We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #62 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed in a Deluxe Petite double room - yes, it was petite but for one person it was all I needed. There was a " largish" TV mounted on the wall, a narrow desk, bed side table and a closet with a fridge in it. There were tea and coffee making facilities and an ensuite. All with a very modern fit out and tastefully done. The passageways were narrow but added to the uniqueness of the hotel. There was a lift from the George Street entrance to the reception on the first floor and I found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. The 555 free town bus left from the bus stop very close to the hotel and would get you up to town, Sydney harbour or Hyde park if you didn't feel like walking. Also this Hotel is within walking distance from the central train station.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank greenfrog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Dear Greenfrog2,

Thank you for taking time writing this review. We appreciate your feedback as it is of greatest value for our hotel.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff try their best to familiarise themselves with the local area. Our position is definitely key and there are some amazing restaurants and café’s on our doorstep not to mention the many modes of transport including the free CBD bus.

Please let us know next time you are in Sydney as we would love to welcome you back to the Pensione.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

I travelled to Sydney from Perth for a few days with my sister and we stayed at the Pensione Hotel. It is really close to China Town, and it takes less than 5 minutes to walk to Town Hall station, and not much longer to get to Darling Harbour.

The hotel itself had helpful staff, and the deluxe twin room was a nice clean, modern room which also had a fridge which was handy. There is a small but very useful communal kitchen and lounge on 1st floor, as well as a washer & dryer, there was never really anyone in there when we wanted to use it to make toast in the morning and pack up some sandwiches for the day ahead.

There seemed to be a good mixture of people staying at the hotel such as families, older couples, and younger travellers too. We never had a problem with noise or anything, and found the rooms very comfortable - it was nice to get a newspaper in the morning as well :)

I am booking the pensione hotel again for my parents who will be visitting Sydney, as my sister and I loved the location and had a very comfortable, enjoyable stay

Room Tip: we were on the top floor - no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1C0LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Dear N1cola,

Thank you so much for your great review!

We do pride ourselves on the customer service our guests have come receive and are so glad you enjoyed our Guest lounge, it s a great spot to have breakfast or just relax and enjoy a book from the Book exchange we have just put in.

We can’t wait to welcome your parents when they come to Sydney. If you need anything in the mean time please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Service:
Good. The lady even helped get a huntsman spider out of our room.

The room:
Basic. We were upgraded, I'm not sure if I like that, we ended up with a double bed and a bunkbed? Why did we need a bunkbed? The TV was awkwardly positioned above the double bed so the best place to watch TV was from the top bunk.

Location:
The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Close by to everything.

Amenities:
Don't expect much.

What I liked the best:
Location, cheap.

What I liked the least:
Everything else.

I won't be coming back here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatto89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Dear Katsui,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would like to apologise that your recent stay with us was not as you expected.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and friendly reception staff. However I am saddened to hear you did not like the upgraded room.

We have a wide range of accommodation choices that differ in shape, size and outlook and although your room did have a set of bunk beds it is one of our larger rooms which is more comfortable then the room that was originally booked.

We take our guest feedback very seriously and are always looking at ways to continually improve our product. You would be pleased to know that we have installed a new LCD TV in the room that you stayed and moved its position so you can comfortably watch from your bed.

It is a shame you won't be returning to us on future visits to Sydney, but we do hope you will consider our sister hotels. There is The Diamant or Kirketon Hotel, which is in the Potts Point area. Or Park8, located on Castlereagh Street in the city, which is our newest Sydney property, having opened in November 2010, so still in the same great location but with different decor and room configurations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed in a deluxe double, im aware there are smaller rooms, however had no problems with anything really. Internet would be good if it was free, i had my own wireless so i used that. The hotel itself was rather unique in its layout, very good location. The main lift is a little slow but the building is 'old' ( for sydney). The facilities were your average ones really, laundry which worked fine, it has a nice little kitchen/communal area which was handy. Well recommend this hotel if your thinking of visiting, within 5 minutes walk of central station, tram stop, monorail stop and sydney tower.

Room Tip: Go to the Hans cafe, lovely cheap food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Dear Deathdude12,

Thanks so much for your review! I am delighted to hear you found our location convenient and hope you had time to enjoy all the area has to offer. Please let us know next time you are in Sydney as we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The staff made this little hotel in the heart of george street (some 25 mins walk from opera house) all worth while Was upgrade from a back packer hostel but very central for all our needs
10 seconds from pubs, internet cafes, cafes, buses, food shops, markets and 10 mins or so from attractions
Smallish room but adequate
Smoking area good but needed bit more sun as very shady
Had a launderette and cooking facilities
I advice a room on level 4 as we where under a club/pub and on friday and saturdays it was very noisy

Room Tip: order airport shuttle bus on first day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franki53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear Franki53,

Thanks so much for your feedback!

While the Pensione does not own or operate Charlie Chans we are able to speak to them if there are any noise issues, once notified. However I would like to sincerely apologise for any disturbance you may have been caused.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words about our staff. While we do have a small team we are constantly receiving positive feedback about them.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future, as we would love to welcome you back next time you are in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I'd consider this establishment should be categorized as flashpacker accom. I stayed in a room that was described as a cozy double. It was indeed cozy and barely enough room to move around the double bed!! The bathroom was very clean , new and spacious. I (work) paid $160 per night for two nights, for the price you can do much better - I would say the rate for what was delivered should have been more like $110. Tv's are vintage and attached to the roof at such an angle they are almost unwatchable, their version of 'cable tv included' was interesting as only 5 channels are available and these were not the most popular stations (no foxsports but espn for American's??). Location is excellent if you want to be near china town. Overall it's ok for a couple of days if you don't have much luggage and you don't plan to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear Craig-Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and I would like to apologise that your recent stay with us was not as you expected.

The building the Pensione is resides in dates back to the early 1800’s making each room different in size and shape and unique to each other. We understand this may not be suitable to everybody and once made aware we can do our best to find a room more suited to your needs as we have several different types available.

The third and fourth levels of the hotel have undergone a complete refurbishment in late 2009, including new beds, furniture, work desks and new LCD TV’s. We are currently in the process of installing new LCD TV’s in remainder of the hotel which will also include an upgrade of our Foxtel line up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The hotel room was very comfortable and clean, although a bit small. There was a kitchen area on the next floor where you could make breakfast or a meal but we ate out as there were lots of restaurants to choose from in nearby Darling Harbour. There wasn't a bar in the hotel or lounge area but there was a nice bar just next door. Good value hotel in quite a central position.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensione_Hotel, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

Dear Kenfrew,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#55 of 179 in Sydney
692 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,953 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#50 of 179 in Sydney
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#24 of 179 in Sydney
152 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#83 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $95 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing