We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Formula if you are traveling on a MAJOR BUDGET” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis budget Sydney East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ranked #120 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Formula if you are traveling on a MAJOR BUDGET”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

I have never stayed in a hostel, but my guess is that this would be what to expect. We has a "quad' room for four people, and literally the room had 2 bunk beds (with sheets and blanket available). I've never had to make my own bed in a hotel. However, it was clean and close - and because of the lack of room we didn't spend a lot of time there. It was fine and I wouldn't have expected nicer for $25/night Aus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    154
    187
    109
    122
See reviews for
165
172
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

Choose rooms at rear to avoid road noise - good value cafes within 200m for all meals - weekend rates a bit steep

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank riverviewap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

The hotel is conveniently located in Kings Cross. The area is full of restaurants and entertainments. The train station is very near. Plus the views are great. The rooms ar clean. The service at the front desk is really fantastic. They are very knowledgeable on places to go and eat. I will dfinitely go back on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

We were told by the travel agent that the location of this hotel was terrific. I can't deny on that. It get easily access to all public transport. As it is so close to the nightlife district, it gets really noisy that you can't imagine.

We arrived on Friday and our room is on Level 5. We got the view of Sydney Harbour bridge from far. Not bad, right... that's what we thought. As the aircon was too noisy, so we switched it off and open the window at night. From 11pm till 4 or 5am that night, we heard people was yelling, laughing, noise of drunk people. Then, siren from police car, ambulances arriving. etc. These noises went on from Friday till Sunday night. (Yes. the whole show stop earlier on Sunday night at about 2 or 3 am).

My children was terrified and they couldn't sleep during the whole stay. The whole family was so restless and I would definately not choosing this hotel again. Especially if you are with children.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. This was our first time in Sydney, so we knew we just needed a clean place to sleep and shower. The room was quite tiny, there was enough room for one double bed and a small table in the corner. There was also a TV hanging down from the ceiling above the table. Our visit was in winter, so we used the heater too, which worked fine. The bathroom was small but clean with a shower head behind a curtain. The room we got was overlooking the inner yard, but i think from some of the rooms you could see the Harbor bridge. They provided us with towels and linen, everything was clean. You could buy breakfast for 7$ per person, which was quite standard, toasts, jam, cereal, tea, coffee, juice. The location is very good, it would take us around 15-20 minutes to walk to the Circular Quay. The Kings Cross station is literally around the corner. It wasn't noisy, I'm a very sensitive sleeper but I didn't have any trouble going to sleep there. Overall, it is a good place to stay if you're planning to spend a lot of time outside, it provides you with all the basic necessities. The price was reasonable too, just under 100$ per night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narka_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Y Hotel City South
#115 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#121 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Sydney East

Property: Ibis budget Sydney East
Address: 191 - 201 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Sydney East 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing