We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Location excellent customer service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #58 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Location excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good value for money excellent location the hotel is quiet even though its on George Street the main one in Sydney. It is so handy to everything restaurants shops etc & hotel staff are so good & helpful We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again & would recommend it to our friends & family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, Front Office Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sue,

What a wonderful review!

I am pleased to hear we could accommodate your needs and you enjoyed our CBD location. The team at Pensione prides ourselves on our customer interaction and getting to know our guests. We love to see a familiar face, please be sure to contact us directly next time you are in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    501
    224
    75
    66
See reviews for
213
380
194
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Queensland.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good value for money, very helpfull (small)front desk staff. Right on the free central Sydney bus route, close to a lot of Asian style small restaurants (good if you are a fan of asian food).

The room is small but clean and had all of the usual travellers requirements inc tea & coffee facilities. If you have a need to stay in central Sydney on a short visit, this hotel will work. If you wan't four star accommodation there is plenty to offer at a significantly dearer price. If you book ahead through one of the well known booking agencies you should get a room for $115/night.
There was a new travellers lounge available for guests with a small laundry, adequate kitchen and a good sized lounge area. this a big plus for the budget traveller. As we only needed a one night booking to allow a visit to the American Consulate it suited us well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, Front Office Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Kenmar1,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Pensione Hotel Sydney and that you found the service & standards excellent value for money. As you mentioned, we have a great location that provides our guests with many dining options and transport right at our door!
We do always offer early bird special rates. Feel free to contact any one of our friendly staff direct at the hotel when next travelling to Sydney as we will also match any on-line rates that we are selling. We look forwarded to welcoming you back on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked for two nights over the weekend and arrived before check in time. The reception person was efficient, polite and helpful, taking time to help a number of non-English speaking guests with directions. We were checked in and our bags stored quickly without a fuss.
When we returned to collect our key our bags had already been taken to our room- a nice touch and a difference from other hotels who usually just point you towards a grim baggage room.

The room was as expected. Quite small but clean and comfortable. Definitely not the place for a crowd!

As it was warm and humid we needed the air conditioner but unfortunately after a few hours it just stopped working. We alerted reception who came immediately but after a few attempts it was clear it was not going to work and it looked like we were in for a sticky sleepless night. This is where the hotel distinguished itself by unhesitatingly organising us a room in one of its other properties (a 5 star hotel) at no extra cost for the duration of our stay. They even gave us cash for the ten minute taxi ride to the other hotel.

This was all handled professionally and without a fuss and what could have turned into a sleepless night restored our faith in Australian customer service.

The reception staff have obviously been well trained and selected for their ability to deal with a wide range of local and international guests and any problems.

The hotel is conveniently located for transport, Darling Harbour and Chinatown.

I would definitely stay again and will do so shortly when I am next in Sydney.

Room Tip: For a good night's sleep get an inside facing room - no view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear petermck,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the air conditioning in your room. You will be pleased to know that we have had a technician out to repair the unit to working order.

While we are only a small team at the Pensione, we do pride ourselves on the customer service provided to our guests, so you can imagine my delight when I read that the team were able to assist you during your stay with us.

I can't wait to welcome you back to the Pensione Hotel, so please do not hesitate to contact us should you require anything prior to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

my second time staying at this hotel, and had a brilliant stay. first time i stayed here, i had one of the coffin-like "petite rooms" - which was clean and smart, but ridiculously tiny, but this time i had a normal sized room.

i like the Pensione a lot. its slightly quirky, in a great location (Chinatown, with a straight walk up to Circular Quay), and its always been clean and in relatively good condition.

the main desk guy was awesome - i arrived at 9am after a 22 hour flight, and my room was ready with no notification. He also helped me out no end regarding trains, buses, pubs to try out, and how to get places.

can't recommend the place enough, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: if your budget allows it, don't stay in a Petite Room - it was perfectly ok, and i have no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Tonymunch,

Thanks so much for your great review!

I am so thrilled to see that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and that the team were so helpful! We do pride ourselves on our customer service and take every opportunity to charm and delight our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time you are in Sydney as we love to see familiar faces!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel when I came to watch the cricket at the famous SCG. I randomly picked one from lastminute.com.au and wanted a suitable location for a decent price and good facilities. The room was fantastic, great location, helpful chatty front office staff who will go out of their way to help you out. Compared to other hotels around Sydney city, this was by far the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, Front Office Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Dillion,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I am glad we made your experience a pleasant one and hope you enjoyed the cricket at the SCG. Our friendly staff are always keen to build a rappore with our guests and ensure their stay is an enjoyable one. We love to see a familiar face so please do not hesitate to contact us directly when you wish to return to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Location was fantastic!
The booking we had was for an early check in, this was confirmed 3 days prior to the booking as we had an important meeting to get ready for.. On arrival on the day we were informed that the room was not ready and had to wait 45min for the room to be cleaned..due to this we were late for our meeting..
The room was nice, the air conditioning was not working properly throughout our stay which made things slightly uncomfortable also..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alycew89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, Front Office Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Alycew89,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Pensione Hotel Sydney. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our great location in the heart of the City. I am however sorry to hear your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. On your day of arrival the hotel had been fully booked the night prior therefore unfortunately although all efforts were taken to accommodate your early check-in request, I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we were physically unable to provide your fully serviced room upon your arrival at 9am. Check out time for those departing the hotel is 10am and to ensure rooms are maintained to a high level of standard ensuring your stay is a comfortable one it does take approximately 45 minutes to service a room. I am extremely sorry this impacted your stay thus making you late for your scheduled meeting. I am however pleased to hear you were happy with the room itself. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel should you choose to stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to rectify your stay falling short on this occasion. Please don’t hesitate to contact myself directly at the hotel to allow me to organise your next visit.

Warm regards,
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was the third time we have used this hotel for various visit purposes. I have enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I would use it again. It is a good price and in a fantastic location. The staff are very nice and seem to actually care if you enjoyed your stay.
* Rooms are clean
* Location is good
* Staff are friendly
* No charge for leaving your bags. Some inner city hotels do charge between $2:00 and $5.00 to leave your bag.
* Toilet button was broken but we could still use the toilet. I advised Reception but told them it was not urgent to fix
* Shower door had come off hinges but we could still use the shower. I advised Reception but told them it was not urgent.
* Not a lot of water pressure in the shower on the third floor. We have had two first floor rooms and the pressure was fine.
* Guest lounge is very nice but some better signage as we did not realise you have to go through a fire door.
* Shampoo and conditioner quality could be improved. After the first visit I decided to bring my own.
* Tea/coffee making facilities clean and modern
* Modern furnishing and comfortable beds

Room Tip: Do not take the room on the first floor near reception. We had that room once and naturally due to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie52_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, Front Office Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Lizzie52,

It was wonderful to see this was your 3rd stay at the Pensione Hotel Sydney and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support! I am glad you enjoyed your return stay with us and the team provided you with our continued personalised and friendly customer service. Our complimentary luggage storage is definitely an added bonus for our early arrival guests.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the maintenance issues with your room and are pleased to advise these have since been rectified.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Sydney and thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing