We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“glorified backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ranked #114 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
wellington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“glorified backpackers”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights,a Friday and a Saturday. Check in was standard,and i got the feeling it wouldnt be anything to luxurious,and it wasnt.
My room was adequate size,it contained the bare basics,bed,tv,bathroom. No jug,no chair,no opening windows and the the bathroom flowed out everywhere when ya shower.
Uncomfortable bed,thin cheap mattresses and old million times washed bedding. The room had some rotted patches in the carpet,and the pull down blind/shutter was covered in graffiti,some dating back to 2006 that im sure could be gone with a good clean.
The Saturday night was quite bad,as this hotel is cheapish and a chain within the cross it gets full with teenagers and party goers on the weekend,and as they do dorm rooms that sleep 4 for the same price as a double,it turns into a party hotel.
The place on Sat nite was noisy,and littered with alcohol cans and bottles in the halls and lift.
Travelling as a single male it was just adequate,but not somewhere i would take a partner or recommend for peace,comfort of style.
Its situated right on Williams Street,one of Kings Cross's main sex workers area and has constant traffic going past 24/7.
For the price,theres a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ziggyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    163
    191
    110
    122
See reviews for
170
177
84
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kapiti Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We are a couple in our mid 60s. We usually select 3* hotels out of choice. This one surprised us on arrival because it was linked to an Air New Zealand deal and we had expected something else. We had booked for 6 nights. After a couple of days we tried the breakfast - excellent value and nice to have some interaction. As an engineer I could appreciate the design - everything was kept very simple but functional. We had a great harbour view and didn't mind the Williams Street noise too much. We've stayed in expensive apartments and hotels around Oz that have been depressing and untidy - everything in the room worked and it was clean and tidy. Clean towels every day. Fridges for food. Hot drinks at any hour from machines. Formula 1 seems to span the gap between budget hotel, backpacker, and youth hostel very well. We'd definitely use it again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I stayed her recently with 2 children under 10. What a bargin! Clean, comfortable with fabulous views of the city. Great bfst for $7 which kept the kids going all day. I was sceptical at this price but the hotel was great value and gave us the perfect base for exploring Sydney as a family. I would definatly recommend for those on a tight budget, Its basic, but all you need!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean1Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Terrible value for what you get! Not even a sink plug to have a shave! Bathroom gets absolutely SOAKED when you have a shower....making floor very wet and dangerous. Speaking of danger, Windows were all screwed shut!! Rooms had air conditioning. No fresh air. Rooms badly needed airing!! Sirens blared all night! Very noisy in the streets and corridors!! The good side was, that the Staff were very friendly! Gr8 location for visiting the Cross. Gr8 people watching area! Good Food and Pubs around. We had a gr8 weekend all in all. Public Transport and Ferries were excellent value!! Each to their own I guess!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbournescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

This is pretty standard Motel, which boasts some of the cheapest accomodation in Sydney. It is never going to win any awards for it's facilities, which are as basic as they come, but it does boast some amazing views over the opera house and bridge, and it's only 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross train station and 20 from Hyde Park.

The rooms are basic: after all, remember that although an Accor hotel, this place is one of their cheapst brands, lower than an Ibis. The bed is comfortable, and there is a bunk bed also wedged into the room. There is a TV (with just the 5 normal channels, plus a paid for film service) and a clock radio. That is the peak of refinements. The bathrooms are equally basic, with just a shower, a towel, and one bar of soap. The water flow from the taps is minute. The aircon, although new, is very noisy, and you can't open the window. There is no kettle, however there is a communal fridge on the second floor.

Downstairs there are a couple of vending machines, and err, that's it really. There is no parking near the hotel. There are two main doors into the hotel, one on the main street (William Street), which goes up a narrow staircase, and one on the little layby which goes past the breakfast room and into the reception desk. Alas, this door is used as the hangout for some very dodgy people from Kings Cross: take care using it at night. Signs here as people not to drink alcohol in the doorway, but to little effect. You are better off using the lower staircase.

One major annoyance is that the cleaners come round at 8am, and even if you leave a note on the door saying you are sleeping they will knock on your door to see if you really are still asleep. They will then knock again at 9am to see if you are up, and finally at 10am when they go off shift to see if you really, really, don't want your bin emptied.

When checking in ask if you can have a view north, looking over the bridge: the higher up, the better the view.

All in all, it's cheap, it's basic, but at AU$79, you really can't complain.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is convenient to rail station (walk 10 mins), Coles super market (walk 5 mins) and Hade Park (walk 20 mins ). Though it is near the red light zone, it is still a quiet and safe place. The room is clean but is small and boring too. As a tourist, we spend all day time outside, do not feel any difficult on this small room. It will be suitable for 3-4 budget persons.

  • Liked — convenient
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank david092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

This hotel was great to stay in - very basic but what can you say for that price! We are a family of four and chose the room with two bunks. Didn't worry about the lack of view - we were out looking at Sydney all day, what does it matter if you can't see the bridge from your hotel room? The bathroom gets a bit messy after 4 showers but it dried quick. Breakfast was ample with plenty of choice. This is a large hotel but with carpark space for less than a dozen cars. This was our only complaint, really. We had to hike to K.C. Carpark but then that's a very safe carpark, so no real disadvantage there. The idiot in the next room decided to play loud music from early in the morning but you could encounter that in any hotel. I'd stay here again and recommend it.

  • Liked — that it's cheap and so close to everything in Sydney
  • Disliked — the hike to the car park
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Ad2Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#118 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#104 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#43 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#146 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Sydney East

Property: Ibis budget Sydney East
Address: 191 - 201 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Sydney East 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing