 101

Cafe 101
Ranked #382 of 402 Quick Bites in Sydney
Description: Cafe 101 was established in 1994. Originally located in Moore Park Supa Centa, relocated to Alexandria Home Maker Centre in 2007. www.alexandriahomemakercentre.com.au ​ The city-fringe shopping centre is home to over 25 reputable brands for home furniture, electronics and baby equipment including Baby Kingdom, Good Guys, Bing Lee, FortyWinks, Brescia and lots more. Conveniently accessible by car from both O'Riordan and Doody Streets. Also easily accessible by public transport, lots of buses and Green Square rail station around the corner. ​ We are conveniently open 7 days a week, from 8:30am to 5pm. ​ Free undercover parking (700 car spaces available) and indoor play area for young children. Easy access for prams and wheelchairs as we are on the ground floor of the shopping centre. ​ We also offer catering, staff prices for local businesses and a parent and child friendly atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: Cafe 101 was established in 1994. Originally located in Moore Park Supa Centa, relocated to Alexandria Home Maker Centre in 2007. www.alexandriahomemakercentre.com.au ​ The city-fringe shopping centre is home to over 25 reputable brands for home furniture, electronics and baby equipment including Baby Kingdom, Good Guys, Bing Lee, FortyWinks, Brescia and lots more. Conveniently accessible by car from both O'Riordan and Doody Streets. Also easily accessible by public transport, lots of buses and Green Square rail station around the corner. ​ We are conveniently open 7 days a week, from 8:30am to 5pm. ​ Free undercover parking (700 car spaces available) and indoor play area for young children. Easy access for prams and wheelchairs as we are on the ground floor of the shopping centre. ​ We also offer catering, staff prices for local businesses and a parent and child friendly atmosphere.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

After getting tyres fitted at Tempe, went to this sgopping centre. Saw the Cafe and ordered lunch. Very nice quiche with salad and husband had pie & chips. Both were very good. Nice quiet spot, spacious area for a relaxed lunch.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Food is always high quality and delicious
My toddler loves the spaghetti bolognese and the chicken Caesar salad is the best I have ever had!
Consistent friendly service

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Josestevens87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

I love this place, it's very convenient as it's near a few of the shops I need to go to - and it's great quality food each time.

Yes it may be expensive but the quality makes up for it.i will be going back.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 336Chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafe101_Alexandria, Owner at Cafe 101, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Thank you 336Chelsea for your positive review. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Cafe101 Alexandria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

The only reason I called in here because the peak hour city bound traffic was terrible and I needed my morning coffee. I understand they have no competition but $5 a cup of coffee is normally expected in upmarket tourist destinations not a shopping centre. The saving grace was the coffee was excellent which increased my rating from poor to average.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irve2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

We visited Cafe 101 on Saturday, as it is the only cafe in the home centre and had no other choice...

After our experience, I would prefer to drive elsewhere just to ensure I would never have to go back.

The cafe clearly hasn't updated anything in the last 18 years, the menu is circa 2000, where any cafe you would go to had terrible sandwich options which tasted worse than they look, combined with 'mains' like thai chicken curry and fish and chips, for extremely inflated prices considering the dismal quality you are receiving.

We opted for sandwiches because we were hungry and wanted to get back to shopping as soon as possible. The chicken and avocado sandwich / baguette was truly terrible, my partner was so hungry that he ate it anyway but him and our friend who had ordered the same thing both said it was so dry it was hard to swallow and that the mayo / lettuce was only on the very top for presentation.

The Turkey, Brie and Cranberry baguette was decent but nothing special.

There seemed to be a lot of staff, considering there weren't many customers, and we weren't asked if our meals were okay at any point or if we needed anything.

All in all, we won't be travelling back in time ever again...

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lalalaurenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 101 also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing