We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, Friendly and Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #62 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a funky, friendly and fantastic little hotel in the centre of town. The staff were so friendly & helpful. Very clean rooms with a very comfortable bed and awesome shower all for a great nightly rate. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, Front Office Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Kim B,

What a delightful Review!

It is always wonderful to hear our guests appreciate as much as we do our little gem in the heart of the City. We certainly pride ourselves on our unique presence and handy location. I agree that our micro cloud mattress toppers provide the perfect nights sleep and our relaxing rainshowers compliment a very comfortable stay. Thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
There are newer reviews for Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel was a big disappointment,unfortunately.
I have expect a 4 star hotel.Especially if you pay 150 AUD a night.
Breakfast ......................you have to pay extra
Wi-Fi............................. you have to pay extra
To pay by credit card.....you have to pay extra
Extremely small rooms,quite ugly bathroom shared with WC together.Not a romantic one.Rooms are noisy.You can hear every word from next door.
I dont want just complain,but I could not find anything positive.Maybe the staff of reception were quite helpfull with a city map,which was for free (at least).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havefun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear havefun09,

Thank you for your review.

I am very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately we do not have a restaurant onsite, however we offer our guests a continental breakfast box and the use of the onsite Guest Lounge. We understand that this may not appeal to all of our guests and therefore like to suggest some of our favourite city cafés/restaurants that this beautiful city she has to offer.

I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pensione Hotel Sydney in one of our Deluxe Double Rooms that are on the 3rd and 4th floor as they are larger in size, have a work desk, rain shower and come with complimentary Wi-Fi with a more modern décor. I feel you would have been much happier in one of these rooms instead of the Standard Petite Room you reserved.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on sydney@pensione.com.au should you be returning to Sydney so I can ensure your next stay is perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Down in sidney for girls nite out and vivid light festival last weekend and booked standard triple room. I think we got great price for triple room with great bed compare to other hotels. Room 211, basic, clean and comfy bed. The toilet is clean and spotless. One double bed, and a bunkbed great for three of us. we are provided with towel and nice blanket for each bed. Room bit noisy as we can hear the busy street even until late nite and early morning. Recommended, just ask room far from busy george street. Overall, good stay, great location in main george street and convenient.

Room Tip: Ask room far from main street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Sandy-inhl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry to hear of any disturbance during your stay, I’m sure one of our friendly 24 hour receptionists would have been more than happy to move you had they been made aware. Next time we will make sure not to allocate you 211 but that of the same standard inside the building, so please don’t forget to contact us directly next time you are in town.

I hope you enjoyed vivid and had a great girls night out. We look forward to hearing from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed six nights at this hotel and were well pleased wtth its cleanliness the staff and the quietness.Central to most destinations would stay here again.Having a basic kitchen available was a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rog5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear rog5659,

We love that you've enjoyed your stay and managed to take advantage of the Guest lounge due to being with us for 6 nights.

Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Return trip to the Pensione - it's in a great location, not far from Central Station (making it super easy to get to from the airport) and close to great dining options like Thai Town, China Town and the like. Plenty of pubs nearby too. My friend and I traveled up for a half marathon and were left a note welcoming us and wishing us well, along with a complimentary bottle of Powerade. We both loved that touch. Comfy bedding. Rooms are a good size for the price, amenities are better than others that charge the same - good tv, fridge, nice toiletries. Oh, and they offer a free pass to a nearby Fitness First which is good if you want to fit in some exercise. We skipped that offer!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Sjisaway,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that bottle of Powerade helped you recover!

We hope we get the chance to welcome you back next time you are in Sydney, so please do not hesitate to contact us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Right on George St, with Chinatown at its back, this is a super little inner city hotel, small but pretty well formed. Cool rooms , excellent guest lounge and great service for what is a fairly cheap hotel. Excellent value for money. Just stayed for a second time, and it was perfect for my two night stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear T F,

We love return guests and we are so thrilled you chose us for your latest trip to Sydney!

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Pensione Hotel Sydney, it seems that you know your way around the city so we will have to share some of our favourite places next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night. Staffs were very helpful and room was satisfactory. Location is very convenient as jst a few steps from the pickup point for Sydney Tourist Free Shuttle & located at central of CBD.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CutieShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear CutieShu,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I’m saddened to read that you could only stay with us for one night as there is so much for the Pensione and Sydney to offer! Please contact us directly next time you are in the city as we would love for you to experience all that we, at the hotel appreciate about our location and the staff always love welcoming returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#50 of 178 in Sydney
677 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#54 of 178 in Sydney
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $107 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing