We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #58 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February 2014 for 2 nights centrally located and easy walking distance to where we needed to be small rooms very clean and tidy bed very comfortable,staff very friendly and helpful,was a bit hard to find though had to ask several people how to get to it and wasn't very well known to locals, one downfall very small lifts and moved very slowly, overall very pleasant place to stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank missey1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Missey1961,

Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us at the Pensione Hotel Sydney.
We are delighted that you found our facility clean and comfortable and in a great location. This is one of the many reasons why people return to Pensione Hotel Sydney and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to experience this too. Being in such a vibrant part of the city, we can certainly understand how it may be difficult to find us.
We would love to hear from you next time your visiting Sydney.

Warm regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    516
    226
    77
    66
See reviews for
221
389
201
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

For the cheap price paid, it was worth it, room was tiny, but I found it cute. The bathroom was modern and great. Great location to Chinatown, Market City, supermarkets and transport at the doorstep. Young guy behind reception was very helpful but needs to cheer up a bit and wear shoes (nothing personal- he is the first point of contact of your hotel). Other than that, thank you for the experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jubeslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear StandardIssue,

Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us at the Pensione Hotel Sydney.

It is great to hear that you loved features of the property that we too also believe are what makes it a great place to stay.

As you mention we are extremely close to all of the major attractions the city has to offer and if you are wanting to escape the buzz of the city, public transport can be caught right on the doorstep.

It is also great to hear that you found the team to be helpful during your stay, however I certainly do apologise that you did not always find this to be consistent at all times of encountering the Front Desk.

I also completely agree that first impressions are everything and as a company and individual team we strive to ensure each and every contact we have with our valued guests is that of a personal touch, therefore my apologies if at times this did not appear to be the case.

I can assure you that your comments have been raised immediately to prevent this from happening in the future.

I am very pleased though that overall your experience was that of a good one and we hope that you will be contacting us in the future, the next time you are visiting the city to assist with your travel plans.

Warm Regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week whilst in Australia to do some filming. The room was clean and tidy, great bathroom with strong shower. Fridge, water and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a laundry room which I found useful and free WiFi which proved to be very handy. The staff were great, really helpful and the hotel is nice and central. All boxes ticked, it was a great stay. My only issue was with the door to the kitchen area constantly banging throughout the day and night whenever someone went through, you need to do something about that! I'll be back that's for sure. Thank-you!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OG Media W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear OG Media W,

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us and that as a result of this you will be back to stay the next time you are in the city.

We always love to see a friendly face and once you confirm your next set of travel dates please don’t hesitate to contact us directly so we can assist with your booking needs to make sure once again you have a fantastic experience with us.

We also appreciate you advising us about the door leading to the Guest Lounge and would like to assure you that this is being managed by our in house maintenance team to ensure it doesn’t impact on our future guests.

We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Warm regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The location is right on George St with easy access to everything within walking distance. We had a little problem at first trying to locate the main entrance of the hotel even our driver could not locate it. The reception is on the first floor.

Our room is perfect and roomy enough for 4 of us to move about. Super clean, with tv, fridge, ironing board + iron, hair dryer, safe, wifi and a fabulous shower room!

Will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeybone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Monkeybone11,

We are really excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last November resulting in you coming back to us the next time you are in Sydney.

We love to welcome our guests back time and time again and find out where your travels have taken you in-between visits, so please be sure to contact us when you next have confirmed dates.

I am also pleased to hear that you did manage to find the front location of the hotel. George Street being so busy with many great shops, restaurants and cafes can be a little overwhelming at first and our front signage is certainly something we will be reviewing in the coming months to ensure this is made that bit easier when visiting us for the first time.

We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Warm Regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Dissapointed with the hotel. Could do with a good re decor. Carpets wornout. Bed room was in a dark corner. Bed was confortable but squashed between two walls. Wanted a single bed for third adult but got a bunk bed. Window completly opaque so could not even see through althouh veiw was just a roof top. Not at all as advertised on the web. Dissapointed.

Room Tip: Call hotel before booking to avoid disapointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvinder N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Arvinder N N,

It is very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your recent stay with us at the Pensione Hotel Sydney.

The hotel is that of Heritage Listed and to prevent losing the original features we have worked around this to create a boutique style accommodation. We do understand though that this may not suit everyone and we are sorry in this case we did not meet with your expectations.

The hotel does offer a variety of style rooms and I believe for your party of 3 a Deluxe Triple may have been more suited to your needs located on levels 3 and 4 of the building offering 3 separate beds and a more modern décor.

We certainly do hope that you would consider coming back to the hotel to experience one of these room types as I feel that you would enjoy the comfort a great deal more than the standard triple you had reserved this time around.

I am pleased however that you found the beds to be comfortable which would be due to the lovely Microcloud bedding we have throughout the 8Hotels properties.

We would love to hear from you again and allow us the opportunity to ensure you enjoy a more comfortable, relaxed stay with us next time you are in the city!

Warm regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I spent one week there to celebrate the Chinese New Year. and the location is perfect. I walked to most of the sightseeing points on foot. though it is surrounded by the subway stations and bus stops. the people there are also very friendly. they answered all the questions I had.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Iris H,

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us over the Chinese New Year period.

It is great to see that you were able to get to all the major attractions from our fantastic location in the city and I also hope you managed to see the amazing Chinese New Year celebrations with being so close.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments regarding the team. We certainly like to ensure that we offer a warm and friendly environment for our valued guests and it is nice to hear that once again we have achieved this. Your comments have also been passed on to the entire team to which they are extremely grateful.

We very much hope that you will be returning to stay with us again in the near future and should you be doing so please don’t hesitate to contact us directly to assist with your travel plans.

Warm Regards
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Pensione in Sydney and both times I was pleased with the simple but very comfortable rooms. Location is great for all the city has to offer. The warm service and attention to detail has been outstanding. A pleasure to stay at & make your home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etienn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good Morning Etienn12,

Firstly, I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other fellow travellers. The feedback we receive is what drives our team to ensure we provide the best experience for our valued guests!

It’s great to see that the hotels notable features have yet again impressed you making us your home away from home when in the city! We pride ourselves on our central location in this amazing city whilst offering a tranquil environment within our walls.

Your comments on the service we provide to guests is truly appreciated! It is our main focus at the hotel to deliver the best of service to our guests, and we thrive on the thought of pleasing our guests!

Once again your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be relayed back to all the Pensione Hotel staff! We would love to assist you on your future stays in the hotel, so please don’t hesitate to contact us directly the next time you are planning a visit.

Warm regards!
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing