We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully cooked Italian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagra Restaurant

Sagra Restaurant
Reserve with
Sagra Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #371 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautifully cooked Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our bosses took us to Sagra for our Christmas meal and what a fantastic treat! The food was scrumptious - beautifully cooked and well presented. The service was warm and attentive.

The menu is seasonal and small, but if it's available, try the fried zucchini flowers to start with. Just delicious. For my main course, I had fregola al nero with mussels - delicious! I also tried the ricotta ravioli with cherry tomatoes and it was one of the best vegetarian meals I have eaten. Desserts rounded the meal off perfectly and we all left feeling very happy.

The fact that I can remember my meal at Sagra from over 2 months ago is a testament to how good it was. Buonissimo!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
207 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Creative and Subtle, Packed with Appreciative Guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had decided to pick a neighborhood place after spending some time at the Gay Mardi Gras Parade. Sagra was the second place we tried. There was one table open and we ended up sharing it with another party. Great service, including a server from Torino who was so enthusiastic and polite we felt right at home and he helped us with a wonderful tart and a good grappa to end our perfect meal. A tiny menu, a short short wine list. Bare tables, paper napkins. We had prosciutto with grilled nectarines, buratta with roasted cherry tomatoes, pasta with chicken liver ragu studded with fresh marjoram, dory with fennel, and an incredible porchetta that was melt-in-your-mouth with crispy skin (not so easy to achieve) with roasted potatoes. Portion sizes were that wonderful amount that sated while leaving you wishing for more. And that's how I feel writing this review -- wishing I could have another meal at Sagra. Bravo!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimatmutianyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have been to this restaurant twice with my family. The staff are wonderfully warm and the food is to die for.
As the menu changes daily, there is always the element of surprise when reading the menu.
We always order one of each of the starters and share and it's difficult to decide which is best.
The meal is always delicious and my husband and son always have the cheeses to finish.
This restaurant offers the full dining experience and we always come away raving about the food and the lovely atmosphere.
All this for very reasonable prices. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToshHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
373 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“The best neighbourhood Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We read a stunning review in Gourmet Traveller, so decided to dine here on a Saturday evening while visiting Sydney.

The welcome was warm, and the menu and wine list were compact. Apparently, choices for both food and wine change very regularly, which is a positive.

On the evening of our visit, the menu listed 4 antipasti, 4 primi, 2 secondi, 2 contorni, 4 dolci, and a cheese platter. An additional “special” secondi was also available.

Moreish ciabatta and a quality oil arrived gratis.

Oh dear – what to choose from the wonderful array of antipasti and primi?

To start – the zucchini fritti, gorgonzola and honey ($16) and the mozzarella di bufala with chargrilled eggplant ($17). Brilliant!

And then: stracci with lemon, marjoram and pecorino ($16); ricotta ravioli with roast cherry tomatoes ($17); fregola, pippies and chilli oil ($19); or tagliatelle al ragu ($18). We decided to share the ravioli – 4 pillows of silky al dente pasta with a delicate sauce. Again, brilliant!

The steak special didn’t appeal, so we ordered the menu offerings of chargrilled mackerel fillet with panzanella ($26) and the porchetta, chickpeas and cicoria ($30). My partner found the mackerel to be too strong, but that’s mackerel! The porchetta was fine, and the accompaniments were delicious. We also ordered the rosemary potatoes ($7).

The wine list was short, but excellent, and all Italian: a prosecco ($9/40), 6 whites, and 6 reds, with two whites and two reds by the glass. In addition, there were aperitivi and 3 vini dolci.

We loved our choices: a 2012 Fiegl Pinot Grigio from Friuli ($9/39), and a 2006 Torre Varano Aglianico from Campania ($10/44).

There were 4 desserts on offer, including a vanilla pannacotta with rhubarb ($10); a cherry and almond tart; and a sorbet. My partner chose the hazelnut gelato ($9), which was smooth.
The cheeses looked interesting – maybe next time: gorgonzola, taleggio and caprino fresco ($20).

So, a fantastic experience – interesting food and delicious wines at exceedingly reasonable prices. I just wish we had something remotely similar in Newcastle!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Super authentic Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a great restaurant. The staff is Italian and the food has that super authentic Italian feel to it. The steaks and pastas were great but the menu changes daily. Also the Italian ice cream was excellent.

The restaurant is small and very cosy.
A hidden gem which is highly recommendable.

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagra Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sagra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing